Churchill Capital Corp IX/Cayman
CCIX · Nasdaq
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The cash went back to shareholders and the company wound up. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from Churchill Capital (Michael Klein), listed on Nasdaq in May 2024.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed in December 2025 to buy Plus Automation, Inc. (PlusAI), an AI company. The deal valued that business at about $1.20B. That purchase never completed. The company wound up instead, and the cash in the account went back to shareholders.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The cash was paid back to shareholders and the company wound up, so there is nothing left to claim — the money went where the charter said it would.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Liquidated
- Deal
- Plus Automation, Inc. (PlusAI)
- Industry
- AI/automation software company based in Santa Clara, CA
- Deal value
- $1.2B
- announced 5 December 2025
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 3 May 2024
- size not on file · 107.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 640 FIFTH AVENUE, 14TH FLOOR, NEW YORK, NY, 10019
- registered in the Cayman Islands
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Klein Michael Stuart (Director) · Taragin Lee Jay (Chief Financial Officer) · Lapping Paul (Director)
- Listed securities
- CCIX common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
What has happened, and what is coming
3 dated milestonesEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 3 May 2024IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
- 5 December 2025Deal announcedpassed
Combination with Plus Automation, Inc. (PlusAI)
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- Plus Automation, Inc. (PlusAI)$1.2B · announced 5 December 2025terminatedSEC primary
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsCCIX is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 295 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Churchill Capital Corp IX/Cayman is a blank-check company incorporated as a Cayman Islands exempted entity and headquartered at 640 Fifth Avenue, 14th Floor, New York, NY 10019, formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, amalgamation, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization, or similar business combination with one or more businesses. The company stated it may pursue an initial business combination in any business or industry but expects to focus on a target where its management team and founder's expertise provide a competitive advantage. Its common shares trade on Nasdaq under the ticker CCIX.
The initial public offering was priced on May 3, 2024, under SEC Registration No. 333-278192, with Citigroup acting as sole book-running manager on a firm-commitment basis. The prospectus registered 25,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit for aggregate gross proceeds of $250,000,000, with an underwriter over-allotment option of up to 3,750,000 additional units; each unit consists of one Class A ordinary share and one-quarter of one warrant, with whole warrants exercisable at $11.50 per share. Of the offering proceeds, $250.0 million ($287.5 million if the over-allotment was exercised in full) was deposited into a U.S.-based trust account with Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company as trustee, yielding a per-unit trust amount of $10.70. The sponsor, Churchill Sponsor IX LLC (SEC CIK 0001848785), is an affiliate of M. Klein and Company, LLC, and subscribed to 650,000 private placement units at $10.00 per unit ($6,500,000) in a concurrent private placement. Units were listed under CCIXU, with Class A ordinary shares and warrants listed under CCIX and CCIXW, respectively.
The company's founder, Michael Klein, is the founder and managing partner of M. Klein and Company and a former Co-Chief Executive Officer of Citi Markets and Banking with more than two decades at Citi and its predecessors; his prior Churchill-series SPACs include Churchill Capital Corp II (merged with Skillsoft/Global Knowledge), Churchill Capital Corp III (merged with MultiPlan), Churchill Capital Corp IV (merged with Lucid Group), and Churchill Capital Corp VII (definitive agreement with CorpAcq Holdings). Chief Financial Officer Jay Taragin has served since December 2023 and previously held senior finance roles at Scotiabank, Merrill Lynch, Credit Suisse, and PricewaterhouseCoopers. The completion window was 24 months from the IPO closing (or 27 months if a letter of intent or definitive agreement was executed within that period). A deal was announced with Plus Automation, but it was terminated on April 21, 2026, and the company subsequently liquidated: an 8-K filed July 15, 2026 disclosed dissolution, liquidation, and delisting, with no completed business combination on file.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
This is a confirmed liquidation with a date attached: public holders are cashed out of trust within ten business days of August 6, 2026, and redemption completely extinguishes their rights as shareholders, including any further liquidating distribution. The payout is the trust balance less permitted withdrawals, so the working capital draw of up to $1,000,000 a year and taxes already taken come out of what holders receive. Founder shares get nothing — there are no redemption rights or liquidating distributions on the Class B.
