Energy Transition Spec Opp
ETSS · NYSE · Energy · formerly Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing required today
No redemption election is on file for this SPAC. A date appears here the day one is filed.
Not a redemption window — reaching it gives you no right to cash.
Cash per share
Held for each public share, as last filed on 30 Jun.
Last close
2.3% below cash vs estimated NAV
Daily close · 00:00
SpacBrain’s read
Floor not confirmed
No redemption window has closed — but no dated redemption election is on file for this name either, so we cannot show you a date to act by.
What we do have: no window has closed, and the deadline we compute for it runs to 18 November 2027 — our arithmetic off the IPO date and the charter term, not a date any filing we hold states. That deadline is not itself a window you can redeem into. The full chain of evidence is under Evidence.
Change on the last daily close-0.1% day
That is $0.16 below the $10.09 of cash held per share as last filed — though the right to claim that cash is not confirmed on file. Against our ESTIMATE of what the trust holds today — ~$10.17, the filed figure carried forward at the T-bill — the same price is 2.3% below the cash. That estimate is our arithmetic, not a filing.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A $150M SPAC from Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LP, listed on NYSE in May 2026.
- What it's doing now
- It is still looking: no purchase has been announced. No filing we hold states the date it has to agree one by; our own estimate, from the IPO date and the charter term, is 18 November 2027. After that date it must ask shareholders for more time, or give the money back and close.
- What you should know
- We have no filed date on which you could claim the cash back, so we cannot tell you a day to act by. That is a gap in the public record, not a statement that the right has gone.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Searching · next dated event 18 November 2027
- Outside date — not a date on which you can claim cash.
- Merging with
- No target announced — still searching.
- Industry
- Energy
- What it set out to buy: Energy
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash floor
- $9.93 vs $10.09
- $0.16 below the last filed cash held for you; 2.3% below cash against our estimated ~$10.17
- Cash left in trust
- $151.4M
- IPO
- 14 May 2026
- $150M raised · 100.5% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 71 ORCHARD PL, UNIT 1, GREENWICH, CT, 06830
- registered in the Cayman Islands
- Lead underwriter
- Cohen & Company Capital Markets
- Key officers
- Childs Andrew Peter (Chief Financial Officer) · Kreps Emily Starr (Director) · Julien Gary M (Director)
- Listed securities
- ETSS common · ETSS-UN unit $10.15 · ETSS common $9.93
As last filed, 30 June 2026.
source: XBRL companyfacts
Modelled, not filed: $10.09 filed 30 June 2026, compounded 72 days at the 3.95% 3-month T-bill (treasury.gov daily par yield curve). No tax drag, extension deposits or dissolution costs are modelled.
- vs last filed NAV
- 1.6%below cash
- $10.09, as of Jun 30, 2026
- vs estimated NAV today (our estimate)
- 2.3%below cash
- ~$10.17, accrued 72 days at 3.95%
Two denominators, one price. The filed figure is what a document says the trust held on its date; the estimate carries it forward at the T-bill for the days since, which is our arithmetic and not a filing.
A contractual long-stop for closing a deal. It is not a redemption window and gives you no right to cash. What an outside date is →
Yield to redemption
No dated redemption window on file — no yield to compute.
We hold no redemption election for this SPAC. The only dated event on file is the outside date on Nov 18, 2027, which pays a holder nothing — so no yield can be measured to it. An unsourced date would make the yield look filed when it is not.
What is protecting this price
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- No dated redemption election is on file for this name. That is an absence in the record, not proof that the right has gone — but it does mean this page cannot tell you a day to act by.
- Cash held in trust is $10.09 per share as last filed. That is the figure a redemption pays out at, plus whatever interest the trust earns between the filing and the window.
- The charter runs to a date no filing we hold states; from the IPO date and the charter term we estimate 18 November 2027. Whenever it falls, if no deal closes by then the trust is returned to holders — a floor of a different kind: it pays out, but you do not choose when, and this one you should read out of the prospectus yourself.
What has happened, and what is coming
2 dated milestonesEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 14 May 2026IPOpassed
$150M raised into trust
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsOne number for the shape of the bet: how much upside you are getting per unit of downside. It is arithmetic over filed fields, not a rating and not advice — and it is the same number this SPAC carries on the leaderboard, the screener and the deal list, because all four read one engine.
