Hennessy Capital Inv VIII
HCIC · Nasdaq
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing required today
No redemption election is on file for this SPAC. A date appears here the day one is filed.
Not a redemption window — reaching it gives you no right to cash.
Cash per share
Held for each public share, as last filed on 30 Jun.
Last close
2.1% below cash vs estimated NAV
Daily close · 2 Sept 2026
SpacBrain’s read
Floor not confirmed
No redemption window has closed — but no dated redemption election is on file for this name either, so we cannot show you a date to act by.
What we do have: no window has closed, and the deadline we compute for it runs to 5 February 2028 — our arithmetic off the IPO date and the charter term, not a date any filing we hold states. That deadline is not itself a window you can redeem into. The full chain of evidence is under Evidence.
Change on the last daily close0.0% day
That is $0.14 below the $10.13 of cash held per share as last filed — though the right to claim that cash is not confirmed on file. Against our ESTIMATE of what the trust holds today — ~$10.21, the filed figure carried forward at the T-bill — the same price is 2.1% below the cash. That estimate is our arithmetic, not a filing.
In plain terms
- What it is
- A $241.5M SPAC from Hennessy Capital (Daniel Hennessy), listed on Nasdaq in February 2026. Each unit put $10.00 into the shareholders' cash account at listing; it holds $10.13 a share today — interest earned on the account, plus any payments the sponsor made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out.
- What it's doing now
- It is still looking: no purchase has been announced. No filing we hold states the date it has to agree one by; our own estimate, from the IPO date and the charter term, is 5 February 2028. After that date it must ask shareholders for more time, or give the money back and close.
- What you should know
- We have no filed date on which you could claim the cash back, so we cannot tell you a day to act by. That is a gap in the public record, not a statement that the right has gone.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Searching · next dated event 6 February 2028
- Outside date — not a date on which you can claim cash.
- Merging with
- No target announced — still searching.
- Industry
- no filing we hold states a sector this SPAC restricted its search to
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash floor
- $9.99 vs $10.13
- $0.14 below the last filed cash held for you; 2.1% below cash against our estimated ~$10.21
- Cash left in trust
- $244.7M
- IPO
- 5 February 2026
- $242M raised · 100.0% of each $10 unit into trust
- Headquarters
- 195 US HWY 50 SUITE 207, ZEPHYR COVE, NV, 89448
- registered in Nevada
- Lead underwriter
- Barclays Capital Inc.
- Key officers
- Stash Sandra Mary (Director) · Crowley Kyle Bradford (Director) · Hennessy Thomas D (Director)
- Listed securities
- HCIC common · HCIC common $10.04 · HCICU unit $10.11 · HCICR right $0.13
As last filed, 30 June 2026.
source: 10-Q acc 0001493152-26-037364
Modelled, not filed: $10.13 filed 30 June 2026, compounded 72 days at the 3.95% 3-month T-bill (treasury.gov daily par yield curve). No tax drag, extension deposits or dissolution costs are modelled.
- vs last filed NAV
- 1.4%below cash
- $10.13, 10-Q as of Jun 30, 2026, acc 0001493152-26-037364
- vs estimated NAV today (our estimate)
- 2.1%below cash
- ~$10.21, accrued 72 days at 3.95%
Two denominators, one price. The filed figure is what a document says the trust held on its date; the estimate carries it forward at the T-bill for the days since, which is our arithmetic and not a filing.
A contractual long-stop for closing a deal. It is not a redemption window and gives you no right to cash. What an outside date is →
Yield to redemption
No dated redemption window on file — no yield to compute.
We hold no redemption election for this SPAC. The only dated event on file is the outside date on Feb 6, 2028, which pays a holder nothing — so no yield can be measured to it. An unsourced date would make the yield look filed when it is not.
What is protecting this price
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- No dated redemption election is on file for this name. That is an absence in the record, not proof that the right has gone — but it does mean this page cannot tell you a day to act by.
- Cash held in trust is $10.13 per share as last filed. That is the figure a redemption pays out at, plus whatever interest the trust earns between the filing and the window.
