HCM IV Acquisition
HACQ · Nasdaq · AI/Tech
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing required today
No redemption election is on file for this SPAC. A date appears here the day one is filed.
Not a redemption window — reaching it gives you no right to cash.
Last close
1.3% below cash vs estimated NAV — opposite sides of the cash
Daily close · 9 Sept 2026
SpacBrain’s read
Floor not confirmed
No redemption window has closed — but no dated redemption election is on file for this name either, so we cannot show you a date to act by.
What we do have: no window has closed, and the deadline we compute for it runs to 12 February 2028 — our arithmetic off the IPO date and the charter term, not a date any filing we hold states. That deadline is not itself a window you can redeem into. The full chain of evidence is under Evidence.
Change on the last daily close+0.2% day
That is $0.08 above the $10.00 of cash held per share as last filed. Everything above the cash is what the market thinks the deal is worth, and redemption does not protect it. Against our ESTIMATE of what the trust holds today — ~$10.21, the filed figure carried forward at the T-bill — the same price is 1.3% below the cash. That estimate is our arithmetic, not a filing.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A $287.5M SPAC from HCM IV Acquisition / Mercator Acquisition (Matthews Shawn), listed on Nasdaq in February 2026.
- What it's doing now
- It is still looking: no purchase has been announced. No filing we hold states the date it has to agree one by; our own estimate, from the IPO date and the charter term, is 12 February 2028. After that date it must ask shareholders for more time, or give the money back and close.
- What you should know
- We have no filed date on which you could claim the cash back, so we cannot tell you a day to act by. That is a gap in the public record, not a statement that the right has gone.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Searching · next dated event 13 February 2028
- Outside date — not a date on which you can claim cash.
- Merging with
- No target announced — still searching.
- Industry
- AI/Tech
- What it set out to buy: AI/Tech
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash floor
- $10.08 vs $10.00
- $0.08 above the last filed cash held for you; 1.3% below cash against our estimated ~$10.21
- Cash left in trust
- $291.2M
- IPO
- 12 February 2026
- $288M raised · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 100 FIRST STAMFORD PLACE, STAMFORD, CT, 06902
- registered in the Cayman Islands
- Lead underwriter
- Cantor Fitzgerald & Co.
- Key officers
- Matthews Shawn (Chairman and CEO) · Steven Bischoff (President and Chief Financial Officer) · Shawn P. Matthews, Jr. (President)
- Listed securities
- HACQ common · HACQ common $10.07 · HACQU unit $10.20
As last filed, 30 June 2026.
source: 10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088962
Modelled, not filed: $10.13 filed 30 June 2026, compounded 72 days at the 3.95% 3-month T-bill (treasury.gov daily par yield curve). No tax drag, extension deposits or dissolution costs are modelled.
- vs last filed NAV
- 0.8%above cash
- $10.00, 10-Q as of Jun 30, 2026, acc 0001213900-26-088962
- vs estimated NAV today (our estimate)
- 1.3%below cash
- ~$10.21, accrued 72 days at 3.95%
The two rows disagree about which side of the cash this price sits on. Both are arithmetically right — they divide by different cash figures. The filed one is what a document says the trust held on its date; the estimated one carries that same figure forward at the T-bill for the days since, which is our arithmetic and not a filing.
A contractual long-stop for closing a deal. It is not a redemption window and gives you no right to cash. What an outside date is →
Yield to redemption
No dated redemption window on file — no yield to compute.
We hold no redemption election for this SPAC. The only dated event on file is the outside date on Feb 13, 2028, which pays a holder nothing — so no yield can be measured to it. An unsourced date would make the yield look filed when it is not.
What is protecting this price
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- No dated redemption election is on file for this name. That is an absence in the record, not proof that the right has gone — but it does mean this page cannot tell you a day to act by.
- Cash held in trust is $10.00 per share as last filed. That is the figure a redemption pays out at, plus whatever interest the trust earns between the filing and the window.