1.6% below the last filed trust — floor not confirmed — no redemption election on file
The blend is trust discount (40 points), deal stage (30), sponsor track record (18) and time to catalyst (12). Every input is a real sourced field; where one is missing, confidence drops rather than a number being invented.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Energy Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I is a Cayman Islands-incorporated blank-check company focused on the nuclear energy sector, formed to identify and consummate a business combination with a target in the energy transition space. The company is headquartered at 71 Orchard Place, Unit 1, Greenwich, Connecticut 06830, and its common shares trade on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker ETSS.
The company completed its initial public offering on May 14, 2026, raising $150 million. Units were offered with a trust amount of $10.05 per unit, as disclosed in the 424B4 prospectus. The trust holds $10.09 per public share. The sponsor, Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LP, purchased 5,750,000 Class B founder shares for $25,000 in July 2025, with 25,000 shares subsequently transferred to each of three independent director nominees. The sponsor and underwriters also committed to purchase an aggregate of 5,000,000 private placement warrants at $1.00 per warrant in a concurrent private placement, each exercisable for one Class A ordinary share at $11.50 per share. The company has 24 months from the closing of the IPO to complete its initial business combination.
Robert Zulkoski serves as Chief Executive Officer and Director, and Andy Childs serves as Chief Financial Officer. The registration statement (File No. 333-290458) was filed with the SEC, with Amendment No. 2 submitted on February 12, 2026. Legal counsel includes Greenberg Traurig LLP and Appleby (Cayman) Ltd., with Ropes & Gray LLP also representing the company. No business combination has been announced as of the most recent filings.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
This filing is critical for investors tracking the earliest possible redemption timeline and the health of the trust. The trust's per-share redemption value ($10.09) provides the baseline for future redemptions. The 18-month deadline from the IPO (May 18, 2026) is November 18, 2027, which is the most likely hard deadline for a deal unless the company seeks an extension with a shareholder vote. The forfeiture of the over-allotment shares and the relatively low cash balance of $747,253 indicate the Sponsor has limited working capital to sustain a long search. The filing is otherwise routine, establishing the baseline financial position for this newly-public SPAC.
Sets the trust value per share at $10.05 (not $10.09 as previously labeled; the filing states $10.05) and establishes the 18-month deadline of November 18, 2027 (subject to possible 24-month extension if a business combination agreement is signed within 18 months). The sponsor's forfeiture of over-allotment shares indicates alignment with public shareholders. Investors can now track the redemption mechanics and trust value from this first post-IPO filing.
Post-IPO unit separation unlocks independent trading for equity and derivatives, altering liquidity profiles and potential warrant exercise economics before a definitive merger agreement is finalized. For portfolio managers monitoring SPAC lifecycles, this filing confirms the successful closing of the public offering and establishes baseline mechanics for share/warrant handling during the search period. The rebranding away from 'Climate' toward 'Energy Transition' suggests management's strategic positioning for broader sector coverage, though the press release specifies targeting opportunities in climate transition, specialty finance, renewable energy, and regenerative agriculture sectors.
Because the SPAC’s governing vehicle, its investment manager, and its signatory have structured a joint regulatory submission, investors tracking sponsor alignment and insider aggregation can expect their combined equity positions to be reported through a single filing channel. The liability-separation language reflects a standard risk-allocation practice among affiliated entities preparing to publicly disclose accumulated stakes, indicating organized internal coordination rather than independent market activity. As a purely administrative exhibit lacking the primary Schedule 13D data schedules, the document does not trigger redemptions, alter the per-share trust value, advance the search phase, or affect the sponsor’s fiduciary timeline. Market participants awaiting concrete indicators of target validation, financing closings, or voting thresholds must await the accompanying Schedule 13D body or subsequent merger proxy filings.
