Crucible Acquisition Corp
CRU · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The cash went back to shareholders and the company wound up. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from Foundry Crucible I, LLC, listed on NYSE in January 2021.
- What it's doing now
- It never completed a purchase. The company wound up and the cash in the account went back to shareholders — the ordinary ending when a SPAC runs out of time. No agreed deal for it is on file with us, so we cannot say whether one was ever announced and later fell through.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The cash was paid back to shareholders and the company wound up, so there is nothing left to claim — the money went where the charter said it would.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Liquidated
- Deal
- none — it wound up and returned the cash instead
- Industry
- no filing we hold states a sector this SPAC restricted its search to
- Deal value
- no deal to value — it wound up instead
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 6 January 2021
- size not on file · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 700 FRONT STREET, SUITE 104, LOUISVILLE, CO, 80027
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Porfido Margaret (Director) · Lynch Jason M. (Chief Administrative Officer) · Lejeal James M (Chief Executive Officer)
- Listed securities
- CRU common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The trust was liquidated and paid back to holders pro rata — the floor was honoured and the SPAC has wound up, so there is nothing left to claim.
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 6 January 2021IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsCRU is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Crucible Acquisition Corp was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker CRU. The company priced its initial public offering on January 6, 2021, as reflected in a 424B prospectus filed with the SEC. On November 29, 2022, the ticker CRU appeared on the cover page of an 8-K filing, and the company was subsequently liquidated on December 1, 2022, pursuant to a Form 25 filing under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(1), which covers a class of securities called for redemption or redeemed at retirement. The liquidation involved the redemption of the company's public shares, with the trust cash returned to shareholders.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
The company states its purpose plainly: return the roughly $260.6 million trust before December 31, 2022, which keeps the redemption outside the 1% excise tax window and preserves about ten cents a share at par. With the stock at $9.96 below the trust value, redemption was clearly the better exit. Eliminating the Redemption Limitation is required for a full return; without it the wind-up would stall short of complete.
The reporting year ended before the shell raised anything, so no trust or redemption figures exist to reconcile with the cover page. Two post-period events fix the capital structure: the January 4, 2021 founder-share split and the January 7, 2021 full exercise of the over-allotment, which meant none of the 843,750 forfeitable founder shares were given up. Sponsor funding was modest and fully repaid at closing. The first meaningful trust balance and working capital position will appear in the next quarterly report.
This is the operative pricing document for Crucible's securities, and the search focus is stated in it: software technology, prioritising cloud-based recurring revenue models. The cover arithmetic is $10.00 to the public, $0.55 of underwriting discount and $9.45 of proceeds before expenses per unit. Warrants become exercisable on the later of 30 days after the initial business combination and 12 months from the closing of the offering and expire five years after the business combination. If no business combination is completed within 24 months from closing, the public shares are redeemed.
The gross-to-trust arithmetic is stated on the cover: $10.00 per unit to the public, $0.55 of underwriting discount per unit and $9.45 of proceeds before expenses, of which $0.35 per unit ($7,000,000; up to $8,050,000 on full overallotment) is deferred and held in the trust until a business combination closes. The warrants become exercisable on the later of 30 days after the initial business combination and 12 months from the closing of the offering. If no business combination is completed within 24 months from closing, the public shares are redeemed.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
- What changed vs 2022-08-12trust $259.3M → $260.6M +0%
trust account, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $259.3M$260.6M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $2.0M · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 25.9M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $1,273,898 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 94,350 219,558 Total current assets 354,828 384,645 Investments held in Trust Account 260,551,856 258,843,444 Total Assets $ 260,906,684 $ 259,228,089 Liabilities, Class A Common Stock Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
The clause …“condensed balance sheets. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
The clause …“4). As of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, there were $3,170,000 and $2,000,000 outstanding under Working Capital Loans, respectively. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance”…
The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 20 21, 25,875,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption are presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: Crucible Acquisition Corporation called a special meeting for November 28, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. Mountain time to change the date by which it must consummate a Business Combination from January 7, 2023 to November 30, 2022, and separately to eliminate the Redemption Limitation from the Charter. The stated purpose is to return capital to stockholders before December 31, 2022. Based on $260,551,855 held in the Trust Account as of September 30, 2022 the Company estimates the per-share redemption price; the Class A common stock closed at $9.96 on September 30, 2022. Why it matters: The company states its purpose plainly: return the roughly $260.6 million trust before December 31, 2022, which keeps the redemption outside the 1% excise tax window and preserves about ten cents a share at par. With the stock at $9.96 below the trust value, redemption was clearly the better exit. Eliminating the Redemption Limitation is required for a full return; without it the wind-up would stall short of complete.
