HPX Corp.
HPX · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from HPX Capital Partners LLC, listed on NYSE in July 2020.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Emergência Participações S.A. (Ambipar Emergency Response), an Environmental emergency response services company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Emergência Participações S.A. (Ambipar Emergency Response)
- Industry
- Environmental emergency response services
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 17 July 2020
- size not on file · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 1000 N. WEST STREET, SUITE 1200, WILMINGTON, DE, 19801
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Goncalves Betiol Wolney Edirley (Director) · Grisolia Rafael Salvador (Director) · Mourao Fabio (Director)
- Listed securities
- HPX common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 17 July 2020IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedEnvironmental emergency response servicesSEC primary
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsHPX is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
HPX Corp. was a blank-check company whose common ticker HPX was listed on the New York Stock Exchange. The company priced its initial public offering on July 17, 2020, as reflected in its 424B prospectus. Its SEC filings include an 8-K dated February 28, 2023, on whose cover page the HPX ticker appears, and the vehicle is recorded as closed after completing a business combination. The closing is established by a Form 25 filed on March 6, 2023, under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3), reflecting that the company's Class A Ordinary Shares, Redeemable Warrants, and Units had come to evidence other securities in substitution therefor.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
Cutting the PIPE subscription prices to $8.41 and $9.49 against a redemption value of about $10.06 means new money is entering below what a redeeming holder can take out in cash, so anyone who stays is diluted at prices they cannot access. Repricing a PIPE downward before closing is a reliable signal that the original terms could not be funded. The sponsor's waiver of redemption on its founder shares aligns it with closing rather than with liquidation, which is the standard but conflicting incentive in these votes.
At $10.06 in trust against a $9.96 market price, redeeming was worth ten cents more than selling and carried settlement certainty. With roughly $58.7 million left the vehicle has already been substantially redeemed, so the cash reaching the Brazilian emergency-response target is limited. Four and a half months of extension is sought with no deposit disclosed, so holders who stay finance the delay themselves.
A clean shell at year end: roughly $1.1 million of positive working capital, no sponsor debt outstanding and a small expense base. Trust is a bare $10.00 per public share with essentially no accretion, so redemption offers no premium over the IPO price. The risk-factor discussion mentions going concern only conditionally, as something a future funding shortfall might trigger, so no substantial doubt is asserted at this balance-sheet date.
The SPAC's opening position as the company states it: $253,000,000 in trust against 25,300,000 public shares, funded by the full public raise plus part of the $7,060,000 of at-risk sponsor money. The private placement warrants carry the usual sponsor advantages while held by the sponsor — not redeemable except in scenarios where the share price is at or above $10.00, cashless exercise, registration rights and a transfer restriction until 30 days after a business combination. No target, deadline or deal is stated.
Two separate warrant redemptions are named in the document's own headings - one when the price per Class A share reaches $18.00 and one when it reaches only $10.00 - and each has its own adjustment: the $18.00 resets to 180% of the higher of Market Value and Newly Issued Price, while the $10.00 resets to that higher value itself. The threshold for amending the public warrants adversely is 65% of the warrants outstanding, higher than the 50% most of this cohort uses, which makes this warrant harder to change against its holders.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
- What changed vs 2022-04-14deadline 2022-07-20 → 2023-03-31going concern RESOLVEDsponsor loan $300K → $905Kshares 25.3M → 2.18M -91%
combination deadline, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +34 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Combination deadline
- 2022-07-202023-03-31
- Going-concern doubt
- statednot stated
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $300K$905K
- Redeemable shares
- 25.3M2.18M
- Trust account
- $253.0M · unchanged
- Mandate language
- the Company intends to focus on businesses in Brazil.… · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as 254 days later than the previous record.
The clause “A ordinary shares for cash, securities or other property. In the event that the Business Combination Agreement is not consummated, and the Company does not complete a business combination before March 31, 2023, the Non-Redemption”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in the previous filing and not in this one.
SpacBrain reads this as the sponsor has advanced $605,000 more.
The clause …“completion of a business combination into warrants. As of December 31, 2022, $905,000 were outstanding under such loan. 7 Table of Contents The outstanding amount as of December 31, 2022 and the additional amounts incurred in January”…
SpacBrain reads this as 23,123,456 shares are no longer redeemable.