The voting architecture is the notable term: only the business combination proposal is presented as a binding vote, while the domestication, the new charter and bylaws, and the specific charter changes are all put to shareholders on a non-binding advisory basis. A holder who opposes the new governing documents but supports the deal therefore has no binding vote against them. The two-step merger with a surviving LLC subsidiary is the standard route to a particular tax treatment. The merger agreement stands amended twice, in September 2025; the document gives those dates but not their content.
The two-step structure ends with the operating business held in an LLC subsidiary rather than a corporation, which is the standard route to a particular tax treatment of the combination. The Domestication moves CCIX from Cayman to Delaware law before the merger, so post-closing shareholder rights are governed by the DGCL. The underlying merger agreement had been amended twice, both times in September 2025; the document gives those dates but does not state what they changed, and this amendment to the registration statement does not identify its own change either.
The operating business ends up held in an LLC subsidiary after a two-step merger, the standard structure for a particular tax treatment, and the Domestication moves CCIX to Delaware law before that happens. The underlying merger agreement carried two amendments dated September 8 and September 18, 2025 by the time of this filing. The explanatory note identifies the document but not the change, so what moved between the original S-4 and this amendment is not stated here.
This is the baseline registration for the CCIX / PlusAI combination, filed one day after the second amendment to the merger agreement, so the terms it registers already reflect both September 2025 amendments. The two-step merger leaves the operating business in an LLC subsidiary, the standard structure for a particular tax treatment, and the Domestication moves CCIX to Delaware law before that occurs. No share counts, vote date or redemption deadline appear in the extracted portion.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: Churchill Capital Corp IX disclosed that on July 14, 2026 its board determined the company cannot complete a business combination by its charter deadline of August 6, 2026. It will cease operations except winding up and, within ten business days, redeem the public Class A ordinary shares at the trust balance including interest, net of permitted working capital withdrawals capped at $1,000,000 a year, taxes and up to $100,000 for dissolution expenses, divided by public shares outstanding. It will then dissolve and liquidate. Why it matters: This is a confirmed liquidation with a date attached: public holders are cashed out of trust within ten business days of August 6, 2026, and redemption completely extinguishes their rights as shareholders, including any further liquidating distribution. The payout is the trust balance less permitted withdrawals, so the working capital draw of up to $1,000,000 a year and taxes already taken come out of what holders receive. Founder shares get nothing — there are no redemption rights or liquidating distributions on the Class B.
Show the other 10 filings
- What changed vs 2025-11-12trust $304.5M → $310.3M +2%
trust account, sponsor loans outstanding, mandate language +31 moved · 5 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $304.5M$310.3M
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- not previously extracted$500K
- Mandate language
- not previously extractedwe are focusing our search on a target in an industry where …
- Combination deadline
- 2026-08-06 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 28.8M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $5,723,889 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause “297 152,045 Total current assets 280,749 161,703 Marketable securities and cash held in Trust Account 310,264,509 307,617,399 Total Assets $ 310,545,258 $ 307,779,102 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Redemption and”…
The clause …“registration rights. As of March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, the Company borrowed $ 500,000 and $ 0 , respectively, under the WCL Promissory Note. As of March 31, 2026, the Company has $ 1,000,000 available under the WCL Promissory”…
The clause …“and (y) the distribution of the Trust Account, as described below. We have until August 6, 2026 (27 months from the closing of the Initial Public Offering), or until such earlier liquidation date as our Board may approve or such”…
The clause …“does not complete a Business Combination within the Combination Period raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for a period of time within one year from the date of the accompanying unaudited”…
The clause …“500,000,000 shares authorized; 725,000 issued and outstanding (excluding 28,750,000 shares subject to possible redemption) as of March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025 73 73 Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value; 50,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Post-close outcome quality: 5 priced deSPACs vs trust value (prior vehicles against the $10.00 IPO baseline, in-DB vehicles against the trust they filed): median -90%, 1/5 still worth at least half of trust, 3 at under a tenth of it. Worst: SKIL -96%. Best: INFQ +29%. 2 other completion(s) not priced (2 no stored price) — left OUT of the ratio, not guessed.
