Gordon Pointe Acquisition Corp.
GPAQ · Nasdaq · formerly Gordon Pointe Acqusition Corp.
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC, listed on Nasdaq in January 2018.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co, a mixed-use sports and entertainment destination development company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co
- Industry
- Consumer Discretionary — mixed-use sports and entertainment destination development
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 26 January 2018
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 2626 FULTON DRIVE NW, CANTON, OH, 44718
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Lichter Stuart (Director) · Owen Mary (Director) · Schaefer Kimberly (Director)
- Listed securities
- GPAQ common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 26 January 2018IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedConsumer Discretionary
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsGPAQ is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Gordon Pointe Acquisition Corp. (GPAQ) was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the Nasdaq Stock Market under the ticker GPAQ. The company priced its initial public offering on January 26, 2018, pursuant to an S-1 registration statement (SEC file number 333-222270) for shares sold for cash, and self-described as a blank check company in its 424B4 prospectus. The registrant was classified under SEC SIC industry code 7990 (Services-Miscellaneous Amusement & Recreation). On July 8, 2020, the company filed an 8-K (accession 0001213900-20-016991) reporting a change in shell company status under item 5.06, establishing that it had completed a business combination and no longer files as a blank-check vehicle. EDGAR now lists CIK 0001708176 under the name Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
A cash price of $0.90 per share ends the investment at a fixed value: approval converts each outstanding common share into $0.90 in cash without interest and removes any further upside, so the only question for holders is whether $0.90 exceeds what the shares would fetch independently. The two 7.00% preferred series, Series A Cumulative Redeemable and Series C Convertible, rank ahead of the common in the consideration waterfall, and the board obtained a written fairness opinion on the per-share price payable to unaffiliated stockholders.
This is a Rule 13e-3 going-private transaction with a related party: a Special Committee of independent and disinterested directors negotiated it, and Stuart Lichter recused himself from the board vote. The document states $0.90 as a premium of approximately 28.6% to the closing price on May 7, 2025, the last trading day before announcement. Each share of the 7.00% Series A Cumulative Redeemable Preferred Stock and the 7.00% Series C Convertible Preferred Stock is cancelled without any conversion and without consideration paid for it.
The filing states the redemption sensitivity outright, which is rare and useful. With no redemptions, GPAQ's existing stockholders including the Sponsor hold approximately 27.6% of Holdings and the Newco Holders 72.4%; at the maximum redemption level permitted by GPAQ's charter, GPAQ's remaining stockholders hold approximately 8.9% and the Newco Holders 91.1%. A public holder who stays is therefore accepting a stake that can fall by roughly two thirds depending on what other holders do, with no change to the target's side.
Redemptions decide who owns this company. With no redemptions GPAQ's existing stockholders including the Sponsor hold approximately 33.5% of Holdings and the Newco Holders approximately 66.5%; at the maximum redemption level GPAQ's current charter permits, those become approximately 9.1% and 90.9%. GPAQ warrants are cancelled and exchanged by their terms for Holdings warrants over an equal number of shares. The new charter authorises a single class of 75,000,000 shares, fixes the board at eleven in three staggered classes and bars stockholder action by written consent.
This establishes the baseline trust value and hard liquidation deadline for public shareholders, while confirming $4.375 million in deferred underwriting fees payable only upon a successful transaction. Sponsor alignment is set via 3,593,750 founder shares and $4.9 million in private placement warrants, with working capital advances already recorded at $143,302.
These terms establish the baseline trust account funding range ($125 million to $143.75 million) and per-share redemption economics. The deferred fee structure ties underwriter compensation to successful deal execution, preserving initial trust capital for shareholders.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
No sponsor entity is named in the filings parsed for this SPAC so far.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1283 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001213900-22-051517
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Lichter StuartDirector
- Owen MaryDirector
- Schaefer KimberlyDirector
- Hess Eric WilliamInterim PFO
- Graffice Barbara AnneEVP Global Mktg & PA
- Holz Karl LDirector
- Gould LisaInterim CEO
- Dennis DavidDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
16 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Lichter Stuartwith 6 other reporting persons on the same schedule70.3% · SC 13D/AOct 1, 2024 stale
- HOF Village, LLC52.4% · SC 13DJul 13, 2020 stale
- Westchester Capital Management, LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule26.3% · SC 13G/AJul 10, 2020 stale
- National Football Museum, Inc.19.8% · SC 13DJul 13, 2020 stale
- Dolan James J.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule14.5% · SC 13DJul 13, 2020 stale
- MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC9.8% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2020 stale
- Linden Capital L.P.with 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule6.5% · SC 13G/AJan 29, 2019 stale
- AQR CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLCwith 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule6.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 17, 2021 stale
- Hudson Bay Capital Management LPwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule3.2% · SC 13G/AFeb 9, 2021 stale
- Klein Michael Stuart0.8% · SC 13D/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- GLAZER CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- BASSO CAPITAL MANAGEMENT, L.P.with 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 12, 2021 stale
- Polar Asset Management Partners Inc.0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 9, 2021 stale
- GAMCO INVESTORS, INC. ET ALwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13D/AJan 31, 2018 stale
- SABBY MANAGEMENT, LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedulenot stated · SC 13G/AJan 7, 2021 stale
- Hawkeye Capital Masterwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedulenot stated · SC 13G/AMar 17, 2020 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
- Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Company Enters into Definitive Agreement Going Private
Nasdaqundated by the source
- Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Company Completes Transition to Private Ownership
PR Newswireundated by the source
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
37 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — GPAQ (Gordon Pointe Acquisition Corp.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/GPAQ
- Vault deal note — Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co (GPAQ)
vault-note · /vault/deals/hall-of-fame-resort-entertainment-co
- Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Company Completes Transition to Private Ownership
news · prnewswire.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail4 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 7990 (Services-Miscellaneous Amusement & Recreation). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2017-12-22 → 8-A12B 2018-01-23 → 424B4 2018-01-26 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 7990 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001213900-18-000904; 424B 0001213900-18-000904 priced 2018-01-26 under S-1 0001213900-17-013611 (file 333-222270, an offering for cash); common ticker GPAQ off 10-Q 0001213900-19-015148 (2019-08-09); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-222270, which belongs to S-1 0001213900-17-013611 (2017-12-22) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2018-01-26). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001213900-20-016991 (2020-07-08) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,5.01,5.02,5.06,9.01). EDGAR now files this CIK as "Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co" — the SPAC's own name is kept here and the successor is the target. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001708176 records "Gordon Pointe Acquisition Corp." ending 2020-07-06; the registrant continues as "Hall of Fame Resort & Entertainment Co". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2020-07-06. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] terminationFeeM=1 from primary filings (0001140361-25-029900).
entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read
OTHER -> MEDIA_CONSUMER, on DEFM14A 0001213900-20-004491: "HOFV is a Delaware limited liability company formed on August 5, 2015, by a subsidiary of National Football Museum, Inc., an Ohio nonprofit corporation doing bu"