The notes to financial statements detail operational and structural parameters governing the entity pre-deal. Management and the board confirmed through the financial disclosures that the Company will generate only non-operating interest income from trust proceeds until completing a transaction, while paying the sponsor up to $20,000 monthly for administrative services starting May 14, 2026. The audit reports indicate transaction costs totaled $9,598,172, leaving working capital of $795,515 outside the trust, though subsequent sponsor transfers of $789,714 settled operating accounts per Note 10. Strategic criteria published in the notes state that any target must possess an aggregate fair market value of at least 80% of the trust account excluding deferred commissions and taxes, and the post-combination entity must hold 50% or more of voting securities to avoid Investment Company Act registration, as determined by management. Personnel disclosures identify Robert Zulkoski as Chief Executive Officer, with three independent directors each holding 25,000 founder shares valued based on sponsor issuance metrics per Note 6. Additional capital-raising provisions allow related parties to lend up to $1,500,000 for transaction costs, convertible into units at $10.00 per unit upon a business combination closure, a mechanism noted by management as optional but structurally available to extend runway without drawing down trust assets. These provisions collectively define the liquidity ceiling, dilution vectors, and governance constraints that will govern all future negotiations and redemption calculations.
Establishes the trust value per share at $10.05, sets the deadline for a business combination at 18 months (Nov 18, 2027) with possible 6-month extension, and defines sponsor lock-ups and redemption mechanics; SPAC now searching for a target in climate transition, specialty finance, renewable energy, or regenerative agriculture.
Show 7 more material filings
This filing provides the definitive terms for investors evaluating the SPAC's trust per share ($10.05), redemption mechanics (including the 15% cap), deadline structure, sponsor economics (nominal cost of founder shares creating significant dilution risk), and warrant terms. The document also discloses management's track record, including past SPACs that liquidated or delisted, and details sponsor conflicts of interest. Investors can now assess the risk/reward of holding units, shares, or warrants.
This is the most recent pre-effective S-1 (Amendment 6), meaning the SEC review process is progressing. All core SPAC terms are unchanged and disclosed—$10.05 trust, 18-month deadline, founder shares at nominal cost, sponsor-led with controlled governance. The large volume of risk-factor detail (SEC Investment Company Act risk, PFIC, conflicts, warrants) signals a standard but complex blank-check structure. The filing is material for establishing baseline terms for any investor tracking this SPAC pre-IPO.
It establishes the trust and redemption architecture the SPAC will operate under: $150,750,000 of offering and private-placement proceeds, described as $10.05 per public share, will be deposited into a U.S. trust with Continental; public shareholders may redeem at the initial business combination at a per-share price equal to the trust account amount as of two business days before closing; there is no specified maximum redemption threshold, but a 15% per-shareholder redemption cap applies without prior consent in the shareholder-approval route; warrants have no redemption rights. The company must complete an initial business combination within 24 months of closing, may seek shareholder approval for extensions with redemption rights, and states it does not expect to extend beyond 36 months from closing. It also details sponsor economics and conflicts: sponsor paid $25,000 for 5,750,000 founder shares (approximately $0.004 per share), transferred 75,000 founder shares to independent directors, will buy 3,500,000 private placement warrants at $1.00 each, may receive up to $20,000 per month for administrative services, repayment of up to $300,000 of offering loans, and up to $1,500,000 of working capital loans convertible into warrants, while giving a limited trust indemnity. This filing is the foundational terms document and confirms the vehicle is still pre-transaction and searching.
This amendment brings the registration statement closer to effectiveness by incorporating SEC comments and providing the most current financial and structural information. The name change may indicate a refined investment focus. The updated financial statements reveal the limited working capital available post-offering ($1.275 million outside trust) and the going concern risk if the IPO fails. Investors can assess the final terms, lock‑up periods, redemption mechanics, and potential dilution, all of which are critical for evaluating whether to participate in the offering.
The filing provides the first audited financial statements for the SPAC, showing zero cash and a working capital deficit as of December 31, 2025, with substantial doubt about going concern unless the IPO proceeds. It details the IPO structure, including a $10.00 trust per share, sponsor compensation (founder shares at $0.004 per share, private placement warrants at $1.00), and redemption rights for public shareholders. The 24-month deadline to complete a business combination starts from the closing of the IPO. This filing is critical for investors evaluating the SPAC's financial condition, sponsor incentives, and the terms of the offering.
This filing provides the first detailed financial statements and full set of IPO documents for a new SPAC. It confirms the sponsor's nominal investment ($25,000 for 5.75M founder shares), the 24-month deadline to complete a business combination with possible extensions, and the redemption mechanics (public shareholders can redeem at trust value per share). The filing also details potential conflicts of interest, dilution, and the sponsor's compensation. The market opportunity and management team are described. No deal progress is reported.
