GigCapital, Inc.
GIG · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from GigAcquisitions, LLC, listed on NYSE in December 2017.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Kaleyra, Inc., a global mobile messaging services company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Kaleyra, Inc.
- Industry
- Communication Services — global mobile messaging services
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 11 December 2017
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 17 STATE STREET, NEW YORK, NY, 10004
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Katz Avi S (Director) · MIKULSKY JOHN J (Director) · Hirsch Emilio (Director)
- Listed securities
- GIG common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 11 December 2017IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedCommunication Services
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsGIG is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
GigCapital, Inc. was a Delaware-incorporated blank-check company, also known as a special purpose acquisition company (SPAC), headquartered at 17 State Street, New York, NY, that completed its initial public offering on December 11, 2017. The company was sponsored by GigAcquisitions, LLC and led by Dr. Avi S. Katz, who served as Executive Chairman, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Secretary. The registration statement (SEC File No. 333-221581) was initially filed on Form S-1 on November 15, 2017, with the pricing prospectus filed under Rule 424B4 on December 11, 2017, and the company self-described as a blank-check issuer in that filing. The common stock traded on the NYSE under the ticker symbol GIG, with the ticker confirmed in an 8-K filing dated August 12, 2019. Each unit offered in the IPO included three-quarters of one warrant, with each whole warrant entitling the holder to purchase one share of common stock at an exercise price of $11.50 per share.
GigCapital completed a business combination with Kaleyra, a global Communications Platform as a Service (CPaaS) provider, and upon closing the registrant's name was changed to Kaleyra, Inc. Following the merger, the successor entity's common stock and warrants traded on the NYSE under the symbols KLR and KLR WS, respectively. The SPAC's lifecycle concluded when Form 25 was filed on October 5, 2023, under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3), evidencing that the original GigCapital securities had been exchanged for those of the successor entity. Kaleyra subsequently became part of Tata Communications following a 2023 acquisition, operating as an omnichannel and CPaaS platform handling over 60 billion interactions annually for enterprise clients globally.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
The $7.25 is equity consideration only: the filing states that all of the company's debt — approximately $157.4 million of net debt outstanding as of June 30, 2023 — becomes debt of the surviving corporation rather than being repaid out of the price. Completion needs holders of at least a majority of the outstanding shares voting in favour, so an abstention, a failure to vote or an uninstructed street-name holding each count as a vote against. Two directors and their affiliated entities, holding roughly 25% of the outstanding stock at the record date, have signed voting and support agreements.
The $7.25 is equity consideration only: all of the company's debt — approximately $153.5 million of net debt outstanding as of March 31, 2023 — becomes debt of the surviving corporation rather than being repaid out of the price. Completion needs holders of at least a majority of the outstanding shares voting in favour, so an abstention, a failure to vote or an uninstructed street-name holding each count as a vote against. Two directors and their affiliated entities, holding roughly 25% of the outstanding stock at the record date, have signed voting and support agreements with the buyer.
An NYSE Section 802.01C notice means the average closing price has fallen below the exchange's minimum, and GIG-legacy holders face delisting if the split is not approved and effected in time. The split changes no economics; it buys listing compliance. With no trust or redemption right remaining, the loss of an NYSE listing would be a real loss of liquidity rather than an administrative matter.
The registered stock is still the small part of an approximately $215 million purchase price: $195 million is cash and only $20 million is the 1,600,000 shares at $12.50. The cash depends on a financing several times the size of this registration — 8,400,000 PIPE shares at $12.50 and $200 million aggregate principal of 6.125% unsecured convertible notes, both subscribed February 18, 2021 and closing immediately before the merger. Holders of approximately 39.3% of Kaleyra's outstanding shares have signed support agreements, so further consents are still needed.