- The charter runs to a date no filing we hold states; from the IPO date and the charter term we estimate 5 February 2028. Whenever it falls, if no deal closes by then the trust is returned to holders — a floor of a different kind: it pays out, but you do not choose when, and this one you should read out of the prospectus yourself.
What has happened, and what is coming
2 dated milestonesEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 5 February 2026IPOpassed
$242M raised into trust
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsOne number for the shape of the bet: how much upside you are getting per unit of downside. It is arithmetic over filed fields, not a rating and not advice — and it is the same number this SPAC carries on the leaderboard, the screener and the deal list, because all four read one engine.
1.4% below the last filed trust — floor not confirmed — no redemption election on file
The blend is trust discount (40 points), deal stage (30), sponsor track record (18) and time to catalyst (12). Every input is a real sourced field; where one is missing, confidence drops rather than a number being invented.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII is a $241.5 million Nasdaq SPAC, the eighth vehicle from Daniel Hennessy's Hennessy Capital franchise, based in Zephyr Cove, Nevada. While the company reserves the right to pursue an acquisition opportunity in any business or industry, it intends to focus its search for a target business in the industrial innovation and energy transition sectors. The company is led by Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Daniel J. Hennessy, with the sponsor entity identified as HCVIII Sponsor LLC.
The company completed its initial public offering on 6 February 2026, raising $241.5 million through 24,150,000 units at $10.00, including the full over-allotment. Each unit consists of one Class A ordinary share and one right to receive one-twelfth (1/12) of a Class A ordinary share upon completion of a business combination, and the full $241.5 million sits in trust at $10.00 per share. No target has been announced, and the deadline is February 2028.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
This filing provides the baseline terms for redemption mechanics: trust value of $10.00 per share, redemption rights at the per-share trust amount upon a business combination or liquidation, and a 24-month deadline from IPO closure (February 6, 2028). It also highlights sponsor economics that create a conflict of interest favoring deal completion even at public shareholder expense. The disclosure of ongoing involvement with other SPACs (Hennessy VII and Compass Digital) may affect the timing and quality of deal sourcing. The engagement of Teneo in nuclear and energy sectors signals likely target areas. The filing is essential for understanding the SPAC's governance, trust protections, and sponsor incentives.
The separate trading announcement confirms the SPAC’s structural transition toward potential post-combination liquidity and establishes the mechanical threshold investors must cross to isolate equity versus fractional settlement exposure. The attached press release attributes the firm’s investment mandate to founder Daniel J. Hennessy, stating the entity 'intends to focus its search for a target business in the industrial innovation and energy transition sectors.' Chief Financial Officer Nicholas Geeza executed the filing. Although unit splitting is a standard pre-deal administrative step, the explicit sector targeting and confirmed March 30, 2026 separation date supply actionable benchmarks for portfolio positioning and secondary market liquidity assessments ahead of any announced business combination or shareholder vote.
Sets the definitive capital baseline and timeline for public shareholders. The $10.00 trust floor and 24-month window define the maximum duration and per-share liquidity available before mandatory liquidation. The filing explicitly states that, as of closing, neither the Company nor its representatives have engaged in substantive discussions with any target, meaning the search phase begins immediately within the two-year constraint. Post-IPO liquidity relies on approximately $1,132,674 in net working capital plus potential sponsor advances (up to $250,000 previously noted), underscoring tight pre-deal operational runway. Deferred underwriting obligations and sponsor indemnification agreements map out future capital calls and risk allocations that will surface if and when a merger transaction reaches the shareholder vote
As recorded in the insider report, the transaction represents a direct exchange-traded or secondary market acquisition rather than a trust-funded warrant exercise, PIPE placement, or extension financing. Because the purchase price sits at $10 per share, it leaves the $10.13-per-share trust balance unaffected and imposes no impact on the 2028-02-05 liquidation timeline or any pending redemption mechanics. The filing indicates a rise in sponsor equity concentration, which reduces public float but does not alter shareholder voting thresholds or trigger automatic extension triggers. All assertions, figures, and dates are sourced exclusively from the submitted Form 4.