Establishes a $150 million trust account ($10.00 per share), a 24-month deadline to consummate a business combination (with the ability to seek shareholder extensions, though not expected beyond 36 months), and standard redemption rights (with a 15% cap on redemptions without consent if a shareholder vote is held). The sponsor paid only $25,000 for 5.75 million founder shares ($0.004/share), creating a powerful incentive to complete a deal. Management has a mixed SPAC history: one completed deal (Clever Leaves, now trading at $0.0004), one liquidation (Schultze SPAC II at $10.57), and one still searching (Cartesian Growth Corp II). No target has been identified, and the filing contains extensive risk disclosures about sponsor conflicts, dilution, and the challenges of finding a suitable acquisition.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: A Schedule 13G Joint Filing Agreement (Exhibit 99.1) that consolidates a single beneficial ownership report on behalf of four affiliated reporting parties—Magnetar Financial LLC, Magnetar Capital Partners LP, Supernova Management LLC, and David J. Snyderman—pursuant to Rule 13d-1(k) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The filing establishes a joint reporting arrangement for a Statement dated June 30, 2026. Executed on August 13, 2026, via attorney-in-fact Hayley Stein, the document contains no amended share counts, ownership percentages, or transaction disclosures. It does not announce redemptions, trust account adjustments, extension proposals, merger target discoveries, or changes to sponsor conduct. Why it matters: This is a standard regulatory compliance instrument rather than a strategic disclosure. According to the Exhibit, the named Magnetar-affiliated entities and Mr. Snyderman have simply agreed that a single Schedule 13G filing satisfies their individual obligations, with any future amendments requiring joint signatures. Because the agreement dictates only administrative filing logistics, it provides no actionable intelligence regarding cash preservation, shareholder exit windows, or deal progression. Until the filers submit an amended Schedule 13G or 13D reflecting actual position changes, this document carries no mechanical weight on the SPAC’s operational trajectory.
What changed: A Joint Filing Agreement (Exhibit 99.1) attached to a Schedule 13G, executed on August 12, 2026, by Adage Capital Management, L.P., Robert Atchinson, and Phillip Gross, establishing coordinated filing obligations under Rule 13d-1(k) and assigning individual responsibility for the completeness and accuracy of each signatory’s portion of the beneficial ownership disclosure. The text provides no beneficial ownership percentages, share quantities, acquisition dates, prices paid, or triggering events. It does not modify trust value, extend the redemption/decombination deadline, identify a target, advance merger negotiations, or reflect sponsor conduct shifts. The only figures present in the filing excerpt are the exhibit designation (EX-99.1), the document sequence identifier (p15027534-exh99_1.htm), the SEC access number (0000919574-26-004990), and the execution date (August 12, 2026). Why it matters: For investors tracking redemption pressure, trust maintenance, extension mechanics, and deal progress, this submission confirms institutional retention but supplies zero operational transparency. Because the mandatory Schedule 13G cover pages—where the SEC mandates exact percentages owned, total shares beneficially owned, and sole/voting/shared power allocations—are missing, shareholders cannot determine whether the position represents cash-settled exposure, signals intent to support a future extension vote, or precedes a public target announcement. Until the operative ownership data appears, the agreement remains administratively inert regarding liquidation timelines, merger valuation, or sponsor accountability.
What changed: Routine compliance exhibit attached to a Schedule 13G — specifically, bilateral Powers of Attorney executed by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC authorizing designated employees to execute and deliver SEC beneficial ownership filings under Rule 13f-1 or Regulation 13D-G. The document updates the internal authorization protocol for Goldman Sachs’ regulatory submissions. As stated by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC, the Powers of Attorney expressly supersede prior instruments dated July 16, 2025, remain in full force until July 8, 2027 and July 2, 2027 respectively, and appoint seventeen current employees acting individually as lawful attorneys-in-fact to sign filings on the firms' behalf. The text discloses no transaction history, share quantities, ownership percentages, or pricing data related to ETSS. Why it matters: For investors tracking redemption windows, trust distribution schedules, extension votes, target acquisition timelines, or sponsor conduct, this filing dictates no mechanical shift. According to the executing companies, the document’s sole purpose is to delegate signing authority for routine SEC disclosure delivery. Because neither The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. nor Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC attaches schedule narratives, amendment notices, proxy materials, or redemption threshold reports for ETSS, no changes to the November 18, 2027 liquidation deadline, capital account balances, merger negotiation status, or sponsor governance practices are recorded here. Standard procedural housekeeping carries zero operational implication for the SPAC's lifecycle or investor liquidity events.
