Medicus Sciences Acquisition Corp.
MSAC · Nasdaq
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The cash went back to shareholders and the company wound up. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
The last figure filed while this was still a SPAC.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from Medicus Sciences Holdings LLC, listed on Nasdaq in February 2021. Each unit put $10.00 into the shareholders' cash account at listing; by the end it held $10.18 a share — interest earned on the account, plus any payments the sponsor made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out.
- What it's doing now
- It never completed a purchase. The company wound up and the cash in the account went back to shareholders — the ordinary ending when a SPAC runs out of time. No agreed deal for it is on file with us, so we cannot say whether one was ever announced and later fell through.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The cash was paid back to shareholders and the company wound up, so there is nothing left to claim — the money went where the charter said it would.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Liquidated
- Deal
- none — it wound up and returned the cash instead
- Industry
- no filing we hold states a sector this SPAC restricted its search to
- Deal value
- no deal to value — it wound up instead
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 17 February 2021
- size not on file · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 152 WEST 57TH STREET, FLOOR 20, NEW YORK, NY, 10019
- registered in the Cayman Islands
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Drillick Judah (Chief Financial Officer) · Cheng Eric (Chief Business Officer) · Levine Ross (Director)
- Listed securities
- MSAC common
As last filed, 13 February 2023. That was the account's last filed value before it was settled — the company does not hold it now.
source: 8-K acc 0001104659-23-018919
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
- $10.18 a share is the last cash figure filed while this was still a SPAC. It is a record of what the account held, not money anyone can ask for now.
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 17 February 2021IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsMSAC is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Medicus Sciences Acquisition Corp. was a blank-check company listed on the Nasdaq Stock Market under the ticker MSAC. It priced its initial public offering on February 17, 2021, as stated in a 424B prospectus. The company subsequently liquidated, filing an 8-K on February 13, 2023, that announced the redemption of all outstanding public shares at a per-share price of approximately $10.18. As of the close of business on February 21, 2023, the public shares were deemed cancelled and the trust cash was returned to shareholders.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
The unit is unusual and matters for dilution: one Class A share, one-ninth of a redeemable warrant, and a contingent right to receive at least two-ninths of a further warrant, so the warrant count is not fixed at issue. Substantial doubt here is about the pre-IPO shell and is resolved by the February 2021 float and a sponsor note of up to $300,000, not by trading. Deadline 18 February 2023, 24 months from closing, recorded as stated. The trust figure describes the post-IPO position, not the balance-sheet date.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
- What changed vs 2022-08-11trust $92.1M → $92.4M +0%
trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $92.1M$92.4M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-02-18 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 9.20M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $305,878 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause “118 Total current assets 1,045,207 1,580,004 Investments held in Trust Account 92,386,645 92,008,585 Derivative asset - forward purchase agreement — 35,840 Total Assets $ 93,431,852 $ 93,624,429”…
The clause …“there can be no assurance that the Company will be able to consummate any Business Combination by February 18, 2023. Note 2 — Significant Accounting Policies Basis of Presentation The accompanying unaudited condensed financial”…
The clause …“Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution, raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause “200,000,000 shares authorized; 92,000 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 9,200,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021 9 9 Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2022-05-12trust $92.0M → $92.1M +0%
trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $92.0M$92.1M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-02-18 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 9.20M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $70,608 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause “118 Total current assets 1,185,348 1,580,004 Investments held in Trust Account 92,080,767 92,008,585 Derivative asset - forward purchase agreement 127,200 35,840 Total Assets $ 93,393,315 $”…
The clause …“there can be no assurance that the Company will be able to consummate any business combination by February 18, 2023. Note 2 — Significant Accounting Policies Basis of Presentation The accompanying unaudited condensed financial”…
The clause …“business combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution, raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause “200,000,000 shares authorized; 92,000 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 9,200,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021 9 9 Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000 shares”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-11-04trust $92.0M → $92.0M +0%going concern APPEARED