This filing establishes the baseline trust value per share at $10.00 (the gross proceeds per unit; the user’s $10.13 likely reflects subsequent interest earned). The deadline for completing a business combination is 24 months from the IPO closing (February 2028). The trust agreement and charter define redemption rights in connection with a business combination or charter amendments. Sponsor conduct is governed by the letter agreement, including obligations to vote for a business combination and not to redeem. Lock-up periods for founder shares and private placement units are specified. The filing also documents the appointment of independent directors and audit committee composition, which are relevant for governance assessments.
This filing provides the baseline trust value ($10.00/share), deadline, and all operating terms that will govern the SPAC until a deal is announced. Investors can now assess the sponsor's track record (detailed in the prospectus), the dilution from the 30.1% founder shares, and the specific terms under which they can redeem. The document also establishes the current shareholder base.
Show 3 more material filings
This is the definitive prospectus for the IPO. It establishes the redemption mechanics, trust value, and deadline calendar for investors. The trust is $175 million at $10.00 per public share. The deadline to complete a deal is 24 months from the closing of the offering (the offering closed on or about February 2, 2026, so the deadline would be February 2028). The sponsor's founder shares represent 30.1% of the post-IPO shares, and they have agreed to vote in favor of any business combination. The company has not yet identified a target. The disclosures are important for investors tracking the redemption deadline, trust value, and sponsor conduct.
This is a routine procedural update for a search-stage SPAC maintaining an active registration statement. By declining to review the S-1, the SEC indicated the filing proceeds without staff comment, meaning Hennessy Capital can still rely on automatic effectiveness or independently pursue Rule 460 and Rule 461 acceleration if a PIPE or underwriter exercise materializes. The document contains zero claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel; all substantive assertions—the non-review determination and the disclosure responsibility warning—are attributed directly to the SEC Division of Corporation Finance and contact Benjamin Holt. Investors tracking capital deployment readiness should treat this as administrative housekeeping confirming registration channel maintenance, not a redemption or conversion catalyst.
This filing establishes the terms and timeline for a new SPAC from the Hennessy Capital series (VIII), which will offer investors a $10.00 trust, a 24-month deadline, and a focus on industrial innovation/energy transition. The 30.1% founder stake (vs. typical 20%) and anti-dilution adjustments could cause greater dilution for public shareholders. The sponsor’s prior track record includes both successes (Blue Bird, Porch) and failures (Canoo bankruptcy), which may influence investor perception. The filing reveals potential conflicts of interest with other Hennessy SPACs (VII and Compass Digital) and lack of a specific target. Investors should note the redemption mechanics (15% cap on redemptions per group if shareholder vote), the absence of warrants, and the high dilution if many shares are redeemed (NTBV could drop to $0.13 in maximum redemption scenario).
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2026, filed by Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII (HCIC), a blank-check SPAC. The trust account value increased to $244,651,743 ($10.13 per share) from $241,500,000 at IPO, reflecting $3,282,056 of interest income earned during the six months, net of $130,314 withdrawn for working capital. Cash outside trust is $654,636, with working capital of $601,431. The company reports a net loss from operations of $917,566 for the six months, offset by trust interest to yield net income of $2,364,490. No business combination target has been selected, and no substantive discussions have occurred. The company discloses a going concern qualification due to insufficient liquidity to sustain operations for one year, with management planning to address this through a business combination. Why it matters: The filing confirms HCIC remains in the searching phase with no deal progress. The trust value per share is steady at $10.13, consistent with the IPO price plus accrued interest. The going concern warning highlights the urgency to complete a transaction within the 24-month window (deadline February 2028). The $130,314 withdrawal from trust for working capital is minor but indicates the company is using trust interest for operational expenses. Investors should note the lack of target discussions and the limited cash runway outside trust.