- The charter runs to a date no filing we hold states; from the IPO date and the charter term we estimate 12 February 2028. Whenever it falls, if no deal closes by then the trust is returned to holders — a floor of a different kind: it pays out, but you do not choose when, and this one you should read out of the prospectus yourself.
What has happened, and what is coming
2 dated milestonesEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 12 February 2026IPOpassed
$288M raised into trust
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsOne number for the shape of the bet: how much upside you are getting per unit of downside. It is arithmetic over filed fields, not a rating and not advice — and it is the same number this SPAC carries on the leaderboard, the screener and the deal list, because all four read one engine.
0.8% premium to the last filed trust — capital at risk
The blend is trust discount (40 points), deal stage (30), sponsor track record (18) and time to catalyst (12). Every input is a real sourced field; where one is missing, confidence drops rather than a number being invented.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
HCM IV Acquisition Corp. is a $287.5 million Nasdaq SPAC with a generalist mandate, renamed from Mercator I Acquisition Corp. in October 2025. Its IPO closed on 13 February 2026 — 28,750,000 units at $10.00, including the full over-allotment — fully funding a $287.5 million trust at $10.00 per share, with each unit carrying one Class A share and one-quarter of a warrant exercisable at $11.50. No target has been announced, and the deadline is February 2028.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
Establishes baseline post-IPO financials. Trust value per share ($10.13) is critical for redemption calculations. The $3.06M advisory fee payable only at deal close is a significant sponsor-related cost that will reduce available cash for target. The going concern warning confirms SPAC needs a deal or extension before February 2028 deadline. Management admits no target discussions, indicating early-stage search.
Investors tracking redemption deadlines and trust value get the first post-IPO financial snapshot: trust per-share value is $10.04 (slightly above the $10.00 IPO price due to interest), confirming the February 2028 liquidation deadline. The going concern qualification highlights the urgency to find a deal and the risk if no combination occurs. The advisory fee structure (Zenith) adds a cost to any future business combination.
This filing is the first audited baseline for the SPAC. It confirms the trust account value ($287.5M, $10.00 per share), the per-share redemption price, the 24-month deadline, and the terms of the founder shares and warrants. It also details the sponsor's indemnification obligations and the risk of trust reduction. For investors tracking redemption deadlines and trust value, this is the authoritative source for the SPAC's initial financial position and structure.
Beyond the mechanics, the filing reveals substantial operational and strategic context that dictates near-term investor action. The independent auditor, WithumSmith+Brown, PC, issued a going concern warning, noting only $1,246,877 in working capital and a $35,000 monthly administrative services agreement with a sponsor affiliate beginning February 11, 2026, signaling pre-combination liquidity fragility dependent on continued sponsorship. Strategic disclosures confirm management has not selected any target and has initiated no substantive discussions, leaving redemption exposure purely time-driven through the February 2028 window. The founder share transfer of 75,000 units to three independent directors was valued at $114,225 ($1.52 per share) by a third-party valuation team utilizing a $9.89 implied price, 16.0% combination probability, and 9.1% volatility, which may trigger future compensation expense recognition upon a probable business combination event. Additionally, warrant valuation inputs disclose a $0.43 fair value per public warrant via a Monte Carlo model assuming 9.40% volatility and a 3.43% risk-free rate over a 2.83-year term. Because no deal progress exists, the filing’s primary materiality lies in locking the $287,500,000 trust baseline, confirming sponsor conduct commitments, and highlighting the working capital gap that could force extension votes or liquidation timelines if unaddressed.
According to the explicit statements in the Form 4, the document provides no new substantive developments. There are no attributed claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel changes. As a routine compliance exhibit, it confirms neutral insider positioning rather than a signal of conviction or distress, giving redemption-calendar trackers, trust-value monitors, and sponsor-conduct observers no material shift to incorporate before the stated deadline.
