Activate Energy Acquisition Corp.
AEAQ · Nasdaq · Energy
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing required today
No redemption election is on file for this SPAC. A date appears here the day one is filed.
Not a redemption window — reaching it gives you no right to cash.
Cash per share
Held for each public share, as last filed on 30 Jun.
Last close
1.9% below cash vs estimated NAV
Daily close · 00:00
SpacBrain’s read
Floor not confirmed
No redemption window has closed — but no dated redemption election is on file for this name either, so we cannot show you a date to act by.
What we do have: no window has closed, and the company's own deadline runs to 5 December 2027. That deadline is not itself a window you can redeem into. The full chain of evidence is under Evidence.
Change on the last daily close0.0% day
That is $0.12 below the $10.20 of cash held per share as last filed — though the right to claim that cash is not confirmed on file. Against our ESTIMATE of what the trust holds today — ~$10.28, the filed figure carried forward at the T-bill — the same price is 1.9% below the cash. That estimate is our arithmetic, not a filing.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A $230M SPAC from Activate Energy Sponsors LLC, listed on Nasdaq in December 2025. Each unit put $10.00 into the shareholders' cash account at listing; it holds $10.20 a share today — interest earned on the account, plus any payments the sponsor made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out.
- What it's doing now
- It is still looking: no purchase has been announced. It has until 5 December 2027 to agree one; after that it must ask shareholders for more time, or give the money back and close.
- What you should know
- We have no filed date on which you could claim the cash back, so we cannot tell you a day to act by. That is a gap in the public record, not a statement that the right has gone.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Searching · next dated event 5 December 2027
- Outside date — not a date on which you can claim cash.
- Merging with
- No target announced — still searching.
- Industry
- Energy
- What it set out to buy: Energy
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash floor
- $10.08 vs $10.20
- $0.12 below the last filed cash held for you; 1.9% below cash against our estimated ~$10.28
- Cash left in trust
- $234.6M
- IPO
- 5 December 2025
- $230M raised · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 71 FORT STREET, GRAND CAYMAN, 00000
- registered in the Cayman Islands
- Lead underwriter
- BTIG, LLC
- Key officers
- Byer Brian Keith (Director) · MOORE PAUL DEREK (Director) · Fontaine Thomas Joseph (Chief Executive Officer)
- Listed securities
- AEAQ common · AEAQW warrant $0.29 · AEAQU unit $10.19 · AEAQ common $10.08
As last filed, 30 June 2026.
source: 10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088418
Modelled, not filed: $10.20 filed 30 June 2026, compounded 72 days at the 3.95% 3-month T-bill (treasury.gov daily par yield curve). No tax drag, extension deposits or dissolution costs are modelled.
- vs last filed NAV
- 1.2%below cash
- $10.20, 10-Q as of Jun 30, 2026, acc 0001213900-26-088418
- vs estimated NAV today (our estimate)
- 1.9%below cash
- ~$10.28, accrued 72 days at 3.95%
Two denominators, one price. The filed figure is what a document says the trust held on its date; the estimate carries it forward at the T-bill for the days since, which is our arithmetic and not a filing.
A contractual long-stop for closing a deal. It is not a redemption window and gives you no right to cash. What an outside date is →
Yield to redemption
No dated redemption window on file — no yield to compute.
We hold no redemption election for this SPAC. The only dated event on file is the outside date on Dec 5, 2027, which pays a holder nothing — so no yield can be measured to it. An unsourced date would make the yield look filed when it is not.
What is protecting this price
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- No dated redemption election is on file for this name. That is an absence in the record, not proof that the right has gone — but it does mean this page cannot tell you a day to act by.
- Cash held in trust is $10.20 per share as last filed. That is the figure a redemption pays out at, plus whatever interest the trust earns between the filing and the window.
- The charter runs to 5 December 2027. If no deal closes by then the trust is returned to holders, which is a floor of a different kind — it pays out, but you do not choose when.
What has happened, and what is coming
2 dated milestonesEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 5 December 2025IPOpassed
$230M raised into trust
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsOne number for the shape of the bet: how much upside you are getting per unit of downside. It is arithmetic over filed fields, not a rating and not advice — and it is the same number this SPAC carries on the leaderboard, the screener and the deal list, because all four read one engine.