What changed: A Form 10-Q (Quarterly Report) filed by Energy Transition Special Opportunities, a blank-check SPAC, for the period ended June 30, 2026. This is the company's first periodic report after its IPO. This filing covers the period from inception through the June 30, 2026 quarterly period. It documents the SPAC's formation, its IPO that closed on May 18, 2026 (selling 15 million units at $10.00 for gross proceeds of $150 million), the simultaneous private placement of 5.375 million warrants for $5.375 million, and the mechanics of the trust account. The trust held $151,378,525 as of June 30, 2026, with a per-share redemption value of $10.09. The company's deadline to complete a business combination is 18 months (Nov. 2027) or 24 months if a deal is signed within 18 months. The filing shows the Sponsor forfeited 750,000 founder shares because the underwriters' over-allotment option was not exercised. The company had $747,253 in cash outside the trust and working capital of $694,679 as of June 30, 2026. No business combination agreement has been announced; the company is in the searching phase. Why it matters: This filing is critical for investors tracking the earliest possible redemption timeline and the health of the trust. The trust's per-share redemption value ($10.09) provides the baseline for future redemptions. The 18-month deadline from the IPO (May 18, 2026) is November 18, 2027, which is the most likely hard deadline for a deal unless the company seeks an extension with a shareholder vote. The forfeiture of the over-allotment shares and the relatively low cash balance of $747,253 indicate the Sponsor has limited working capital to sustain a long search. The filing is otherwise routine, establishing the baseline financial position for this newly-public SPAC.
trust accountnothing moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- not previously extracted$151.4M
The clause “Deferred offering costs 326,110 Prepaid insurance long term 127,975 Investments held in Trust Account 151,378,525 Total Assets $ 152,418,322 $ 326,110 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption, and Shareholders”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: 10-Q (Quarterly Report) for a blank check company (SPAC) that completed its IPO on May 18, 2026, covering the pre-IPO period ended March 31, 2026, with subsequent events detailing the IPO closing. The SPAC consummated its IPO of 15,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, raising $150,000,000; simultaneously closed a private placement of 5,375,000 warrants at $1.00 each, generating $5,375,000; net proceeds of $150,750,000 deposited into trust ($10.05 per Public Share). Underwriters forfeited their over-allotment option, triggering forfeiture of 750,000 Class B founder shares, leaving Sponsor with 4,925,000 founder shares and each of three independent directors with 25,000. No Class A shares or warrants were outstanding as of March 31, 2026. The company had no cash and a working capital deficit of $451,603 pre-IPO. No business combination has been identified or announced. Why it matters: Sets the trust value per share at $10.05 (not $10.09 as previously labeled; the filing states $10.05) and establishes the 18-month deadline of November 18, 2027 (subject to possible 24-month extension if a business combination agreement is signed within 18 months). The sponsor's forfeiture of over-allotment shares indicates alignment with public shareholders. Investors can now track the redemption mechanics and trust value from this first post-IPO filing.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: A Form 8-K current report and accompanying Exhibit 99.1 press release. The registrant announced via its press release that, commencing June 4, 2026, holders of the units sold in the initial public offering may elect to separately trade the underlying Class A ordinary shares and warrants. Separated shares and warrants will trade under symbols 'ETSS' and 'ETSS WS', while intact units remain 'ETSS U'. According to the filing, each unit contains one Class A ordinary share and one-half of one redeemable warrant exercisable at $11.50 per share. The press release further notes the company's registration statement became effective on May 14, 2026, and identifies a prior corporate name change from 'Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I' to its current name on September 15, 2025. No changes are reported to the trust account balance, shareholder redemption mechanics, business combination targets, or the termination deadline. Why it matters: Post-IPO unit separation unlocks independent trading for equity and derivatives, altering liquidity profiles and potential warrant exercise economics before a definitive merger agreement is finalized. For portfolio managers monitoring SPAC lifecycles, this filing confirms the successful closing of the public offering and establishes baseline mechanics for share/warrant handling during the search period. The rebranding away from 'Climate' toward 'Energy Transition' suggests management's strategic positioning for broader sector coverage, though the press release specifies targeting opportunities in climate transition, specialty finance, renewable energy, and regenerative agriculture sectors.