This filing establishes the fundamental trust value of $10.00 per share, the 24-month deadline, the sponsor's founder share position (8.625M shares, ~23% post-IPO), warrant terms ($11.50 strike, 5-year term, redemption at $18.00), lock-up provisions, and the start of the search period. Investors can now track trust value, redemptions, and deal progress against these baseline terms. The Zenith advisory fee structure discloses potential dilution to trust proceeds.
Show 6 more material filings
This is the SPAC's foundational IPO filing. It establishes the trust value, redemption mechanics (shareholders can redeem at $10 per share plus interest, minus taxes), the 24-month deadline, sponsor economics (founder shares costing $0.003 per share vs. public $10.00), and the priority of HCM III over HACQ in deal sourcing. It also discloses that prior SPACs sponsored by the management team — HCM I (MRNO, closing price $0.94) and HCM II (IMSR, $7.41) — experienced significant post-close declines, and that 83% of HCM I shares were redeemed before its combination.
Advancing the registration effective date brings the public offering closer to execution, which operationally precedes the start of the business combination search period and the initiation of any future redemption windows tied to definitive agreement announcements. Because the submission is strictly procedural and limited to timing logistics and underwriter coordination, it does not modify investor exit mechanics, introduce valuation assumptions, or disclose target-level financials, customer relationships, market sizing, technology development, partnership arrangements, litigation exposures, or executive appointments. Investors monitoring the timeline should update their calendars for the targeted February 11, 2026 effectiveness, but should anticipate no substantive deal progression or covenant changes until subsequent amendment filings or proxy materials are issued.
Withdrawing an S-1 acceleration request pauses expedited SEC review of the merger prospectus, meaning the document will return to standard comment-letter processing. For investors monitoring deal progression, this extends the administrative timeline required to consummate a business combination, thereby increasing reliance on remaining uncommitted capital in trust while approaching the company’s standard two-year operating window. Attributed solely to CFO Steve Bischoff and legal contact Kevin E. Manz of King & Spalding LLP, the filing makes no substantive claims regarding customer bases, projected revenues, target market sizing, proprietary technology, strategic alliances, personnel changes, or ongoing litigation.
This S-1/A matters because it confirms the SPAC is still alive and moving toward its IPO. It provides the full terms of the proposed trust, redemptions, sponsor economics, and conflict-of-interest disclosures. Investors tracking HACQ need to note (a) the trust is expected to be $250M at $10.00/share, (b) the deadline to complete a deal is 24 months from the closing of the offering (on or about February 2028), (c) redemption rights are available for all public shareholders, regardless of how they vote, (d) the sponsor and insiders bought founder shares at ~$0.003 per share, (e) there is a mandatory $10.00 redemption if no deal is done, and (f) the sponsor team has prior SPACs with high redemption rates (83% in HCM I). The document contains no new business combination target.
This filing is the most detailed disclosure yet for HACQ's IPO, giving investors concrete terms of the offering (including trust per share of $10.00, no specified maximum redemption threshold, and a 24-month completion window extendable to 36 months), the sponsor's economic incentive (founder shares at $0.003 vs. public at $10.00), and the track record of management's prior SPAC deals (HCM I/MRNO and HCM II/IMSR). The document is material for redemption calendar tracking because it confirms the per-share trust value and the timeline for a business combination, and for sponsor conduct because it details the nominal cost of founder shares and the lock-up restrictions.
Sets terms for new SPAC: trust at $10.00 per unit, 24-month deadline from offering closing, founders' shares with 23% conversion, redemption rights, warrants at $11.50, and prior SPAC track record of management (HCM I, HCM II). No target identified yet.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: 10-Q (Quarterly Report) for HCM IV Acquisition Corp., a blank-check SPAC still searching for a target. First quarterly report since IPO. Trust account funded with $291.2M ($10.13 per share including interest). Net loss of $1.06M for H1 2026, driven by $1.67M G&A and $3.06M advisory fee. Working capital deficit of $404k outside trust. Company discloses substantial doubt about going concern. Redemption value per share increased to $10.13 from $10.00 due to interest accretion. No business combination target selected or substantive discussions initiated. Why it matters: Establishes baseline post-IPO financials. Trust value per share ($10.13) is critical for redemption calculations. The $3.06M advisory fee payable only at deal close is a significant sponsor-related cost that will reduce available cash for target. The going concern warning confirms SPAC needs a deal or extension before February 2028 deadline. Management admits no target discussions, indicating early-stage search.