trust account, going-concern doubt, combination deadline +12 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $92.0M$92.0M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Combination deadline
- not previously extracted2023-02-18
- Redeemable shares
- 9.20M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $3,113 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause “118 Total current assets 1,468,985 1,580,004 Investments held in Trust Account 92,010,159 92,008,585 Derivative asset - forward purchase agreement 53,440 35,840 Total Assets $ 93,532,584 $”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“business combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution, raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause …“there can be no assurance that the Company will be able to consummate any business combination by February 18, 2023. Note 2 — Significant Accounting Policies Basis of Presentation The accompanying unaudited condensed financial”…
The clause “200,000,000 shares authorized; 92,000 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 9,200,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021 9 9 Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-03-31trust $92.0M → $92.0M +0%
trust account, redeemable shares, combination deadline +21 moved · 4 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $92.0M$92.0M
- Redeemable shares
- not previously extracted9.20M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-02-18 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $300K · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $8,585 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“ 1,580,004 2,000 Deferred offering costs — 127,186 Investments held in Trust Account 92,008,585 — Derivative asset - forward purchase agreement 35,840 — Total Assets $ 93,624,429 $ 129,186 ”…
The clause …“and subject to the occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, 9,200,000 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption were presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity section of the”…
The clause …“there can be no assurance that the Company will be able to consummate any business combination by February 18, 2023. F-8 Table of Contents Note 2 — Restatement of Previously Issued Financial Statement In connection with the”…
The clause …“accounting firm’s report contains an explanatory paragraph that expresses substantial doubt about our ability to continue as a “going concern.” As of December 31, 2021, we had cash of $1,433,753, available for working capital”…
The clause …“earlier of June 30, 2021 or the closing of the initial public offering. The outstanding balance under the promissory note of $300,000 was repaid at the closing of the initial public offering on February 19, 2021. In order to finance”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Medicus Sciences Holdings LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
That was the figure at listing. It is $10.18 a share today — interest on the account, plus any sponsor payments made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out.
from 424B4 0001104659-21-024703
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Drillick JudahChief Financial Officer
- Cheng EricChief Business Officer
- Levine RossDirector
- Berkovitz KennethDirector
- Kaster ChristopherDirector
- Gottlieb JacobDirector
- Castor MichaelChief Executive Officer
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
9 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Medicus Sciences Holdings LLCwith 8 other reporting persons on the same schedule20.0% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2022 stale
- GLAZER CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule9.7% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2023 stale
- ADAGE CAPITAL PARTNERS GP, L.L.C.with 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule8.5% · SC 13GMar 1, 2021 stale
- D. E. SHAW & CO, L.P.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule4.9% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- First Trust Capital Management L.P.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 12, 2024 stale
- Saba Capital Management, L.P.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 8, 2024 stale
- Third Point LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 10, 2023 stale
- HealthCor Management, L.P.with 10 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
- Cowen Financial Products LLCnot stated · SC 13G/AJan 24, 2023 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
39 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — MSAC (Medicus Sciences Acquisition Corp.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/MSAC
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail2 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from the HISTORICAL census (EDGAR's SIC 6770 registrant list, walked in full: 3,325 registrants, 1,167 of which ever priced an IPO). The live discovery job cannot reach this registrant — it reads the filing tape, and this one stopped filing. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 6770 (Blank Checks); 424B 0001104659-21-024703 priced 2021-02-17; common ticker MSAC off 8-K 0001104659-23-018919 (2023-02-13); lifecycle EXITED. Ending PROVEN, not inferred: LIQUIDATED per 8-K 0001104659-23-018919 (2023-02-13) — announced redemption of all public shares: “…will redeem all of the outstanding Class A ordinary shares that were included in the units issued in its initial public offering (the " Public Shares "), at a per-share redemption price of approximately $10.18. As of the close of business on February 21, 2023, the Public Shares will be deemed cancelled and will represe…”. Trust at settlement $10.18/share, stated in that filing. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "Medicus Sciences Holdings LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K) acc 0001104659-21-044651.