Weak record · high confidence
- Churchill Capital Corp I · 2018→ ClarivateCLVTCompleted
- Churchill Capital Corp II · 2019→ SkillsoftSKILCompleted
- Churchill Capital Corp III · 2020→ Claritev (MultiPlan)CTEVCompleted
- Churchill Capital Corp IV · 2020→ Lucid GroupLCIDCompleted
- Churchill Capital Corp X · 2025→ InfleqtionINFQCompleted
- Churchill Capital Corp V · 2020Liquidated
- Churchill Capital Corp VII · 2021Liquidated
- Churchill Capital Corp VI · 2021Liquidated
- Churchill Capital Corp IX/Cayman · 2024Terminated
Churchill Capital — Michael Klein's platform. Prior-vehicle track record (SEC-verified): (1) Churchill Capital Corp I COMPLETED → Clarivate Analytics (CLVT, 2019; confirmed via joint 425 filings). (2) Churchill II COMPLETED → Skillsoft (SKIL, NYSE). (3) Churchill III COMPLETED → MultiPlan, now Claritev (CTEV, NYSE). (4) Churchill IV COMPLETED → Lucid Group (LCID, Nasdaq). (5) Churchill X COMPLETED → Infleqtion (INFQ, 2026). LIQUIDATED (25-NSE + 15-12G): Churchill V (2023), Churchill VI (2023), Churchill VII (CorpAcq deal DEFM14A 2024-06 collapsed, liquidated 25-NSE 2024-08). Net: 5 completed deSPACs, 3 liquidations; headline win Lucid. Mixed post-close. Sources: SEC EDGAR submissions API (formerNames) + full-text search, efts.sec.gov. — research profile — Churchill Capital is one of the most prolific SPAC platforms in the market, founded and led by Michael Klein, a veteran dealmaker and former Citigroup executive who spent more than two decades at Citi and its predecessors, ultimately running the institutional clients group. Klein serves as Chairman, CEO, and President across the Churchill vehicles, and is also the founder and Managing Partner of M. Klein and Company, a New York-based merchant bank he established in 2012 that has advised on transactions valued in excess of $1 trillion. He is joined by CFO Jay Taragin, who also serves as CFO of M. Klein and Company. Klein's advisory relationships are a structural differentiator: the merchant bank earns fees from sovereigns and corporates—including a notable role advising Saudi Aramco on its $100 billion downstream restructuring—while deploying SPAC capital into affiliated transactions, creating a proprietary deal-sourcing pipeline unavailable to most financial sponsors. Klein has personally structured more SPACs than any other individual sponsor, with the Churchill series beginning in 2018 and spanning at least thirteen vehicles that have collectively raised billions of dollars. Klein's track record across completed de-SPAC transactions is mixed but includes several high-profile deals. Churchill Capital Corp I merged with Clarivate in 2019 in a $4.2 billion combination, and Churchill Capital Corp III merged with MultiPlan (now Claritev, NYSE: CTEV) in 2020, which has returned approximately 75% from its $10 offer price. The most widely known deal, Churchill Capital Corp IV's $11.75 billion merger with EV maker Lucid Motors (LCID) in 2021, has been a significant laggard, trading roughly 41% below its offer price. Churchill Capital Corp X merged with quantum computing developer Infleqtion (INFQ) in February 2026, up approximately 33%, and AltC Acquisition merged with SMR developer Oklo (OKLO) in 2024. Churchill Capital XI, which raised an upsized $414 million in December 2025, has announced a pending $2.5 billion merger with Agility Robotics, while Churchill Capital IX has a pending merger with autonomous trucking software developer PlusAI. On the negative side, Churchill Capital Corps V, VI, and VII all liquidated without completing a business combination, representing a notable failure rate among the middle-numbered vehicles. Klein has also led the creation of seven NYSE-listed companies—Clarivate, MultiPlan, Skillsoft, and four Churchill entities—valued in excess of $35 billion. The most recent vehicles continue Klein's pattern of upsized, sector-agnostic raises with Citi as sole bookrunner. Churchill Capital XII priced an upsized $360 million IPO in April 2026, and Churchill Capital XIII followed with another upsized $360 million offering in August 2026 (up from a planned $300 million), trading on Nasdaq under XIIIU. Klein disclosed a 25.47% stake in Churchill XIII through Churchill Sponsor XIII LLC, comprising 13.8 million Class B founder…