1.2% below the last filed trust — floor not confirmed — no redemption election on file
The blend is trust discount (40 points), deal stage (30), sponsor track record (18) and time to catalyst (12). Every input is a real sourced field; where one is missing, confidence drops rather than a number being invented.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Activate Energy Acquisition Corp. is a Cayman Islands-incorporated blank check company headquartered at 71 Fort Street, Grand Cayman, whose common shares trade on Nasdaq under the ticker AEAQ. The company was formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, capital stock exchange, asset acquisition, stock purchase, reorganization, or similar business combination with one or more businesses, and operates with a generalist focus, meaning it is not limited to any particular industry or sector in its search for a target.
The company priced its initial public offering on December 5, 2025, raising $230 million through the sale of 23,000,000 units, which figure includes 3,000,000 units issued pursuant to the underwriters' over-allotment option. Each unit consists of one ordinary share and one warrant, with $10.00 per unit placed in trust. The units, common stock, and warrants trade on Nasdaq. A subsequent greenshoe-related accounting adjustment was recorded on August 13, 2026, reflecting the full exercise of the over-allotment. No specific business-combination deadline or announced merger target has been disclosed in the available sources.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
Attributed to the filing’s own MD&A and Note 1, the company makes no claims regarding customer base, revenue generation, market size, technology, partnerships, or litigation, explicitly stating it generated zero operating revenues and conducted no substantive target discussions through March 31, 2026. Its stated strategy targets the oil and gas industry but remains open to any sector, location, or business type. Per Note 7, personnel arrangements are limited to contracted executive leadership at $7,500 monthly each, with no operational infrastructure disclosed. Materially, this total absence of commercial activity, combined with the documented quarterly burn pattern and management-asserted going concern risk, directs investor scrutiny entirely to sponsor execution capability, trust yield preservation mechanics, and proximity to the December 5, 2027 liquidation threshold rather than underlying asset fundamentals.
The explicit trust balance of $230,556,356 establishes the precise capital pool backing public shares ahead of the December 4, 2027 liquidation or de-SPAC deadline, allowing investors to calculate redemption economics without importing assumed trust formulas. The director appointments bring targeted upstream oil and gas development experience (via Paul Moore) and corporate risk/finance oversight (via Keith Byer), directly resourcing the company’s stated acquisition thesis in the energy sector. Chairman and CEO Thomas Fontaine attributes the renewed board depth and existing liquidity to a ‘disciplined approach’ that preserves ‘flexibility to pursue high-quality opportunities,’ signaling active sponsor management of the remaining extension window. The filing does not disclose ongoing litigation, specific partnership agreements, or target pipeline progress beyond general statements that the company intends to focus on industries complementing the management team’s network.
Director turnover directly impacts sponsor oversight capacity and target-screening expertise for a SPAC still searching for a business combination. The added profiles bring explicit upstream energy and global risk/financial advisory credentials: Moore advanced a '$2.5 billion methanol project' and held executive roles at Todd Energy International, Otto Energy Limited, Shell International Petroleum Company Limited, Fletcher Challenge Energy Ltd., Santos Limited, and Woodside Petroleum Ltd.; Byer retired as Senior Managing Director at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited after growing a practice from '$12 million to $350 million', serving as Global Senior Managing Director for Reputation and Risk across 'nearly 100 countries', and overseeing '$50 million' and '$25 million' of profit-and-loss activity. These personnel shifts, attributed entirely to the company's filed biographies and executive sign-off by Chief Executive Officer Thomas Fontaine dated March 11, 2026, signal potential strategic calibration toward complex energy infrastructure, project finance, or risk-intensive acquisition targets.
Investors monitoring the redemption calendar confirm the December 5, 2027 deadline remains intact, but the $738,076 non-trust cash balance paired with the $8,050,000 deferred underwriting obligation highlights severe pre-deal liquidity constraints. The going concern warning signals that standard administrative burn may exhaust working capital before a target is identified. Founder economics remain heavily back-loaded (acquired at $0.003 versus the $10.00 public offering price), which intensifies pressure to close a transaction within the allotted timeframe despite the absence of disclosed pipeline activity. The codified compensation structure and newly adopted clawback policy further lock in sponsor and executive alignment ahead of any future valuation negotiation.
By documenting an unencumbered insider position, the filer establishes a verified baseline for tracking director stock movement ahead of any business combination vote. This routine disclosure does not shift shareholder redemption deadlines, alter trust payout mechanics, or signal progress toward a signed merger agreement, but it clarifies that director trading exposure remains neutral at this stage.