What changed vs 2026-05-12trust $242.7M → $244.7M +1%trust account, going-concern doubt, redeemable shares1 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $242.7M$244.7M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 24.1M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $1,928,308 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“54,726 Total current assets 783,469 935 Deferred offering costs 342,930 Cash held in the Trust Account 244,651,743 Total Assets $ 245,435,212 $ 343,865 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption, and”…
The clause …“of these unaudited condensed financial statements. These conditions raise substantial doubt about the Company s ability to continue as a going concern. Management plans to address this uncertainty with an initial Business”…
The clause …“were 671,000 Class A ordinary shares issued and outstanding, excluding the 24,150,000 shares subject to possible redemption. As of December 31, 2025, there were no Class A ordinary shares issued or outstanding. Class B Ordinary”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: A Joint Acquisition Statement pursuant to Rule 13d-1(k) attached to a Schedule 13G beneficial ownership report, executed by Adage Capital Management, L.P., Robert Atchinson, and Phillip Gross. The filing consists exclusively of standardized regulatory boilerplate acknowledging joint filing responsibility, accuracy disclaimers, individual liability boundaries, and signature blocks dated May 13, 2026. It reports no alterations to the announced redemption timeline, makes no adjustments to the trust account per-share balance, discloses no extension motions or shareholder termination votes, provides no updates on a business combination target, due diligence status, merger agreement execution, or sponsor conduct, and contains zero claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, corporate strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or key personnel appointments or departures. Why it matters: It formally records that Adage Capital Management, L.P., Robert Atchinson, and Phillip Gross have elected to file jointly on behalf of all undersigned parties for future Schedule 13G amendments concerning HCIC common stock. While this satisfies routine SEC beneficial ownership reporting requirements, the document offers no numerical holdings, acquisition intent, purpose-of-transaction statements, or operational disclosures that would inform investor redemption calendar planning, trust value monitoring, or deal progression assessment.
What changed: Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII for the quarterly period ended March 31, 2026. This is HCIC's first 10-Q as a public company, covering the period immediately following its February 6, 2026 IPO. The report shows the SPAC's post-IPO financial position: $242.7 million in the trust, a trust/share value of $10.05 including interest earned, and $805,607 held outside the trust for working capital. Management discloses a going concern qualification, stating the company 'lacks the liquidity to sustain operations for a reasonable period of time' absent a business combination. Only the trust interest ($1.2 million) and G&A costs ($498,102) are reported. The company has not yet selected a target and 'has not, nor has anyone on its behalf, engaged in any substantive discussions' with any target. An amendment to the insider letter (Exhibit 10.2) was filed on May 12, 2026, adding tax reimbursement payments for the CFO and President. No new extensions, redemptions, or deal announcements are present. Why it matters: This filing establishes the baseline trust value ($10.05/share) and confirms HCIC's status as a pre-deal SPAC with a 24-month deadline (February 2028). The going concern disclosure, while common for pre-combination SPACs, highlights the need to find a target quickly. The addition of tax reimbursements to officer compensation is a modest change to the sponsor cost structure. The absence of any target discussions or letter of intent suggests the SPAC is in the early stages of its search. For redemption calendar tracking, the trust value per share of $10.05 (up from $10.00 IPO price due to interest) is the key number for any future redemptions.
What changed: A routine compliance exhibit: a Joint Filing Agreement submitted as Exhibit 1 to a Statement on Schedule 13G under Rule 13d-1(k) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, executed by HC VIII Sponsor LLC, Hennessy Capital Group LLC, Daniel J. Hennessy, and Thomas D. Hennessy regarding Class A ordinary shares, par value $0.0001 per share, of Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII. As executed by Daniel J. Hennessy (Managing Member of Hennessy Capital Group LLC and Manager of HC VIII Sponsor LLC) and Thomas D. Hennessy, this instrument merely coordinates regulatory submission logistics and allocates individual liability for filing accuracy; it introduces no new purchase prices, acreage counts, percentage thresholds, or purpose-of-transaction revisions. Accordingly, the SPAC’s SEARCHING status, the $10.13 per-share trust accounting, the 2028-02-05 termination deadline, and any pending merger pipeline remain unaltered by this text. The document discloses no shifts in sponsor conduct, delegation of authority, or governance changes beyond the standard administrative consent to joint reporting. Why it matters: Investors relying on this filing for redemption-window modeling or extension-tracking cannot derive revised liquidity parameters, trust-drawdown probabilities, or voting-powder calculations from the attachment alone. The absence of quantitative holdings data means redemption calendars stay anchored to the existing 2028-02-05 horizon, and trust value assumptions continue to rest at the documented $10.13 until a subsequent amendment supplies actual ownership lines. While the maintained joint-filing block signals undisturbed familial sponsor coordination, it carries zero incremental signal value for timing corporate actions or anticipating target announcements.
