CITIC Capital Acquisition Corp.
CCAC · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC, listed on NYSE in February 2020.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Quanergy Systems, Inc., a LiDAR sensors and perception solutions company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Quanergy Systems, Inc. — Systems, Inc.
- Industry
- Information Technology — LiDAR sensors and perception solutions
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 12 February 2020
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 433 LAKESIDE DRIVE, SUNNYVALE, CA, 94085
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Hassanein Tamer (Director) · DiSanto Jim (Director) · Hammond Matthew C.P. (Director)
- Listed securities
- CCAC common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 12 February 2020IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedInformation Technology
What Quanergy Systems, Inc. does — read from quanergy.com on 26 August 2026
Quanergy Solutions, Inc. provides 3D LiDAR solutions and physical AI sensing layers to transform motion into intelligence for security, crowd management, and industrial automation. Their products include Q-TRACK, Q-VISION, Q-SHIELD, Q-INSIGHTS, and M-Series sensors, serving sectors such as airports, transportation hubs, retail, and critical infrastructure.
SecurityCrowd ManagementIndustrial AutomationAirports & AviationTransportation HubsRetail & ConcessionsDeal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A- PIPE
- ≈ $40M · unsourced
PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.
stated in:0001193125-21-217387
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsCCAC is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
CITIC Capital Acquisition Corp. was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker CCAC. The company priced its initial public offering on February 12, 2020, under SEC file number 333-236006, with shares registered for cash in an S-1 filing dated January 22, 2020. The registrant self-described as a blank-check company in its 424B4 prospectus, and its SEC SIC industry code was 3714, covering motor vehicle parts and accessories. The vehicle completed a business combination and no longer files, with its change in shell company status reported in an 8-K filed on February 14, 2022. EDGAR now lists this CIK under the name Quanergy Systems, Inc.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
The 34,500,000 shares and the 21,320,000 warrants are CCAC's own IPO securities converting by operation of law in the Domestication, not consideration for anything. The merger line is the 99,315,075, built as 72,160,025 shares issued in the Merger plus 1,024,365 Quanergy option shares outstanding as of September 30, 2021 multiplied by an exchange ratio of 3.9501. The $9.89 is CCAC's own average of high and low prices on the NYSE on July 15, 2021, a date chosen within five business days of the registration statement's first filing and nearly six months before this amendment.
The table registers $1,344,964,291.75 for a fee of $146,735.60 across 34,500,000 shares of common stock and 21,320,000 redeemable warrants at $1.01 — CCAC's own IPO securities converting in the Domestication — plus 99,315,075 shares at $9.89 for the Merger. Because the registered amount does not differ between the two amendments filed that day, what moved is the disclosure and not the size of the offering, and only the later of the two should be read as the current version.
The first two lines are CCAC's own IPO securities converting by operation of law in the Domestication — the public shares and public warrants registered under the earlier Form S-1 — and only the third line is merger consideration: 72,160,025 shares to be issued in the Merger plus shares for 1,024,365 Quanergy options outstanding as of September 30, 2021 under the Merger Agreement as amended on June 28, 2021. Both prices are July 15, 2021 high-low averages on the NYSE, a date the filing describes as within five business days of when this registration statement was first filed.
The Aggregate Merger Consideration is 97,000,000 shares of Quanergy PubCo common stock at a deemed value of $10.00 per share, which the filing states as a fully diluted pre-transaction equity value for Quanergy of $970 million. The PIPE is small against that: 4,000,000 shares at $10.00, an aggregate commitment of up to $40 million. Closing needs at least $175,000,000 of cash in the trust account following the extraordinary general meeting and net tangible assets of no less than $5,000,001. CCAC's public shares closed at $9.99 on the NYSE on December 10, 2021.
Only the third line is new consideration: footnote (7) builds it from 72,464,004 shares to be issued in the Merger plus shares for 1,043,510 Quanergy options outstanding as of July 15, 2021 under the Merger Agreement as amended June 28, 2021. The first two lines are the SPAC's own IPO shares and warrants converting by operation of law in the Domestication, so the total aggregate offering price is not deal size. The $9.89 price is the average of the high and low prices of CCAC Class A shares on the NYSE on July 15, 2021, under Rule 457(f)(1).