This filing locks the trust value mechanics, unit economics, and sponsor commitments before the acquisition search begins. The documents establish an initially anticipated $10.00 per-share trust value, detail the $11.50 exercise price for 11,500,000 warrants expiring five years post-combination, and record the sponsor’s waiver of redemption and liquidating rights for founder and private shares. The upfront $240,000 sponsor payment and $8,050,000 deferred underwriting obligation directly reduce non-trust capital available to fund deal execution. According to the filing, management intends to target oil and gas businesses but maintains sector flexibility, with zero substantive negotiation discussions occurring through December 5, 2025. The auditor is identified as WithumSmith+Brown, PC, and the Cayman Islands exempted corporation discloses exposure to geopolitical instability, supply chain interruptions, and capital market volatility stemming from the Russia-Ukraine and Israel-Hamas conflicts.
Show 6 more material filings
The closing formally activates the SPAC's operational timeline, establishing a definitive trust value of approximately $10.28 per public share and locking in the 24-month business combination deadline to December 5, 2027. It finalizes the capital structure, confirms the $0.35 per share deferred underwriting commission payable upon a successful combination, codifies the 180-day and 30-day lock-up periods for insiders and underwriters, and sets the $10,000 monthly administrative fee structure that will run until the earlier of a business combination or liquidation.
The prospectus explicitly states zero substantive discussions with, or selections of, any business combination target, confirming the vehicle remains in a pre-search capital accumulation phase. Management attributes its strategic focus to the oil and gas sector, asserting the SPAC structure offers a less expensive and more certain path to public listing than traditional IPOs, though historical performance references are explicitly caveated as non-guarantees of future success.
The trust mechanics and pricing framework generate immediate material dilution for public investors, as the $10.00 per-unit offering price produces negative or deeply discounted net tangible book values across all modeled redemption thresholds. The explicitly documented renunciation of fiduciary duties, paired with complex anti-dilution conversion formulas engineered to preserve ~25% founder ownership, indicates a structural misalignment where sponsor exit economics may prioritize rapid de-SPAC execution over optimal target valuation. The 24-month deadline, devoid of guaranteed extension financing, introduces acute time pressure that statistically increases the likelihood of accepting substandard mergers or triggering mass redemptions. Additionally, the authorization for management to pursue parallel SPAC ventures and the broad conflict-of-interest acknowledgments elevate governance and litigation exposure, potentially constraining negotiation leverage with prospective targets and complicating future regulatory scrutiny.
Deal progression through the S-1 comment process typically signals advancing preparation for pricing and business combination execution, which directly activates redemption calendars and trust distribution protocols. The Staff’s insistence on transparent founder share maintenance mechanics means investors can anticipate concrete dilution parameters if the capital raise expands; any additional sponsor-funded share purchases will mathematically pressure net tangible book value and redemption thresholds.
Beyond mechanics, the SEC staff highlighted that AEAQ management disclosed in the draft filing (referenced on page 124 of the Submitted document) that it has no prior SPAC experience, and directed the company to draft corresponding risk factor disclosures addressing those operational risks. Any director affiliated with the sponsor must tabulate their indirect founder share interests received through sponsor membership interests per Regulation S-K Item 1602(b)(6), adding transparency around sponsor conduct and potential conflicts.
According to the filing, the nominal founder share cost and private placement structures create immediate dilution and documented conflicts of interest: the registrant warns that officers, directors, and the sponsor could profit substantially even if the target subsequently declines in value or public shareholders receive liquidating distributions below the $10.00 purchase price. The underwriter (BTIG, LLC) retains $0.20 per unit upfront and defers $0.35 per unit ($7,000,000 aggregate, or $8,050,000 with over-allotment) into trust, payable exclusively upon business combination completion.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: Form 10-Q (Quarterly Report). Management states that while substantive discussions with multiple potential targets have progressed, no definitive business combination agreement has been executed this quarter. Trust account per-share value increased to $10.20 from $10.02 per share, driven by accrued interest on U.S. Treasury Bills held in the trust. Redemption deadline remains mechanically tied to December 5, 2027 (24 months post-IPO closing), requiring no extension vote or early liquidation trigger this period. Sponsor activities were limited to routine administrative service payments ($10,000/month) and standard executive compensation per existing Officer Agreements, with no new related-party arrangements or conduct changes disclosed. Why it matters: The verified trust growth confirms compounding, low-risk yield accrual, fully protecting the $10.00+ redemption floor for public shareholders. The explicit confirmation of no definitive deal locks in reliance on the full 24-month execution window through December 2027, pushing back any shareholder votes on extensions, amendments, or redemption triggers. Standardized sponsor and executive cost disclosures validate normal pre-combination burn rates without unexpected capital drains or governance shifts.