What changed: A Joint Filing Agreement (Exhibit 99.1) executed to satisfy the grouping requirements of Rule 13d-1(k) for a consolidated Schedule 13D beneficial ownership statement covering Energy Transition Special Opportunities ordinary shares. According to the agreement dated May 26, 2026, the reporting entities—Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I GP LLC (general partner), Pangaea Investments, LLC (sole member), and Robert Zulkoski (Authorized Signatory)—agree to submit a single Schedule 13D on their collective behalf. The filers specify that each party assumes responsibility solely for the accuracy and completeness of information concerning its own holdings, while explicitly disclaiming liability for the others’ disclosed data. The document reports zero adjustments to redemption windows, trust distributions, extension approvals, merger negotiations, or target acquisition progress. No share counts, acquisition prices, or ownership percentages are included. Why it matters: Because the SPAC’s governing vehicle, its investment manager, and its signatory have structured a joint regulatory submission, investors tracking sponsor alignment and insider aggregation can expect their combined equity positions to be reported through a single filing channel. The liability-separation language reflects a standard risk-allocation practice among affiliated entities preparing to publicly disclose accumulated stakes, indicating organized internal coordination rather than independent market activity. As a purely administrative exhibit lacking the primary Schedule 13D data schedules, the document does not trigger redemptions, alter the per-share trust value, advance the search phase, or affect the sponsor’s fiduciary timeline. Market participants awaiting concrete indicators of target validation, financing closings, or voting thresholds must await the accompanying Schedule 13D body or subsequent merger proxy filings.
What changed: A Current Report on Form 8-K confirming the consummation of Energy Transition Special Opportunities’ Initial Public Offering and concurrent private placement, accompanied by an audited balance sheet and comprehensive notes to financial statements. Per Item 8.01 and the accompanying audited balance sheet, the Company consummated its IPO on May 18, 2026, selling 15,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit for $150,000,000 in gross proceeds, alongside a private placement of 5,375,000 warrants to sponsor Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LP and underwriter Cohen & Company Capital Markets for $5,375,000. According to the filing, $150,750,000 ($10.05 per unit) was deposited into a U.S. trust account administered by Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company. The notes state that public shareholders may redeem shares at a pro rata portion of the trust account balance, initially anticipated to be $10.05 per share plus net interest, with management specifying no maximum redemption threshold. Sponsor liability agreements documented in Note 1 protect the trust corpus unless diminished by third-party claims below the lesser of $10.05 per share or the actual per-share trust value. The Company has 18 months from closing to execute a business combination—extending to 24 months if an agreement is signed within the initial window—and the charter requires shareholder approval for any extension, preserving redemption rights throughout. The underwriters forfeited their 45-day option for up to 2,250,000 units on May 18, 2026, triggering the surrender of 750,000 Class B founder shares by the sponsor. Furthermore, Cohen & Company waived its right to the $6,000,000 deferred underwriting commission in the event of an unsuccessful business combination, redirecting those funds back to the trust for public redemption, per the underwriting agreement terms disclosed in the filing. Why it matters: The notes to financial statements detail operational and structural parameters governing the entity pre-deal. Management and the board confirmed through the financial disclosures that the Company will generate only non-operating interest income from trust proceeds until completing a transaction, while paying the sponsor up to $20,000 monthly for administrative services starting May 14, 2026. The audit reports indicate transaction costs totaled $9,598,172, leaving working capital of $795,515 outside the trust, though subsequent sponsor transfers of $789,714 settled operating accounts per Note 10. Strategic criteria published in the notes state that any target must possess an aggregate fair market value of at least 80% of the trust account excluding deferred commissions and taxes, and the post-combination entity must hold 50% or more of voting securities to avoid Investment Company Act registration, as determined by management. Personnel disclosures identify Robert Zulkoski as Chief Executive Officer, with three independent directors each holding 25,000 founder shares valued based on sponsor issuance metrics per Note 6. Additional capital-raising provisions allow related parties to lend up to $1,500,000 for transaction costs, convertible into units at $10.00 per unit upon a business combination closure, a mechanism noted by management as optional but structurally available to extend runway without drawing down trust assets. These provisions collectively define the liquidity ceiling, dilution vectors, and governance constraints that will govern all future negotiations and redemption calculations.