- What changed vs 2022-05-13trust $258.8M → $259.3M +0%
trust account, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $258.8M$259.3M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $2.0M · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 25.9M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $434,514 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 200,974 219,558 Total current assets 745,039 384,645 Investments held in Trust Account 259,277,958 258,843,444 Total Assets $ 260,022,997 $ 259,228,089 Liabilities, Class A Common Stock Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
The clause …“condensed balance sheets. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
The clause …“Note 4). As of June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, there were $3,170,000 and $2,000,000 outstanding under Working Capital Loans. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB”…
The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 25,875,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption is presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-11-15trust $258.8M → $258.8M +0%going concern APPEARED
trust account, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +12 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $258.8M$258.8M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- not previously extracted$2.0M
- Redeemable shares
- 25.9M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $20,384 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“(Level 2) Significant Other Unobservable Inputs (Level 3) Assets: Investments held in Trust Account - Mutual fund $ 258,843,444 $ — $ — Liabilities: Derivative warrant liabilities - Public warrants $ 6,123,750 $ — $ — Derivative warrant”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“condensed balance sheets. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
The clause “Note 4). As of March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, there were $2,600,000 and $2,000,000 outstanding under Working Capital Loans. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB”…
The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 25,875,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption is presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-03-29going concern APPEARED
going-concern doubt, trust account, redeemable shares +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Trust account
- not previously extracted$258.8M
- Redeemable shares
- not previously extracted25.9M
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus our search on target businesses in the so… · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“under Working Capital Loans. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
The clause …“Prepaid expenses 219,558 — Total current assets 384,645 17,852 Investments held in Trust Account 258,843,444 — Deferred offering costs — 275,461 Total Assets $ 259,228,089 $ 293,313 Liabilities, Class A Common Stock Subject to”…
The clause …“occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, as of December 31, 2021, 25,875,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption is presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Foundry Crucible I, LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1283 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
Unit: U = S + W/3 · 100.0% of the $10 unit
from 424B4 0001213900-21-000671
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Porfido MargaretDirector
- Lynch Jason M.Chief Administrative Officer
- Lejeal James MChief Executive Officer
- FELD BRADLEY AChairman of the Board
- Burks Jewel M.Director
- Baack SaraDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
3 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Foundry Crucible I, LLCwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule19.8% · SC 13GFeb 14, 2022 stale
- Saba Capital Management, L.P.with 1 other reporting person on the same schedule5.2% · SC 13GDec 30, 2021 stale
- Empyrean Capital Partners, LPwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
38 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — CRU (Crucible Acquisition Corp)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/CRU
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail2 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from the HISTORICAL census (EDGAR's SIC 6770 registrant list, walked in full: 3,325 registrants, 1,167 of which ever priced an IPO). The live discovery job cannot reach this registrant — it reads the filing tape, and this one stopped filing. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 6770 (Blank Checks); 424B 0001213900-21-000671 priced 2021-01-06; common ticker CRU off 8-K 0001193125-22-294406 (2022-11-29); lifecycle EXITED. Ending PROVEN, not inferred: LIQUIDATED per Form 25 0000876661-22-001060 (2022-12-01) — Form 25 filed under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(1) — the rule for a class "called for redemption" or "redeemed or paid at maturity/retirement". For a SPAC that class is the public shares and that redemption is the trust going back (class: Units and Common Stock). No wind-up press release was readable on the registrant's own file, so the per-share figure is not stored.. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "Foundry Crucible I, LLC" (SEC CIK 0001825500) sourced from Form 3 reportingOwner (10% owner) acc 0001213900-21-000270.