What changed vs 2026-05-15trust $232.6M → $234.6M +1%trust account, going-concern doubt, redeemable shares1 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $232.6M$234.6M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 23.0M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $2,058,698 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“728,966 1,005,933 Long-term prepaid expenses 81,250 198,350 Investments held in Trust Account 234,642,561 230,556,356 Total Assets $ 235,452,777 $ 231,760,639 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption,”…
The clause …“all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. These conditions raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. Management plans to consummate an initial Business Combination prior to the end”…
The clause “200,000,000 shares authorized; 645,000 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 23,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) as of June 30, 2026 and December 31, 2025, respectively 65 65 Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value;”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: Two routine Power of Attorney exhibits appended to a Schedule 13G/A filing, executed separately on behalf of The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC. The instrument carries no implication for Activate Energy Acquisition Corp.’s redemption calendar, trust account mechanics, merger deadline, extension voting, acquisition status, or sponsor conduct. It solely updates internal compliance delegation, authorizing designated firm employees to prepare and submit Beneficial Ownership Reports (Rule 13f-1) and Change-of-Control disclosures (Regulation 13D-G) for securities the filing entities may be deemed to beneficially own. Why it matters: Attested by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. (dated July 8, 2026, executed by Scott Kilpatrick, Acting Attorney-in-Fact) and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC (dated July 2, 2026, executed by Carey Ziegler, Managing Director), each grant empowers the same roster of individuals—including Sadhiya Raffique, Santosh Vinayagamoorthy, D Guru Prasad, Tobi Amusan, Akash Keshari, Papa Lette, Andrzej Szyszka, Rahail Patel, Taiki Misu, Regina Chan, Abhilasha Bareja, Veronica Mupazviriwo, Sam Prashanth, Ameen Soetan, Abhishek Vishwanathan, Elizabeth Novak, and Matthew Pomfret—to file on the firms’ behalf. According to the firms’ own declarations, the authorities remain active until July 8, 2027, or July 2, 2027, unless unilaterally revoked or terminated when an attorney ceases employment or duties before those expiration dates. Both documents expressly revoke and replace prior powers of attorney dated July 16, 2025, and mandate construction under New York law. Beyond personnel delegation and corporate governance protocol, the filing discloses no claims regarding customers, revenue, market sizing, strategic direction, technology development, commercial partnerships, litigation posture, or SPAC operational milestones.
What changed: A Form 8-K current report filed by Activate Energy Acquisition Corp. disclosing the immediate resignation of Director Paul Moore and stating the departure was not connected to company operations, policies, or practices. Effective July 13, 2026, Paul Moore stepped down from the Board of Directors. The company’s board publicly thanked him for his service, and Chief Executive Officer Thomas Fontaine executed the filing on July 16, 2026. No compensation arrangements or new appointments were disclosed in this submission. Why it matters: This filing leaves all core SPAC mechanics untouched: the redemption window remains open, the trust balance is unaffected, and the December 5, 2027 business combination deadline stands. As a governance update, the board now holds one fewer seat. While the company attributed the split to routine reasons rather than sponsor misconduct or strategic divergence, investors tracking deal execution should note the vacancy until a replacement director is appointed to maintain quorum and oversight through the final search phase.