What changed: Form 4 — insider ownership report referenced under SEC number 0001213900-26-059790 and filed on 2026-05-20 for Energy Transition Special Opportunities. The filing declares that reporting persons Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LP and Director and Chief Executive Officer Robert Joseph Zulkoski, each designated as 10% owners, have no non-derivative transactions or holdings changes to report, leaving sponsor equity positions and capital deployment mechanics unaltered. Why it matters: For investors tracking the stated 2027-11-18 redemption deadline and the reported $10.09 trust/share value, this routine compliance exhibit delivers no new strategic direction, partnership announcements, litigation updates, or personnel shifts beyond the filer’s own confirmation of standard SEC reporting adherence. Because the document reports zero insider movement, it offers no early signal on extension timelines, target identification velocity, or sponsor liquidity events, though it does confirm uninterrupted 10% ownership for both named entities exactly as declared by the filer.
What changed: Form 8-K reporting the closing of the initial public offering of a blank check company (SPAC) and related agreements. ETSS completed its IPO of 15,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, generating $150,000,000 gross proceeds; $150,750,000 deposited in trust ($10.05 per unit); 5,375,000 private placement warrants sold for $5,375,000; appointed three directors; adopted amended charter; entered into standard SPAC agreements. Why it matters: Establishes the trust value per share at $10.05, sets the deadline for a business combination at 18 months (Nov 18, 2027) with possible 6-month extension, and defines sponsor lock-ups and redemption mechanics; SPAC now searching for a target in climate transition, specialty finance, renewable energy, or regenerative agriculture.
What changed: Initial public offering prospectus for Energy Transition Special Opportunities (ETSS), a blank check company (SPAC) seeking targets in climate transition, specialty finance, renewable energy, and regenerative agriculture. This is the initial prospectus for the SPAC's IPO; no prior public filings exist for comparison. It establishes all offering terms: 15,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, each consisting of one Class A ordinary share and one-half of one redeemable warrant. Trust account funded at $10.05 per unit ($150,750,000 aggregate). Deadline to complete a business combination is 18 months (or 24 months if a definitive agreement is signed within 18 months), with possible extensions up to 36 months via shareholder vote. Public shareholders may redeem shares for cash at the trust value (initially $10.05) regardless of vote, subject to a 15% per-group cap without consent. Sponsor purchased 5,750,000 founder shares for $25,000 ($0.004 per share, subject to forfeiture of up to 750,000 shares depending on overallotment). Sponsor also committed to purchase 3,500,000 private placement warrants at $1.00 each; underwriters committed to 1,875,000 private placement warrants. Warrants exercisable at $11.50 per share, becoming exercisable 30 days after a business combination and expiring five years thereafter. Founder shares have anti-dilution protection converting at 25% of outstanding shares post-combination. Underwriters receive $0.60 per unit in total compensation ($0.20 cash upfront, $0.125 used to purchase private placement warrants, and $0.40 deferred until completion). Why it matters: This filing provides the definitive terms for investors evaluating the SPAC's trust per share ($10.05), redemption mechanics (including the 15% cap), deadline structure, sponsor economics (nominal cost of founder shares creating significant dilution risk), and warrant terms. The document also discloses management's track record, including past SPACs that liquidated or delisted, and details sponsor conflicts of interest. Investors can now assess the risk/reward of holding units, shares, or warrants.
What changed: A Form 3 insider ownership report, categorized as a routine compliance exhibit required under Section 16(a) to disclose initial or updated beneficial equity positions held by corporate insiders. The filing attributes to Reporting Person Andrew Peter Childs, identified in the text solely as Chief Financial Officer, a direct statement that 'No non-derivative transactions or holdings reported.' There is no documented change to insider equity, nor does the text reference trust valuation, redemption timelines, extension proceedings, merger pipeline status, or sponsor governance adjustments. Why it matters: For investors tracking redemption calendars and trust accounting, a compliant yet substantively empty Form 3 confirms administrative registration without signaling executive liquidity events, pre-deal positioning, or trust distribution triggers. The explicit absence of reported transactions means the filing delivers zero forward-looking data on business combination progress or capital allocation, leaving the search-phase operational baseline unchanged. In SPAC monitoring workflows, such disclosures function as procedural markers rather than structural catalysts, offering no actionable insight for timing extensions, assessing sponsor alignment, or evaluating counterpart exposure beyond verifying current officer identity.