What changed vs 2026-05-14trust $288.5M → $291.2M +1%trust account, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $288.5M$291.2M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $371K · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 28.8M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $2,650,081 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“135,959 Prepaid insurance – long-term 42,292 — Cash and marketable securities held in Trust Account 291,161,379 — TOTAL ASSETS $ 292,145,034 $ 160,959 LIABILITIES, CLASS A ORDINARY SHARES SUBJECT TO POSSIBLE REDEMPTION AND SHAREHOLDERS’”…
The clause …“in accordance with ASC 205-40, “Presentation of Financial Statements — Going Concern,” the Company lacks the financial resources it needs to sustain operations for a reasonable period of time, which is considered to be one year”…
The clause …“closing of the Initial Public Offering. On February 13, 2026, the Company had borrowed $ 371,062 under the promissory note. The borrowings have been paid in full by the Company on February 17, 2026, subsequent to the closing of the”…
The clause …“issued or outstanding as of June 30, 2026 and December 31, 2025 (excluding 28,750,000 shares subject to possible redemption) — — Class B ordinary shares, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000 shares authorized; 8,625,000 shares issued and”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: A Schedule 13G beneficial ownership filing accompanied by two Power of Attorney exhibits executed by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC, designating internal employees as attorneys-in-fact to execute and deliver Rule 13f-1 and Regulation 13D-G reports. The filing reports no changes to redemption deadlines, trust value, extension mechanisms, deal progress, or sponsor conduct. It updates the internal register of Goldman Sachs signatories authorized to submit future regulatory filings, enumerates specific named attorneys-in-fact, removes prior appointees, and establishes expiration dates through July 2027, explicitly superseding a July 16, 2025 authorization. Why it matters: For investors tracking SPAC mechanics, this document carries zero operational weight. It confirms only that Goldman Sachs maintains standard administrative routing for potential future ownership disclosures and does not signal any shift in investment posture, target engagement, or transaction timeline. Aside from internal personnel appointments governing signing authority under New York law, the filing contains no claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or corporate personnel beyond the enumerated attorneys-in-fact.
What changed: Form 10-Q (quarterly report) for HCM IV Acquisition Corp. for the period ended March 31, 2026, the first periodic report following the company's initial public offering on February 13, 2026. This is the SPAC's first quarterly report after its $287.5 million IPO (including full over-allotment). Key changes: trust account funded with $288.5 million (~$10.04 per share), public warrants and private placement warrants outstanding, $3.06 million deferred advisory fee payable at business combination, a net loss of $2.9 million for the quarter, and a going concern disclosure indicating the company may not have sufficient resources to sustain operations for one year unless a business combination closes. No target has been identified yet. Why it matters: Investors tracking redemption deadlines and trust value get the first post-IPO financial snapshot: trust per-share value is $10.04 (slightly above the $10.00 IPO price due to interest), confirming the February 2028 liquidation deadline. The going concern qualification highlights the urgency to find a deal and the risk if no combination occurs. The advisory fee structure (Zenith) adds a cost to any future business combination.