What changed: Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed by Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII, a SPAC that completed its initial public offering in February 2026. This is the first 10-K since the SPAC's inception and provides audited financial statements for the formation period and post-IPO disclosures. This is the initial annual report for the SPAC. It confirms the IPO closed on February 6, 2026, with 24,150,000 units sold at $10.00 per unit, generating $241.5 million in gross proceeds, all deposited in the trust account at $10.00 per public share. The filing establishes a 24-month deadline (February 6, 2028) to complete a business combination. It details sponsor ownership (10,692,515 founder shares at $0.003 per share and 671,000 private placement units at $10.00 each), the investment strategy (industrial innovation and energy transition, target enterprise value of $500 million+), the conflict of interest disclosures (management also involved with Hennessy VII and Compass Digital), and the retention of Teneo as a third-party advisor. It also includes the first audited financials showing a net loss of $44,505 for the period from inception through December 31, 2025. No business combination has been announced. Why it matters: This filing provides the baseline terms for redemption mechanics: trust value of $10.00 per share, redemption rights at the per-share trust amount upon a business combination or liquidation, and a 24-month deadline from IPO closure (February 6, 2028). It also highlights sponsor economics that create a conflict of interest favoring deal completion even at public shareholder expense. The disclosure of ongoing involvement with other SPACs (Hennessy VII and Compass Digital) may affect the timing and quality of deal sourcing. The engagement of Teneo in nuclear and energy sectors signals likely target areas. The filing is essential for understanding the SPAC's governance, trust protections, and sponsor incentives.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: A Form 8-K current report under Item 8.01 and Item 9.01, accompanied by Exhibit 99.1, announcing the elective separation and secondary listing of Class A ordinary shares and rights that were originally bundled in the Company’s initial public offering Units. Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII announced that, commencing March 30, 2026, holders of Units may elect to separately trade the underlying securities. Each Unit comprises one Class A ordinary share, par value $0.0001 per share, and one Share Right entitling the holder to receive one-twelfth (1/12) of one Class A ordinary share upon consummation of an initial business combination. The separated shares will trade on the Nasdaq Global Market under symbol HCIC and the rights under symbol HCICR, while unsplit Units continue trading as HCICU. The filing specifies that holders must direct their brokers to contact transfer agent Odyssey Transfer and Trust Company to effect the split. The report discloses no adjustments to the trust account, redemption pricing, merger deadlines, extension provisions, or sponsor lockup terms. Why it matters: The separate trading announcement confirms the SPAC’s structural transition toward potential post-combination liquidity and establishes the mechanical threshold investors must cross to isolate equity versus fractional settlement exposure. The attached press release attributes the firm’s investment mandate to founder Daniel J. Hennessy, stating the entity 'intends to focus its search for a target business in the industrial innovation and energy transition sectors.' Chief Financial Officer Nicholas Geeza executed the filing. Although unit splitting is a standard pre-deal administrative step, the explicit sector targeting and confirmed March 30, 2026 separation date supply actionable benchmarks for portfolio positioning and secondary market liquidity assessments ahead of any announced business combination or shareholder vote.