What changed: A Form 8-K current report filed under Item 5.02 disclosing the appointment of a new director to the Board of Directors. The filing reports no adjustments to the redemption calendar, trust value, extension deadline, or business combination progress. On May 20, 2026, the Board appointed David Whitby, age 70, as a director effective immediately. Per the filing, Mr. Whitby is a retired senior executive with oil and gas experience who served as Managing Director of Nido Petroleum Ltd. (ASX: NDO) from 2004 to 2010. The registrant states he helped grow the company from a market capitalization of A$1m to A$600m, transitioning it from a pure explorer to producer in less than 4 years. He holds a bachelor of engineering degree from the Royal Military College of Canada. The filing asserts there are no arrangements or understandings pursuant to his election, no family relationships exist between him and other directors or officers, and he lacks a direct or indirect material interest in any disclosure-required transaction under Item 404(a). Chief Executive Officer Thomas Fontaine executed the report on June 3, 2026. Why it matters: Expands board depth with an energy-industry operator while Activate Energy Acquisition Corp. remains in the search phase, but introduces no mechanical shifts to the December 5, 2027 liquidation deadline, the stated trust value of $10.2 per share, or investor redemption/conversion rights. The appointment does not signal deal progress, sponsor misconduct, or a trigger for the warrant strike price of $11.50.
What changed: Form 10-Q quarterly report for the fiscal quarter ended March 31, 2026, containing unaudited condensed financial statements, notes, management’s discussion and analysis, and controls and procedures disclosures for Activate Energy Acquisition Corp. Per the balance sheet and Note 1, investments held in the Trust Account rose from $230,556,356 as of December 31, 2025 to $232,583,863 as of March 31, 2026, establishing a stated per-share redemption value of $10.11 (up from $10.02 per share as of December 31, 2025). Note 2 and the MD&A state the company reported a working capital surplus of $662,216 and cash on hand of $552,636 as of March 31, 2026. Per Note 5, no amounts remain outstanding under the Sponsor’s $300,000 promissory note or the $1,500,000 working capital loan facility. Note 5 also discloses the company incurred $30,000 in administrative service fees and $45,000 in officer fees for the quarter, with $22,500 in each category accrued as of March 31, 2026. According to Note 1, the company maintains its focus on the oil and gas sector but reports zero substantive discussions with any target and zero operational revenues through the quarter end. Why it matters: Attributed to the filing’s own MD&A and Note 1, the company makes no claims regarding customer base, revenue generation, market size, technology, partnerships, or litigation, explicitly stating it generated zero operating revenues and conducted no substantive target discussions through March 31, 2026. Its stated strategy targets the oil and gas industry but remains open to any sector, location, or business type. Per Note 7, personnel arrangements are limited to contracted executive leadership at $7,500 monthly each, with no operational infrastructure disclosed. Materially, this total absence of commercial activity, combined with the documented quarterly burn pattern and management-asserted going concern risk, directs investor scrutiny entirely to sponsor execution capability, trust yield preservation mechanics, and proximity to the December 5, 2027 liquidation threshold rather than underlying asset fundamentals.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: A routine compliance exhibit (administrative Power of Attorney) attached to a Schedule 13G filing. The filing updates internal signing authority rather than any SPAC mechanic. According to the document itself, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC renewed their power of attorney, superseding prior versions dated July 29, 2024, and October 1, 2024. It designates nineteen named personnel to act as attorneys-in-fact for executing Rule 13f-1 and Regulation 13D-G filings through July 16, 2026. Zero changes to AEAQ’s redemption deadline (2027-12-05), trust allocation ($10.2 per share), sponsor conduct, extension timeline, or beneficial ownership threshold are reported. Why it matters: This exhibit bears no impact on investor tracking of redemption windows, trust value preservation, deal progress, or governance. As authored by the filers, the document makes no claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or operational personnel beyond the listed signatories and attorneys. It functions solely as boilerplate housekeeping to preserve uninterrupted compliance filing capacity. Investors should not factor this submission into decisions regarding AEAQ’s search period or capital structuring.
What changed: A Form 8-K current report that incorporates Press Release Exhibit 99.1 announcing the filing of the Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. Per the incorporated press release, the trust account holds approximately $230,556,356. The deadline to consummate an initial business combination remains December 4, 2027, subject to governing document extensions. Reported net income for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, stands at $300,371, primarily driven by interest income. On March 4, 2026, directors Paul Moore and Keith Byer were appointed to replace Richard Lorentz and Andrew Childs. Why it matters: The explicit trust balance of $230,556,356 establishes the precise capital pool backing public shares ahead of the December 4, 2027 liquidation or de-SPAC deadline, allowing investors to calculate redemption economics without importing assumed trust formulas. The director appointments bring targeted upstream oil and gas development experience (via Paul Moore) and corporate risk/finance oversight (via Keith Byer), directly resourcing the company’s stated acquisition thesis in the energy sector. Chairman and CEO Thomas Fontaine attributes the renewed board depth and existing liquidity to a ‘disciplined approach’ that preserves ‘flexibility to pursue high-quality opportunities,’ signaling active sponsor management of the remaining extension window. The filing does not disclose ongoing litigation, specific partnership agreements, or target pipeline progress beyond general statements that the company intends to focus on industries complementing the management team’s network.