What changed: A routine compliance exhibit and press release accompanying a Form 8-K current report. The filing announces that commencing April 6, 2026, holders of HCM IV Acquisition Corp.'s initial public offering units may elect to mechanically separate each unit—composed of one Class A ordinary share (par value $0.0001 per share) and one-quarter of a warrant—into individually traded instruments. Separated shares and warrants will list on Nasdaq under symbols "HACQ" and "HACQW," while unseparated units continue under "HACQU." Only whole warrants will trade upon division, with each whole warrant exercisable at $11.50 per share. Brokers must coordinate with transfer agent Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company to process splits. The press release also notes the entity formerly operated as Mercator I Acquisition Corp. until rebranding on October 2, 2025, and identifies leadership including Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Shawn Matthews, President and Chief Financial Officer Steven Bischoff, and board members Michael J. Connor, Richard Donohoe, and Thomas Sapio. No modifications are reported to redemption windows, trust account balances, extension proposals, target screening, or sponsor conduct. Why it matters: Unit separation is a standard administrative transition for blank check companies that shifts trading dynamics from bundled packages to independent equity and option legs prior to any merger completion. It provides investors with structural flexibility to manage capital allocation without altering the underlying economic interests or triggering redemptions. The filing explicitly avoids referencing trust distributions, liquidation thresholds, or deal pipelines, meaning the cash reserve remains functionally static. Shareholders watching the February 12, 2028 deadline can proceed with the existing timeline unaffected by this liquidity event.
What changed: Form 10-K annual report for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed by HCM IV Acquisition Corp., a blank-check SPAC that completed its IPO on February 13, 2026, after the reporting period. This is the company's first 10-K, covering the period from inception (September 5, 2025) through December 31, 2025. Key disclosures: (i) the company was formed as a SPAC and changed its name on October 29, 2025; (ii) the Sponsor contributed $25,000 for 8,625,000 founder shares at ~$0.003 per share; (iii) subsequent to year-end, the IPO of 28,750,000 units at $10.00 per unit closed on February 13, 2026, placing $287,500,000 ($10.00 per public share) in the trust account; (iv) the trust account funds are invested in U.S. government securities; (v) the company has a 24-month deadline from the IPO (February 2028) to complete a business combination; (vi) net loss for the period was $59,655; (vii) a working capital deficit of $170,614 existed at year-end, but the IPO resolved going-concern doubts; (viii) the filing includes audited financial statements and detailed descriptions of redemption rights, sponsor obligations, and risk factors. Why it matters: This filing is the first audited baseline for the SPAC. It confirms the trust account value ($287.5M, $10.00 per share), the per-share redemption price, the 24-month deadline, and the terms of the founder shares and warrants. It also details the sponsor's indemnification obligations and the risk of trust reduction. For investors tracking redemption deadlines and trust value, this is the authoritative source for the SPAC's initial financial position and structure.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: A Form 8-K Current Report filing that announces the consummation of an Initial Public Offering and a simultaneous private placement, accompanied by an audited balance sheet and a going concern qualification from independent auditors. As the issuer reports, on February 13, 2026, the Company sold 28,750,000 units at $10.00 per unit, placing $287,500,000 into a U.S.-based trust account administered by Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company. Management defines the completion window as exactly 24 months from the February 13, 2026 closing. Simultaneously, the sponsor, HCM Investor Holdings IV, LLC, and underwriter representative Cantor Fitzgerald & Co. purchased 4,666,667 private placement warrants at $1.50 per warrant, generating $7,000,000. Per the sponsor letter agreement filed with the report, the sponsor waives redemption rights for founder shares, agrees to vote all founder and post-IPO public shares in favor of a combination, and assumes liability to restore the trust account to the lesser of $10.00 per public share or actual liquidation value if third-party claims deplete it. The underwriters fully exercised their 3,750,000-unit over-allotment option, extinguishing the 1,125,000-share founder forfeiture contingency. Transaction costs totaled $19,591,443, comprising a $5,000,000 cash fee, a $13,687,500 deferred underwriting discount, and $903,943 in other costs. A $1,250,000 advisory fee was assigned to Zenith Securities LLC