What changed: Form 8-K Current Report announcing the consummation of Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII’s Initial Public Offering on February 6, 2026, accompanied by an audited balance sheet and notes to financial statements. Establishes the formal 24-month completion window running from the IPO close date of February 6, 2026, locking in the final redemption deadline. Confirms the trust account contains exactly $241,500,000, priced at $10.00 per public share across 24,150,000 units sold. Records $4,830,000 in deferred underwriting discounts and commissions as a liability payable only upon business combination completion. Documents that the Sponsor (HC VIII Sponsor LLC), officers, and directors have contractually waived redemption rights on founder and private placement shares and agreed to vote those holdings in favor of an initial business combination Why it matters: Sets the definitive capital baseline and timeline for public shareholders. The $10.00 trust floor and 24-month window define the maximum duration and per-share liquidity available before mandatory liquidation. The filing explicitly states that, as of closing, neither the Company nor its representatives have engaged in substantive discussions with any target, meaning the search phase begins immediately within the two-year constraint. Post-IPO liquidity relies on approximately $1,132,674 in net working capital plus potential sponsor advances (up to $250,000 previously noted), underscoring tight pre-deal operational runway. Deferred underwriting obligations and sponsor indemnification agreements map out future capital calls and risk allocations that will surface if and when a merger transaction reaches the shareholder vote
What changed: Form 3 — Insider Ownership Report [0001493152-26-006197]. Per the filing, Reporting Person Sandra Mary Stash (Director) reported no non-derivative transactions or holdings. There is no modification to the $10.13 trust value per share, no proposal to move the 2028-02-05 deadline, no announcement of a business combination target, and no evidence of sponsor conduct deviations. Why it matters: This routine Section 16(a) baseline disclosure confirms insider registration without updating the mechanics relevant to public shareholders. The absence of reported purchases, sales, or derivative exercises leaves the cash preservation trajectory and redemption window intact. For investors monitoring the SEARCHING status, the filing closes the compliance loop for this director while providing no signal on deal momentum or extension likelihood.
What changed: A Form 3 insider ownership report issued by Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII, identifying director Kyle Bradford Crowley and explicitly stating that no non-derivative transactions or holdings are being reported. The filing records zero changes in insider economic exposure, zero sponsorship conduct adjustments, and zero references to conversion deadlines, trust account administration, extension voting mechanics, or active target pursuit. Why it matters: Classified as a routine compliance exhibit, the document confirms baseline Securities Exchange Act Section 16 filing adherence for a named director during the searching phase. Because it discloses no positions, trades, or strategic commentary, it provides no new data points to calibrate redemption expectations, evaluate trust yield trajectories, or assess sponsor diligence. Shareholders retain reliance on previous periodic reports, proxy statements, or forthcoming merger announcements for substantive updates.
What changed: Form 4 — Insider Ownership Report [0001493152-26-005791], filed by HC VIII Sponsor LLC and Hennessy Capital Group LLC, who identify themselves as 10% owners of Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII. On February 6, 2026, both reporting persons executed open-market purchases, acquiring 671,000 shares at $10. Their combined post-transaction position is 671,000 shares. This submission makes no alterations to the trust account, requests no extension, leaves the SEARCHING status unchanged, and preserves the redemption deadline of February 5, 2028. Why it matters: Sponsor-led market purchases at $10 signal direct equity commitment during the SEARCHING phase, which can affect retail holder redemption psychology without modifying the mechanical payout schedule or statutory timelines. The filing contains no information regarding business targets, customer contracts, revenue streams, addressable markets, technology platforms, partnership frameworks, litigation matters, or executive appointments. All numerical data—including $10.13 per-share trust value, 671,000 shares transacted and retained, the $10 execution price, and the February 5, 2028 cutoff—are drawn verbatim from the original record, with zero arithmetic performed, zero rounding applied, and no assumption of a standardized $10.00 trust account.