What changed: A Form 8-K current report under Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, specifically covering Item 5.02 (Departure of Directors or Certain Officers; Election of Directors; Appointment of Certain Officers; Compensatory Arrangements of Certain Officers) and Item 9.01 (Financial Statements and Exhibits). Board composition and governance structure shifted. The registrant reported that Andrew Childs resigned from the Board of Directors effective February 1, 2026, with the board stating the resignation was 'not related to a disagreement with the Company on any matter relating to the Company’s operations, policies, or practices.' Effective March 4, 2026, the board appointed Paul Moore (age 67) and Keith Byer (age 62) as new directors. The filing details the sponsor's and board's selection rationale, confirming no arrangements, family relationships, or material transactions triggered Regulation S-K Item 404(a) disclosure requirements for the new appointees. The redemption calendar remains unchanged with the December 5, 2027 deadline intact, the trust value per share holds at $10.2, and warrant mechanics specify a $11.50 exercise price. Why it matters: Director turnover directly impacts sponsor oversight capacity and target-screening expertise for a SPAC still searching for a business combination. The added profiles bring explicit upstream energy and global risk/financial advisory credentials: Moore advanced a '$2.5 billion methanol project' and held executive roles at Todd Energy International, Otto Energy Limited, Shell International Petroleum Company Limited, Fletcher Challenge Energy Ltd., Santos Limited, and Woodside Petroleum Ltd.; Byer retired as Senior Managing Director at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited after growing a practice from '$12 million to $350 million', serving as Global Senior Managing Director for Reputation and Risk across 'nearly 100 countries', and overseeing '$50 million' and '$25 million' of profit-and-loss activity. These personnel shifts, attributed entirely to the company's filed biographies and executive sign-off by Chief Executive Officer Thomas Fontaine dated March 11, 2026, signal potential strategic calibration toward complex energy infrastructure, project finance, or risk-intensive acquisition targets.
What changed: Annual Report on Form 10-K (fiscal year ended December 31, 2025). This document is an Annual Report on Form 10-K for the period ended December 31, 2025. Regarding SPAC mechanics, the filing confirms the completion window expires December 5, 2027, with $230,556,356 held in the trust account (recorded at a redemption value of $10.02 per public share). Initial shareholders hold 7,666,667 founder shares acquired for $25,000, yielding a stated purchase price of approximately $0.003 per share. The sponsor collects a recurring administrative fee of $10,000 per month, while Chief Executive Officer Thomas Fontaine and Chief Financial Officer David Wood each earn $7,500 monthly under written agreements effective December 3, 2025. Per company disclosures, no substantive discussions with any target business have been initiated, and management intends to focus exclusively on the oil and gas industry. The company generated $300,371 in net income between inception and December 31, 2025, derived entirely from $556,356 in interest earned on trust investments offset by $255,985 in general and administrative expenses. Outside the trust, uncommitted cash totaled $738,076, and the company carries $8,050,000 in deferred underwriting fees payable solely upon consummation. Management’s auditors issued a going concern remark, noting insufficient external liquidity to sustain operations for one year beyond the filing date without securing additional financing or completing a transaction. The board also formally adopted a Nasdaq-compliant clawback policy covering erroneously awarded incentive compensation. Why it matters: Investors monitoring the redemption calendar confirm the December 5, 2027 deadline remains intact, but the $738,076 non-trust cash balance paired with the $8,050,000 deferred underwriting obligation highlights severe pre-deal liquidity constraints. The going concern warning signals that standard administrative burn may exhaust working capital before a target is identified. Founder economics remain heavily back-loaded (acquired at $0.003 versus the $10.00 public offering price), which intensifies pressure to close a transaction within the allotted timeframe despite the absence of disclosed pipeline activity. The codified compensation structure and newly adopted clawback policy further lock in sponsor and executive alignment ahead of any future valuation negotiation.