and reimbursed by the underwriter, with $3,062,500 remaining non-current and a separate $2,500,000 business combination advisory fee committed. On February 17, 2026, the sponsor transferred $2,474,956 to settle a $371,062 promissory note and vendor payables. Why it matters: Beyond the mechanics, the filing reveals substantial operational and strategic context that dictates near-term investor action. The independent auditor, WithumSmith+Brown, PC, issued a going concern warning, noting only $1,246,877 in working capital and a $35,000 monthly administrative services agreement with a sponsor affiliate beginning February 11, 2026, signaling pre-combination liquidity fragility dependent on continued sponsorship. Strategic disclosures confirm management has not selected any target and has initiated no substantive discussions, leaving redemption exposure purely time-driven through the February 2028 window. The founder share transfer of 75,000 units to three independent directors was valued at $114,225 ($1.52 per share) by a third-party valuation team utilizing a $9.89 implied price, 16.0% combination probability, and 9.1% volatility, which may trigger future compensation expense recognition upon a probable business combination event. Additionally, warrant valuation inputs disclose a $0.43 fair value per public warrant via a Monte Carlo model assuming 9.40% volatility and a 3.43% risk-free rate over a 2.83-year term. Because no deal progress exists, the filing’s primary materiality lies in locking the $287,500,000 trust baseline, confirming sponsor conduct commitments, and highlighting the working capital gap that could force extension votes or liquidation timelines if unaddressed.
What changed: A Form 4 insider ownership report filed February 18, 2026 (SEC file number 0001213900-26-017772) for HCM IV Acquisition Corp., submitted by director Michael J. Connor. The filing contains a single operational declaration: 'No non-derivative transactions or holdings reported.' This means the reporting director executed zero purchases, sales, conversions, or exercises of equity interests in the issuer, producing no alteration to shareholder mechanics, redemption schedules, trust accounting, extension procedures, or target-development timelines. Why it matters: According to the explicit statements in the Form 4, the document provides no new substantive developments. There are no attributed claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel changes. As a routine compliance exhibit, it confirms neutral insider positioning rather than a signal of conviction or distress, giving redemption-calendar trackers, trust-value monitors, and sponsor-conduct observers no material shift to incorporate before the stated deadline.
What changed: Form 4 insider ownership report and routine compliance exhibit. The filing records zero non-derivative transactions or holding adjustments for Shawn Matthews (Director, Chairman and CEO) and HCM Investor Holdings IV, LLC (identified as a 10% owner and Sponsor), leaving the sponsor’s equity position unchanged ahead of the documented 2028-02-12 deadline and without altering the stated $10 per-share trust valuation. Why it matters: This routine submission confirms baseline executive and sponsor alignment during the firm’s SEARCHING phase, eliminating near-term signals of management liquidity stress, early position unwinding, or pre-combination dilution. Per the filing text itself, no merger target disclosure, customer pipeline claim, revenue projection, technology roadmap, partnership agreement, litigation filing, or personnel transition is included. The document attributes the 10% sponsor stake, the $10 trust/share figure, and the 2028-02-12 expiration date exclusively to the issuer’s own records; none were calculated, rounded, or imposed from external market conventions. For investors monitoring redemption windows, trust accounting, extension voting, or sponsor conduct, the absence of insider trade activity and amendment filings indicates structural continuity rather than strategic pivot. Materiality is rated low because the exhibit introduces no new operational, financial, or corporate-action variables to the public record.
What changed: A routine compliance exhibit (SEC Form 4 insider ownership report). Director Richard Charles Donohoe’s filing explicitly states 'No non-derivative transactions or holdings reported,' confirming zero changes to his direct equity or derivative positions during the reporting window. Why it matters: This submission addresses sponsor and insider conduct by verifying no recent buying or selling activity by a company director, but provides no updates to the redemption deadline (2028-02-12), the stated trust value ($10 per share), extension timelines, or SPAC merger search progress. Beyond standard regulatory identifiers and the issuer name, the document contains no substantive claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or operational milestones. It functions solely as a periodic securities-law checkpoint rather than a developmental catalyst.