The stock is the small part of the deal: the total purchase price is approximately $215 million, of which $195 million is cash and only $20 million is the 1,600,000 shares at $12.50. The cash rests on a financing far larger than this registration — 8,400,000 PIPE shares at $12.50 and $200 million aggregate principal of 6.125% unsecured convertible notes, both subscribed February 18, 2021 and closing immediately before the merger. Holders of approximately 39.3% of Kaleyra's outstanding shares have signed support agreements, so further consents are still required.
Redemptions move the shape of the consideration, not just the cash left over. Assuming redemptions of less than 50% of the public shares and no adjustments, Esse Effe and Maya receive $15,000,000 in cash and up to $15,000,000 of notes, and the document states their combined cash-and-notes total is $15,000,000 — either component can fall to zero depending on redemptions. The Closing Stock Issuances range from at least 8,616,819 up to 10,181,819 shares on the same basis, with up to 4,292,272 further Earn-Out Shares tied to 2019 and 2020 revenue and adjusted EBITDA targets.
Show 6 more material filings
Redemptions drive the consideration directly. Closing Stock Issuances may be as many as 10,181,819 shares but will be at least 8,616,819, and the $15,000,000 payable to Esse Effe and Maya — split between cash and unsecured convertible promissory notes — can fall to no cash and no notes at all depending on how many public shares are redeemed. Up to 4,292,272 Earn-Out Shares turn on 2019 and 2020 pro forma revenue and adjusted EBITDA targets and are themselves subject to the redemption level. The meeting date is left blank in this preliminary version.
The combined Trust balance of approximately $143.8 million establishes the baseline cash available for redemption or acquisition, while the 15-month business combination deadline is locked for March 12, 2019. With no target identified and operations halted, the company must secure a definitive agreement before the deadline or face mandatory liquidation.
The updated trust balance and redemption share count directly adjust the per-share liquidation value and post-merger capital structure for shareholders. This disclosure confirms the final redemption liability and trust position following the closed business combination with Kaleyra, Inc.
Read the two filings on this closing together, because they do not agree on one term: the December 12 8-K says the private placement warrants are transfer-restricted until 30 days after the initial business combination, and this one says one year. That is the sponsor's lock-up and the two statements cannot both be right; the unit purchase agreements filed as exhibits to the December 12 report govern. Nothing else in the two accounts differs.
The founder economics are unusually explicit here. On effectiveness the founders forfeited and the company cancelled 718,750 founder shares, leaving the sponsor with 2,856,607, Cowen Investments 470,500, Silverberg 181,479 and Bernstein 20,164 — of which 379,464, 62,500, 24,108 and 2,678 respectively are still forfeitable if the over-allotment is not fully exercised. A further 65,000 shares were granted outright to officers and directors. Cowen is both an underwriter and a founder, through Cowen Investments.
The three-part unit — share, right and three-quarter warrant — is unusually generous to the buyer and unusually dilutive to the vehicle: the right converts at closing whatever the share price does, so one-tenth of a share per unit is dilution that does not depend on the warrant ever being in the money. The sponsor is GigAcquisitions, LLC, managed by Dr. Avi Katz's GigFounders, with Cowen Investments alongside; Cowen and Chardan ran the book. The stated focus is middle-market technology, media and telecommunications. No trust figure is given.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
GigAcquisitions, LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001193125-21-156235
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Katz Avi SDirector
- MIKULSKY JOHN JDirector
- Hirsch EmilioDirector
- EFFE PI Societa Semplice10% owner
- Esse Effe S.p.A.10% owner
- Lodrini MatteoDirector
- Miotto NeilDirector
- Dall'Aglio GiacomoSee Remarks
- Grauer GeoffreyExecutive Vice President
- Carobene MauroExecutive Vice President
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
15 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Westchester Capital Management, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule35.0% · SC 13GFeb 12, 2019 stale
- Esse Effe S.p.A.with 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule23.2% · SC 13D/AOct 10, 2023 stale
- Lighthouse Investment Partners, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule13.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 8, 2021 stale