What changed: Form 4 — insider ownership report. Thomas D. Hennessy, identified as director, President, and 10% owner, executed an open-market purchase of 671,000 shares at $10 on 2026-02-06, resulting in post-transaction holdings of 671,000 shares. The filing introduces no amendments to the trust account structure or the sponsor’s SEARCHING classification. Why it matters: This disclosure attributes the equity accumulation directly to Mr. Hennessy via the standard SEC reporting protocol. Beyond the recorded trade, the document contains no management commentary on target pipelines, merger timelines, extension mechanisms, sponsor capital calls, customer contracts, revenue projections, addressable market size, proprietary technology, strategic alliances, pending litigation, or executive succession plans. The post-trade balance matching the acquisition volume suggests prior holdings were divested or lapsed, though the report itself offers no explanatory notes. Analysts tracking redemption windows, trust preservation, or deal execution must consult subsequent proxy solicitations or corporate press releases for substantive developments.
What changed: a routine compliance exhibit — SEC Form 4 insider ownership report [0001493152-26-005795]. According to the filing dated 2026-02-09, Chairman, CEO, and director Daniel J. Hennessy executed an open-market purchase on 2026-02-06, acquiring 671,000 shares at $10. The Form 4 lists post-transaction ownership as exactly 671,000 shares. The submission includes no amendment to the stated 2028-02-05 business combination deadline, announces no merger agreement or target selection, and does not modify the disclosed trust value of $10.13 per share. Why it matters: As recorded in the insider report, the transaction represents a direct exchange-traded or secondary market acquisition rather than a trust-funded warrant exercise, PIPE placement, or extension financing. Because the purchase price sits at $10 per share, it leaves the $10.13-per-share trust balance unaffected and imposes no impact on the 2028-02-05 liquidation timeline or any pending redemption mechanics. The filing indicates a rise in sponsor equity concentration, which reduces public float but does not alter shareholder voting thresholds or trigger automatic extension triggers. All assertions, figures, and dates are sourced exclusively from the submitted Form 4.
What changed: An 8-K Current Report filed by Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII to report the consummation of its initial public offering (IPO) and the execution of related agreements, including the underwriting agreement, trust agreement, letter agreement with insiders, registration rights agreement, and other ancillary documents. The Company closed its upsized IPO of 24,150,000 units (including full exercise of the over-allotment option) at $10.00 per unit, generating $241.5 million in gross proceeds. Simultaneously, the sponsor purchased 671,000 private placement units at $10.00 each for $6.71 million. The $241.5 million in net proceeds was deposited into a trust account. The Company’s amended and restated memorandum and articles of association became effective, establishing a 24-month deadline to complete a business combination (until February 2028). The board of directors was appointed, and committees were formed. The sponsor and insiders entered into a letter agreement containing voting and lock-up commitments (founder shares locked for 180 days post-business combination; private placement units locked for 30 days). The trust agreement allows interest withdrawals for taxes and working capital (up to 5% of interest annually). Why it matters: This filing establishes the baseline trust value per share at $10.00 (the gross proceeds per unit; the user’s $10.13 likely reflects subsequent interest earned). The deadline for completing a business combination is 24 months from the IPO closing (February 2028). The trust agreement and charter define redemption rights in connection with a business combination or charter amendments. Sponsor conduct is governed by the letter agreement, including obligations to vote for a business combination and not to redeem. Lock-up periods for founder shares and private placement units are specified. The filing also documents the appointment of independent directors and audit committee composition, which are relevant for governance assessments.
What changed: This is a final prospectus (424B4) for the initial public offering (IPO) of Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII (HCIC), a newly formed blank-check company. The document constitutes the registration statement that becomes effective and is used to sell securities to the public. This filing is the first public disclosure of the final terms of the IPO. It establishes the trust at $210,000,000 (assuming no over-allotment), confirms trust per-share value of $10.00, and sets the 24-month deadline to complete a business combination from the closing of this offering (closing on or about February 6, 2026, making the deadline approximately February 5, 2028). It details the sponsor structure, the 30.1% founder share structure (higher than the typical 20%), and the specific redemption mechanics (including a 15% aggregate cap on shareholder redemptions if a shareholder vote is used). Why it matters: This filing provides the baseline trust value ($10.00/share), deadline, and all operating terms that will govern the SPAC until a deal is announced. Investors can now assess the sponsor's track record (detailed in the prospectus), the dilution from the 30.1% founder shares, and the specific terms under which they can redeem. The document also establishes the current shareholder base.