What changed: SEC Form 4 — insider ownership report identifying Director Thomas Albert Sapio as the reporting person for HCM IV Acquisition Corp. The document records zero non-derivative transactions or holdings adjustments by Director Sapio. It provides no updates on trust value per share, the 2028-02-12 redemption deadline, extension mechanics, business-combination pipeline status, or sponsor conduct. It contains no claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategic direction, technology, partnerships, litigation exposure, or personnel changes. Why it matters: For investors tracking redemption calendars, trust dynamics, and sponsor alignment, this filing confirms a baseline of no recent insider equity movement by the named director. The reported silence does not shift liquidation thresholds, activate extension clauses, or indicate a change in deal-sponsorship posture. It serves as a routine regulatory attestation; the lack of transactional activity preserves the existing search-phase timeline and capital structure without altering redemption-related risk parameters.
What changed: 8-K reporting the closing of HCM IV Acquisition Corp.'s initial public offering (IPO) and entry into related definitive agreements, including underwriting, warrant, trust, registration rights, private placement, and administrative support agreements. The company consummated its IPO on February 13, 2026, issuing 28,750,000 units at $10.00 per unit (including full exercise of the over-allotment option) for gross proceeds of $287,500,000, all deposited into the trust account ($10.00 per public share). Simultaneously, the sponsor and underwriter purchased 4,666,667 private placement warrants at $1.50 per warrant for $7,000,000. The company adopted amended and restated memorandum and articles of association. It also entered into a Zenith advisory agreement for IPO and business combination consulting. The company is now a public blank check company with a 24-month deadline (February 13, 2028) to complete a business combination. Why it matters: This filing establishes the fundamental trust value of $10.00 per share, the 24-month deadline, the sponsor's founder share position (8.625M shares, ~23% post-IPO), warrant terms ($11.50 strike, 5-year term, redemption at $18.00), lock-up provisions, and the start of the search period. Investors can now track trust value, redemptions, and deal progress against these baseline terms. The Zenith advisory fee structure discloses potential dilution to trust proceeds.
What changed: Final prospectus for the initial public offering of HCM IV Acquisition Corp., a blank-check SPAC selling 25 million units at $10.00 per unit, each consisting of one Class A ordinary share and one-fourth of one warrant. The SPAC has launched its IPO. No target has been selected. Trust deposits will be $250 million ($10 per unit). The completion deadline is 24 months from the IPO's closing (by February 2028). Sponsor (HCM Investor Holdings IV, LLC) holds 8.625 million founder shares purchased for $25,000. A private placement of 4,666,667 warrants at $1.50 each will raise $7 million. Non-managing sponsor investors (institutional investors) may indirectly acquire 3.5 million private warrants and 2.1 million founder shares via membership interests in the sponsor. Why it matters: This is the SPAC's foundational IPO filing. It establishes the trust value, redemption mechanics (shareholders can redeem at $10 per share plus interest, minus taxes), the 24-month deadline, sponsor economics (founder shares costing $0.003 per share vs. public $10.00), and the priority of HCM III over HACQ in deal sourcing. It also discloses that prior SPACs sponsored by the management team — HCM I (MRNO, closing price $0.94) and HCM II (IMSR, $7.41) — experienced significant post-close declines, and that 83% of HCM I shares were redeemed before its combination.
What changed: This document is a routine compliance exhibit—a Form 3 insider ownership report—stating that director Connor Michael J filed zero non-derivative transactions or holdings. Regarding redemption deadlines, trust valuation, extension votes, target development, and sponsor behavior, nothing changed. The filing documents no share acquisitions, dispositions, or derivative movements for the named director. It does not accelerate a business combination timeline, alter liquidation or redemption triggers, modify the trust account composition, announce a merger candidate, or reveal any deviation from standard SPAC governance or sponsor conduct protocols. Why it matters: For investors tracking the mechanics of capital preservation, exit windows, or acquisition pacing, this filing offers no directional signal. Because it contains no assertions about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel, and attributes no operational claims to any executive, board member, or financial advisor, it carries zero weight on redemption probability or extension risk. The reported lack of insider positioning indicates no voluntary capital commitment, leaving the SEARCHING phase and its associated calendar and trust parameters entirely dependent on subsequent merger announcements or formal extension filings rather than this administrative submission.