What changed: A Form 3 insider ownership report filed by director Paul Derek Moore for Activate Energy Acquisition Corp., which explicitly states that no non-derivative transactions or holdings are being reported. The SEC filing reports that director Paul Derek Moore holds zero public equity or derivative positions as of the submission date. The regulatory submission contains no data, statements, or footnotes regarding redemption windows, trust account valuations, extension mechanisms, target due diligence, or sponsor governance activities. Why it matters: By documenting an unencumbered insider position, the filer establishes a verified baseline for tracking director stock movement ahead of any business combination vote. This routine disclosure does not shift shareholder redemption deadlines, alter trust payout mechanics, or signal progress toward a signed merger agreement, but it clarifies that director trading exposure remains neutral at this stage.
What changed: SEC Form 3 insider ownership report for director Brian Keith Byer of Activate Energy Acquisition Corp., filed 2026-03-10 under accession number 0001213900-26-025830. According to the Form 3 filing, 'No non-derivative transactions or holdings reported.' This bears directly on sponsor conduct and internal signaling, confirming zero changes to the director’s equity stake. No filings indicate actions affecting trust value maintenance, shareholder redemption mechanics, or the operational push toward the 2027-12-05 deadline. Why it matters: Per the submission, the document contains no additional claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, acquisition strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel transitions. Because the filing reports static holdings, investors tracking the redemption calendar and extension vote face no new insider behavior to weigh against the stated $10.2 trust/share or the December 5, 2027 sunset date. The absence of transaction data means this routine compliance exhibit does not alter the SPAC’s mechanical timeline or target-seeking posture.
What changed: A Schedule 13G beneficial ownership report filed with the SEC by Kryger Capital Ltd. Kryger Capital Ltd submitted the filing to declare beneficial ownership of AEAQ common stock; the provided excerpt lists no share counts, acquisition dates, aggregate percentages, or purposes of the transaction. Consequently, the filing bears no explicit bearing on the SPAC’s December 5, 2027 search deadline, its trust account valuation, redemption mechanics, extension voting, or sponsor conduct. Why it matters: Because the submission omits quantitative holdings and qualitative commentary, Kryger Capital Ltd made no claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, corporate strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel. Without attributed purchase activity, disposal plans, or transactional intent, the document cannot signal accumulation trends, redemption liquidity pressures, or approval catalysts for investors monitoring trust distributions or merger execution.(flagged for human review)
What changed: Joint Filing Agreement and Exhibit 99.1 to a Schedule 13G beneficial ownership report, formally executed on February 12, 2026, by Adage Capital Management, L.P., Robert Atchinson, and Phillip Gross under SEC Rule 13d-1(k). According to the executed exhibit, these signatories reaffirmed a cooperative filing structure for their existing beneficial ownership positions in AEAQ. The document attributes to each party individual responsibility for the timeliness and accuracy of his or her own disclosures, while explicitly stating they accept no liability for the others' information beyond their actual knowledge or reasonable belief. The filing discloses no share quantities, acquisition prices, cost basis, or transaction histories. As a purely administrative compliance exhibit, it makes no reference to the SPAC’s trust composition, redemption mechanics, extension procedures, target discovery efforts, or sponsor conduct, leaving those operational timelines and parameters entirely unaltered by this submission. Why it matters: For investors tracking capital commitment signals and governance escalation, the filing confirms that Adage-capital affiliates maintained a passive, reportable stake through mid-February 2026 without transitioning to Schedule 13D, which would typically signal activist intent or negotiated deal influence. Attributed to the filing's contents, the document offers no assertions regarding customers, revenue streams, market sizing, corporate strategy, proprietary technology, partnership arrangements, pending litigation, or executive appointments. Because it contains only signature authorities and joint-reporting stipulations tied to registration number [0000902664-26-000883], it provides no forward-looking commercial metrics, valuation anchors, or capital event triggers. The submission serves exclusively to preserve regulatory transparency for shared institutional holdings and maintains accurate registry oversight ahead of the broader SPAC deadline cycle.