Two amendments in, nothing in the fee table has moved — the same 99,406,130 merger shares against 34,500,000 public shares that merely convert, the same 21,320,000 warrants, the same $9.89 and $1.01 prices and the same $146,833.85 fee on a $1,345,864,825.70 aggregate. Whatever these amendments revise lies in the body of the proxy statement/prospectus rather than in the amount being registered or in the shape of the dilution a holder faces.
Show 2 more material filings
The registered amounts have not moved, so the shape of the dilution is settled: 99,406,130 shares issued in the merger against 34,500,000 public shares that merely convert by operation of law. The warrants remain large beside the shares at 21,320,000, priced at $1.01 against $9.89 for the stock — both market averages used only to compute the $146,833.85 total fee on a $1,345,864,825.70 aggregate offering price.
The merger issuance of 99,406,130 shares is nearly three times the 34,500,000 public shares that merely convert by operation of law in the domestication, so a non-redeeming CCAC holder ends up a minority. The warrant count is large beside the share count — 21,320,000 warrants against 34,500,000 shares — and the warrants are priced at $1.01 while the shares are priced at $9.89, both market averages used only to compute the $1,345,864,825.70 aggregate and the $146,833.85 fee.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
No sponsor entity is named in the filings parsed for this SPAC so far.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001193125-23-284274
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Hassanein TamerDirector
- DiSanto JimDirector
- Hammond Matthew C.P.Director
- ROHRS THOMAS MDirector
- Francis Karen CDirector
- Sundberg Lori SCHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
15 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Rising Tide V, LLC27.1% · SC 13DFeb 18, 2022 stale
- CITIC Capital Acquisition LLC17.4% · SC 13GFeb 16, 2021 stale
- GEM Global Yield LLC SCSwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule8.1% · SC 13G/ANov 15, 2022 stale
- CVI Investments, Inc.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule4.9% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- PERISCOPE CAPITAL INC.3.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
- Sensata Technologies Holding plc2.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2023 stale
- Hassanein Tamer2.0% · SC 13D/ANov 23, 2022 stale
- RP Investment Advisors LPwith 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule1.4% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- Hudson Bay Capital Management LPwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule1.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 4, 2022 stale
- MARSHALL WACE, LLP0.7% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2022 stale
- INTEGRATED CORE STRATEGIES (US) LLCwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 13, 2023 stale
- GLAZER CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- Weiss Asset Management LPwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AJan 30, 2023 stale
- Feis Lawrence Michaelwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 9, 2022 stale
- SABBY MANAGEMENT, LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedulenot stated · SC 13GJan 4, 2023 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
- Quanergy Systems Announces Closing of Business Combination
Business Wireundated by the source
- Quanergy Systems - Crunchbase Company Profile & Funding
crunchbase.comundated by the source
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
34 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — CCAC (CITIC Capital Acquisition Corp.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/CCAC
- Vault deal note — Quanergy Systems, Inc. (CCAC)
vault-note · /vault/deals/quanergy-systems-inc
- 3D LiDAR Security Solutions for Your Business - Quanergy Solutions Inc
company-site · quanergy.com
- 3D LiDAR: The Sensing Layer Powering Physical AI | Quanergy
company-site · quanergy.com
- 3D Spatial Intelligence for Enhanced Operational Flow - Quanergy Solutions Inc
company-site · quanergy.com
- LiDAR Perimeter Security: Enhancing Safety Measures - Quanergy Solutions Inc
company-site · quanergy.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail4 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 3714 (Motor Vehicle Parts & Accessories). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2020-01-22 → 8-A12B 2020-02-07 → 424B4 2020-02-12 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 3714 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001193125-20-033225; 424B 0001193125-20-033225 priced 2020-02-12 under S-1 0001193125-20-011778 (file 333-236006, an offering for cash); common ticker CCAC off 10-Q 0001193125-21-330102 (2021-11-15); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-236006, which belongs to S-1 0001193125-20-011778 (2020-01-22) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2020-02-12). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001193125-22-039201 (2022-02-14) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,4.01,5.01,5.02,5.06,9.01). EDGAR now files this CIK as "Quanergy Systems, Inc." — the SPAC's own name is kept here and the successor is the target. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001794621 records "CITIC Capital Acquisition Corp." ending 2022-02-11; the registrant continues as "Quanergy Systems, Inc.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2022-02-11. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=40 from primary filings (0001193125-21-217387).
pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow
OTHER confirmed, on S-4/A 0001193125-22-000300: "Quanergy operates in an industry in which it is difficult to obtain precise industry and market information."