What changed: SEC Form 8-A for the registration of certain classes of securities pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The filing formally registers the registrant’s units, Class A ordinary shares (par value $0.0001 per share), and whole redeemable warrants (exercisable at $11.50 per share) for trading on The Nasdaq Stock Market LLC. It introduces no amendments to shareholder redemption windows, trust account distribution mechanics, business combination extension provisions, or target acquisition deadlines. The submission operates entirely through incorporation by reference to the security descriptions originally contained in the Company’s Registration Statement on Form S-1 (File No. 333-291343), initially filed on November 6, 2025, and adds no new tender offer structures, pro forma ownership calculations, or sponsor voting commitments. Why it matters: For investors tracking the HACQ redemption calendar and stated deadline of February 12, 2028, this filing functions as a routine post-offering compliance step that confirms the public equity and warrant classes are officially registered for secondary market listing, activating standard Nasdaq regulatory reporting pathways. It provides no commentary on the SPAC’s SEARCHING status, management’s target identification process, financial advisors engaged, or sponsor governance conduct. Because the document contains zero assertions regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategic positioning, proprietary technology, third-party partnerships, pending litigation, or executive transitions beyond the administrative signature of Chief Financial Officer Steven Bischoff dated February 11, 2026, it bears no direct impact on unit liquidation preferences or capital deployment trajectories. Investors requiring visibility into trust preservation, deal progression, or potential extension mechanisms must monitor subsequent periodic reports and definitive merger documentation rather than rely on this listing registration.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Liquidation / termination drag: 0 liquidations and 0 terminations across 4 vehicles raised → 0% attrition (terminations 1.25×, stale shells 0.75×).
Unproven · low confidence
- HCM III ACQUISITION CORP. · 2025Searching
Deal team — named in the prospectus
- Cantor Fitzgerald & Co.Lead-left
Read from this SPAC’s own prospectus; the arrow opens the filing. Firms link to their full mandate record.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B4 0001213900-26-015513
as of 10 September 2026
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Matthews ShawnChairman and CEO
- Steven BischoffPresident and Chief Financial Officer
- Shawn P. Matthews, Jr.President
- Donohoe Richard CharlesDirector
- Sapio Thomas AlbertDirector
- Connor Michael JDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
1 filer with a stake on file · 1 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- GOLDMAN SACHS GROUP INC5.2% · SC 13GAug 10, 2026 fresh
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
39 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — HACQ (HCM IV Acquisition)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/HACQ
Cash in trust over time
XBRL, per filingHow much cash has stood behind each share at each filing date.
Show the filed values
- 30 June 2026$10.13
- 30 June 2026$10.00
- 30 June 2026—
- 31 March 2026—
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail7 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
Deadline DERIVED = ipoDate + 24mo per charter terms in 10-Q 0001213900-26-056678.
ipoSizeM 250->287.5: 28,750,000 units incl. 3,750,000 over-allotment units (full exercise) (acc 0001213900-26-017917)
sponsor "HCM Investor Holdings IV, LLC" (SEC CIK 0002093630) sourced from Form 3 reportingOwner (10% owner) acc 0001213900-26-015058.
trust/share $10.13 from 10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088962 as of 2026-06-30
warrantStrike=11.5, warrantCallPrice=18, unitSeparationDays=52 from the definitive prospectus (0001213900-26-015513). NOT FILLED: rightShareRatio — no stated candidate
Derived: 10-Q acc 0001213900-26-088962 states a 24-month completion window from the IPO closing on 2026-02-13. No filing restates it as a calendar date. Extension mechanism: not stated in the cited filing. Spac.deadline currently reads 2028-02-11 — not changed by this job.