What changed: A routine compliance exhibit: SEC Form 3 — insider ownership report. Director Emily Starr Kreps recorded zero non-derivative transactions or changes in beneficial ownership. Redemption calendars, trust per-share value mechanics, extension voting schedules, merger search progress, and sponsor conduct records remain entirely unaffected. Why it matters: Form 3 filings serve as mandatory governance checkpoints that log whether corporate insiders have adjusted equity positions. By explicitly confirming that no shares were acquired, liquidated, or converted, the issuer Energy Transition Special Opportunities establishes a static director holding baseline. For investors tracking capital return windows or deal momentum, this neutral compliance marker carries no signaling weight regarding target quality, valuation expectations, or execution probability. The filing introduces no claims regarding customer relationships, revenue projections, addressable market sizing, proprietary technology, commercial partnerships, pending litigation, or executive personnel changes. Consequently, there are no adjustments to redemption thresholds, trust distribution timelines, or extension triggers, and the investor calculus remains dependent on future prospectus supplements or preliminary proxy materials.
What changed: SEC Form 3 insider ownership report documenting initial equity positions for director Julien Gary M in Energy Transition Special Opportunities. Per the filing dated 2026-05-14 (Index No. 0001213900-26-056996), the registrant declares that "No non-derivative transactions or holdings reported." There is consequently no alteration to the 2027-11-18 liquidation deadline, the $10.09 trust per share, the SEARCHING-phase trajectory, target acquisition progress, or sponsor conduct. Director Julien Gary M’s securities baseline remains static. Why it matters: For investors tracking redemption mechanics and capital allocation, this declaration provides a verifiable governance checkpoint confirming no directional shifts by a named director ahead of the two-year deadline. The explicit zero-reporting reduces short-term dilution speculation, maintains structural neutrality for upcoming extension votes or combination announcements, and establishes a clean audit trail for subsequent Form 4/5 disclosures without introducing new contractual or financing terms.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
At-risk capital: $3.5M — 3,500,000 private placement warrants, bought at the IPO and worthless if the company liquidates. This is what the sponsor itself loses if no deal closes. per the prospectus (424B4 0001213900-26-057807)
Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LPnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
Deal team — named in the prospectus
- Cohen & Company Capital MarketsLead-left
Read from this SPAC’s own prospectus; the arrow opens the filing. Firms link to their full mandate record.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B4 0001213900-26-057807
as of 3 September 2026
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Childs Andrew PeterChief Financial Officer
- Kreps Emily StarrDirector
- Julien Gary MDirector
- ZULKOSKI ROBERT JOSEPHChief Executive Officer
- Andy ChildsExecutive Officer
- Schwartz SherylDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
4 filers with a stake on file · 4 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Adage Capital Management, L.P.9.0% · SC 13GAug 12, 2026 fresh
- Magnetar Financial LLC8.3% · SC 13GAug 13, 2026 fresh
- GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP INC5.6% · SC 13GAug 10, 2026 fresh
- Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LPnot stated · SC 13DMay 26, 2026 fresh
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
39 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — ETSS (Energy Transition Spec Opp)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/ETSS
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail6 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
Deadline DERIVED = ipoDate + 24mo (s1Terms.deadlineMonths); not proxy-verified. Extension options per charter may apply.
sponsor "Climate Transition Special Opportunities SPAC I LP" (SEC CIK 0002106000) sourced from Form 3 reportingOwner (10% owner) acc 0001213900-26-056987.
2028-05-14 -> 2027-11-18 per acc 0001213900-26-059124; s1Terms.deadlineMonths 24 -> 18
warrantStrike=11.5, warrantCallPrice=18, unitSeparationDays=52 from the definitive prospectus (0001213900-26-057807). NOT FILLED: rightShareRatio — no stated candidate
8-K acc 0001213900-26-059124 states the date, and it equals 18 months from the IPO closing 2026-05-18 that the same report states. Extension mechanism: shareholder-vote, from the filings: "For the avoidance of doubt, the time to complete a Business Combination shall not be extended beyond 18 months (or 24 months, as applicable) without a shareholder vote." Spac.deadline currently reads 2028-05-13 — not changed by this job.