The clause …“value; 500,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding (excluding 2,176,544 and 25,300,000 shares subject to possible redemption as of December 31, 2022 and 2021, respectively) — — Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par”…
The clause …“ Cash held in Trust Account 21,905,597 — Marketable securities held in Trust Account — 253,037,516 TOTAL ASSETS $ 22,192,485 $ 253,686,710 LIABILITIES, SHARES SUBJECT TO POSSIBLE REDEMPTION, AND”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: HPX Corp. filed a proxy and prospectus for up to 17,559,044 Class A shares and 13,462,500 warrants of Ambipar Emergency Response for an EGM on February 28, 2023 at Skadden's São Paulo offices, to approve the combination agreement dated July 5, 2022. As of December 2, 2022 redemption would have amounted to about $10.06 per public share. Sponsor HPX Capital Partners LLC waived redemption on its founder shares under a July 15, 2020 letter agreement. Subscription prices for Opportunity Agro Fund and the other PIPE investors were reduced to $8.41 and $9.49 per share respectively. Why it matters: Cutting the PIPE subscription prices to $8.41 and $9.49 against a redemption value of about $10.06 means new money is entering below what a redeeming holder can take out in cash, so anyone who stays is diluted at prices they cannot access. Repricing a PIPE downward before closing is a reliable signal that the original terms could not be funded. The sponsor's waiver of redemption on its founder shares aligns it with closing rather than with liquidation, which is the standard but conflicting incentive in these votes.
minimum cash conditionnothing moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
- Minimum cash condition
- not previously extracted$150.0M
SpacBrain reads this as the min-cash condition binds at $150,000,000.
The clause …“balance sheet as a result of the proposed business combination; • a minimum cash condition of $150 million; • a PIPE financing in the amount of $47 million; • the Sponsor agreeing to vote in favor of the proposed business”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
HPX Capital Partners LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1283 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
Unit: U = S + W/2 · 100.0% of the $10 unit
from 424B4 0001104659-20-084532
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Goncalves Betiol Wolney EdirleyDirector
- Grisolia Rafael SalvadorDirector
- Mourao FabioDirector
- Pinheiro Maria Salete GarciaDirector
- Kheirallah Marco RacyDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
10 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- HPX Capital Partners LLCwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule19.7% · SC 13GFeb 2, 2021 stale
- RUFFALO JAMES A & MARGARET M12.5% · SC 13GJan 27, 2023 stale
- METEORA CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule8.0% · SC 13GFeb 16, 2023 stale
- MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC5.8% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2023 stale
- RP Investment Advisors LPwith 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule5.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- PERISCOPE CAPITAL INC.4.6% · SC 13G/AFeb 13, 2023 stale
- GLAZER CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- Sculptor Capital LP0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- Sharp Capital Gestora de Recursos Ltda.with 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 8, 2023 stale
- SPX Equities Gestao de Recursos Ltdanot stated · SC 13G/AMar 4, 2022 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
38 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — HPX (HPX Corp.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/HPX
- Vault deal note — Emergência Participações S.A. (Ambipar Emergency Response) (HPX)
vault-note · /vault/deals/emerg-ncia-participa-es-s-a-ambipar-emergency-response
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail5 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from the HISTORICAL census (EDGAR's SIC 6770 registrant list, walked in full: 3,325 registrants, 1,167 of which ever priced an IPO). The live discovery job cannot reach this registrant — it reads the filing tape, and this one stopped filing. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 6770 (Blank Checks); 424B 0001104659-20-084532 priced 2020-07-17; common ticker HPX off 8-K 0001104659-23-026804 (2023-02-28); lifecycle EXITED. Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per Form 25 0001143313-23-000015 (2023-03-06) — Form 25 filed under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3) — the rule for securities that "have come to evidence other securities in substitution therefor", i.e. the shares became the successor's (class: Class A Ordinary Shares, Redeemable Warrants, Units). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "HPX Capital Partners LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K/A) acc 0001104659-21-087742.
AI-extracted target (z-ai/glm-5.2, conf 0.95)
target recovered for a completed de-SPAC; no agreement-naming filing on file, so announcedAt is NULL rather than guessed
entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read