Full sponsor record →The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
Unit: U = S + W/4 · 107.0% of the $10 unit
from 424B3 0001193125-26-142368
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Klein Michael StuartDirector
- Taragin Lee JayChief Financial Officer
- Lapping PaulDirector
- Murphy Stephen AnthonyDirector
- Sherman William MDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
9 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Churchill Sponsor IX LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule21.6% · SC 13DMay 13, 2024 stale
- Fort Baker Capital Management LPwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule9.8% · SC 13GNov 14, 2024 stale
- Magnetar Financial LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule8.3% · SC 13GNov 6, 2024 stale
- Sculptor Capital LP6.5% · SC 13G/ANov 14, 2024 stale
- COWEN AND COMPANY, LLC6.2% · SC 13GNov 13, 2024 stale
- Empyrean Capital Partners, LPwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule5.9% · SC 13GNov 14, 2024 stale
- ARISTEIA CAPITAL LLC5.4% · SC 13GNov 14, 2024 stale
- MMCAP International Inc. SPCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule4.6% · SC 13G/ANov 6, 2024 stale
- MILLENNIUM MANAGEMENT LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule4.1% · SC 13GMay 9, 2024 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
38 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — CCIX (Churchill Capital Corp IX/Cayman)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/CCIX
- Vault deal note — Plus Automation, Inc. (PlusAI) (CCIX)
vault-note · /vault/deals/plus-automation-inc-plusai
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail5 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 7373 (Services-Computer Integrated Systems Design). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2024-03-22 → 8-A12B 2024-05-01 → 424B4 2024-05-03 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 7373 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001193125-24-130638; 424B 0001193125-24-130638 priced 2024-05-03 under S-1 0001193125-24-075471 (file 333-278192, an offering for cash); common ticker CCIX off 10-K 0001193125-26-039696 (2026-02-05); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-278192, which belongs to S-1 0001193125-24-075471 (2024-03-22) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2024-05-03). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 425 0001193125-26-146042 (2026-04-08) — e less than the amount they would receive upon exercising their redemption rights. Further, the shares of most companies that have recently completed business combinations between a special purpose acquisition company and an operating company have traded at prices below $10.00 per share. Accordingly, CHURCHILL IX public shareholders who do not exercise their redemption rights may hold shares of po. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "Churchill Sponsor IX LLC" (SEC CIK 0001848785) sourced from Form 3 reportingOwner (10% owner) acc 0000950170-24-051682.
status CLOSED -> LIQUIDATED. The ending was recorded without a completed combination on file: no Item 2.01 anywhere in this CIK's 8-K history, no Form 15 ever, and no other registrant files anything naming this vehicle after its Form 25 (Form 25 says "not listed", never "ended"). PROOF: wind-up: 8-K 2026-07-15 acc 0001193125-26-303455 (items 8.01/9.01) states dissolve and liquidate / redeem all / delist; deal terminated first: 8-K 2026-04-21 item 1.02 acc 0001193125-26-165149 (Plus Automation). STILL ALIVE: n/a — this row was CLOSED and is genuinely ending, but as a LIQUIDATION and not a completed combination: no Item 2.01 ever, no successor registrant exists. Since §98 a wrong ending also STOPS INGEST for the row, so this was costing us the tape as well as the truth. POSTMORTEMS §98.
deal was stamped CLOSED on a vehicle recorded as finished; wind-up: 8-K 2026-07-15 acc 0001193125-26-303455 (items 8.01/9.01) states dissolve and liquidate / redeem all / delist; deal terminated first: 8-K 2026-04-21 item 1.02 acc 0001193125-26-165149 (Plus Automation). §98