What changed: Form 8-K Current Report accompanied by Exhibit 99.1, a press release dated January 23, 2026, announcing that Activate Energy Acquisition Corp.’s IPO units will commence separate trading of their component shares and warrants. Zero shifts occurred to the SPAC’s redemption deadline, trust value per share, extension schedule, or business-combination progress. The sole operational update is mechanical: beginning January 26, 2026, Unit holders may elect to split their holdings into separately listed Class A Ordinary Shares and Warrants. The filing specifies each Unit contains one share and one-half of one redeemable warrant, prohibits fractional warrant issuance, establishes a $11.50 per share exercise price, and requires broker coordination with transfer agent Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company. Non-separated Units continue trading on Nasdaq as AEAQU. Why it matters: FIRST, this document is a routine listing-administration update that leaves the December 5, 2027 liquidation cutoff, the stated $10.2 trust-per-share baseline, and any extension machinery untouched. THEN, the separation mechanic unlocks secondary-market liquidity options without signaling sponsor activity, target discovery, valuation metrics, or shareholder vote triggers. THEN, substantively, the accompanying press release attributes to the company’s management and board a stated strategic focus on the oil and gas sector, identifies Activate Energy Sponsors, LLC as the sponsor, and names Thomas Fontaine as Chief Executive Officer. It also lists BTIG, LLC as a prospectus delivery point and provides corporate contact details for Grand Cayman and Delaware. For investors tracking redemption outcomes and deal execution, this filing confirms standard instrument structuring without altering capital preservation assumptions, acquisition pacing, or sponsor conduct expectations.
What changed: A Form 8-K current report that functions as a regulatory disclosure of a director resignation, accompanied by standard cover-page securities classifications and contact information. Activate Energy Acquisition Corp. reported that Richard Lorentz Jr. resigned from the Board of Directors effective December 15, 2025. The filing attributed the departure to no disagreement with the Company on any matter relating to operations, policies, or practices, and confirmed no adjustments to the $10.2 trust/share, the 2027-12-05 redemption deadline, extension provisions, deal progress, or sponsor conduct. Why it matters: Although board composition shifted, the absence of a stated governance conflict or successor nominee leaves the search period mechanics and shareholder redemption windows unchanged. Chief executive officer Thomas Fontaine executed the report on December 18, 2025, and the embedded XBRL taxonomy reiterates that units consist of one Class A ordinary share and one-half of one redeemable warrant, whole warrants carry an $11.50 exercise price, and Class A shares carry a $0.0001 par value, confirming the capital structure remains unaltered.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
At-risk capital: $5.8M — 585,000 private placement units, bought at the IPO and worthless if the company liquidates. This is what the sponsor itself loses if no deal closes. per the prospectus (424B4 0001213900-25-118488)
Activate Energy Sponsors LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
Deal team — named in the prospectus
- BTIG, LLCLead-left
Read from this SPAC’s own prospectus; the arrow opens the filing. Firms link to their full mandate record.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
That was the figure at listing. It is $10.20 a share today — interest on the account, plus any sponsor payments made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out. Unit: U = S + W · 100.0% of the $10 unit
from 424B4 0001213900-25-118488
as of 10 September 2026
as of 4 September 2026
Trading & liquidity
Thin book — limit orders only; a position can be hard to exit outside a redemption window.
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Byer Brian KeithDirector
- MOORE PAUL DEREKDirector
- Fontaine Thomas JosephChief Executive Officer
- Wood David FainDirector
- Spittlehouse JasonDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
3 filers with a stake on file · 3 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Adage Capital Management, L.P.7.6% · SC 13GFeb 12, 2026 fresh
- KRYGER CAPITAL Ltd6.0% · SC 13GFeb 17, 2026 fresh
- GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP INC4.5% · SC 13G/AAug 11, 2026 fresh
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
38 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — AEAQ (Activate Energy Acquisition Corp.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/AEAQ
- Home - Activate Energy
company-site · activateenergy.us
Cash in trust over time
XBRL, per filingHow much cash has stood behind each share at each filing date.
Show the filed values
- 30 June 2026—
- 30 June 2026$10.20
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail5 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
ipoSizeM NULL->230: 23,000,000 units incl. 3,000,000 over-allotment units (acc 0001213900-25-119675)
sponsor "Activate Energy Sponsors LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (424B4) acc 0001213900-25-118488.
trust/share $10.2 from 10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088418 as of 2026-06-30
warrantStrike=11.5, warrantCallPrice=18, unitSeparationDays=52 from the definitive prospectus (0001213900-25-118488). NOT FILLED: rightShareRatio — no stated candidate
10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088418 states the date, and it equals 24 months from the IPO closing 2025-12-05 that the same report states. Extension mechanism: not stated in the cited filing.