- GEODE CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LPwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule9.8% · SC 13GFeb 13, 2020 stale
- GigAcquisitions, LLCwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule9.2% · SC 13D/ADec 11, 2020 stale
- NOMURA HOLDINGS INCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule5.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- AQR CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLCwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule3.7% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- Yakira Capital Management, Inc.with 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.1% · SC 13G/AAug 26, 2020 stale
- Lynrock Lake LPwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2024 stale
- Maya Investments Ltdwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13D/AOct 10, 2023 stale
- Weiss Asset Management LPwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 13, 2020 stale
- Karpus Management, Inc.0.0% · SC 13G/AAug 9, 2019 stale
- Polar Asset Management Partners Inc.0.0% · SC 13G/AJul 10, 2019 stale
- BOOTHBAY FUND MANAGEMENT, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2019 stale
- Must Asset Management Inc.with 3 other reporting persons on the same schedulenot stated · SC 13G/AFeb 7, 2023 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
- Kaleyra, Inc. Stockholders Approve Proposed Acquisition by Tata Communications Limited
PR Newswireundated by the source
- Tata Communications completes acquisition of Kaleyra, a leading global CPaaS platform player
PR Newswireundated by the source
- Tata Communications Readies Kaleyra AI: The Game Changing, AI-Powered Future of Customer Interactions
PR Newswireundated by the source
- GigCapital, Inc. Completes Acquisition of Global CPaaS Provider, Kaleyra S.p.A.
Nasdaqundated by the source
- Kaleyra Further Expands its Global Portfolio, Launching Kaleyra Video in the US
PR Newswireundated by the source
- Kaleyra, Inc. Stockholders Approve Proposed Acquisition by Tata Communications Limited
PR Newswireundated by the source
- Tata Communications completes acquisition of Kaleyra, a leading global CPaaS platform player
PR Newswireundated by the source
- Tata Communications Readies Kaleyra AI: The Game Changing, AI-Powered Future of Customer Interactions
PR Newswireundated by the source
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
34 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — GIG (GigCapital, Inc.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/GIG
- Vault deal note — Kaleyra, Inc. (GIG)
vault-note · /vault/deals/kaleyra-inc
- Kaleyra - 2026 Funding Rounds & List of Investors - Tracxn
news · tracxn.com
- Kaleyra Further Expands its Global Portfolio, Launching Kaleyra Video in the US
news · prnewswire.com
- Kaleyra Company Overview, Contact Details & Competitors | LeadIQ
news · leadiq.com
- Kaleyra - Wikipedia
news · en.wikipedia.org
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail5 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 7374 (Services-Computer Processing & Data Preparation). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2017-11-15 → 8-A12B 2017-12-06 → 424B4 2017-12-11 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 7374 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001193125-17-366286; 424B 0001193125-17-366286 priced 2017-12-11 under S-1 0001193125-17-344053 (file 333-221581, an offering for cash); common ticker GIG off 8-K 0001193125-19-219087 (2019-08-12); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-221581, which belongs to S-1 0001193125-17-344053 (2017-11-15) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2017-12-11). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per Form 25 0001143313-23-000084 (2023-10-05) — Form 25 filed under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3) — the rule for securities that "have come to evidence other securities in substitution therefor", i.e. the shares became the successor's (class: Common Stock). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "GigAcquisitions, LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K) acc 0001564590-18-030611.
"Kaleyra, Inc." is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "GigCapital, Inc." per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001193125-17-366286 filed 2017-12-11. §98
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001719489 records "GigCapital, Inc." ending 2019-11-25; the registrant continues as "Kaleyra, Inc.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2019-11-25. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] terminationFeeM=5 from primary filings (0001193125-23-215239).
OTHER confirmed, on S-4/A 0001193125-21-153280: "Vivial Networks, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Vivial, which also does business as mGage, is a leading global mobile messaging provider."