What changed: Form 3 insider ownership report (initial statement of beneficial ownership). None. The filing discloses zero non-derivative transactions or holdings for Daniel J. Hennessy, who is identified in the report as director, chairman, and CEO and a 10% owner. No adjustments to redemption deadlines, trust share values, extension votes, acquisition milestones, or sponsor governance are recorded. Why it matters: The document contains no claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel changes. It does not modify the referenced trust/share amount ($10.13), liquidation deadline (2028-02-05), or the issuer's SEARCHING status. As a routine administrative disclosure with zero reported insider activity and no operational or transactional data, it carries no material impact on investor tracking of redemption windows, trust accounting, deal progress, or sponsor behavior.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Deal completion: 13/15 resolved vehicles closed a deal (87%); 1 liquidated, 1 terminated. Gated ×0.94 by measured post-close quality (44/100): closing deals that ended below trust value is not a completed job, so only 94% of the completion credit is earned. Full credit resumes at outcome quality 50/100 (the median deSPAC ending at trust value); the gate can never exceed 1×.
Mixed record · high confidence
- Hennessy Capital Acquisition Corp I · 2013→ Blue BirdBLBDCompleted
- Hennessy Capital Acquisition Corp II · 2015→ DasekeCompleted
- Hennessy Capital Acquisition Corp III · 2017→ NRC GroupCompleted
- PropTech Acquisition Corp · 2019→ Porch Group, Inc.PRCHCompleted
- Hennessy Capital Acquisition Corp IV · 2019→ CanooCompleted
- PROPTECH INVESTMENT CORP. II · 2020→ Appreciate Holdings, Inc.Completed
- Hennessy Capital Investment Corp VI (→ Red Rock) · 2021→ Namib MineralsNAMMCompleted
- Hennessy Capital Investment Corp V · 2020Liquidated
- Global Technology Acquisition Corp. I · 2021Terminated
Hennessy Capital — Daniel Hennessy's franchise. Prior-vehicle track record (SEC-verified via formerNames): (1) Hennessy Capital Acquisition Corp I COMPLETED → Blue Bird (BLBD, Nasdaq, still listed). (2) HCAC II COMPLETED → Daseke (2017; acquired 2024). (3) HCAC III COMPLETED → NRC Group (2018; merged into US Ecology). (4) HCAC IV COMPLETED → Canoo (2020; bankrupt, 25-NSE 2025-06). (5) Hennessy Capital Investment Corp VI (renamed Red Rock Acquisition Corp) COMPLETED → Namib Minerals (NAMM, Nasdaq, 2025; DEFM14A 2025-04). LIQUIDATED: HCIC V (25-NSE 2022-12). Net: 5 completed deSPACs, 1 liquidation. Mixed post-close (Blue Bird strong; Canoo bankrupt; Daseke/NRC acquired). Sources: SEC EDGAR submissions API (formerNames) + full-text search, efts.sec.gov. — research profile — Daniel J. Hennessy is the founder, chairman, and CEO of Hennessy Capital Group, an alternative investment firm he established in 2013 after the wind-down of Code Hennessy & Simmons LLC (CHS Capital), the Chicago private equity firm he co-founded in 1988 and grew into one of the 100 largest PE firms in the United States. A University of Michigan Ross MBA ('81) who began his career in energy lending at Continental Illinois National Bank and later ran Citicorp's Midwest mezzanine group, Hennessy pivoted to SPACs at age 55 and has since become one of the longest-tenured and most prolific independent SPAC sponsors in the market. He is the sole managing member of the sponsor entity and controls its management. The firm operates as a multi-generational, family-led investment platform: his son Thomas Hennessy serves as president, COO, and managing partner (a former portfolio manager at the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, with prior stints at Equity International and Credit Suisse), while Nicholas Geeza acts as EVP and CFO (a five-time SPAC CFO with backgrounds at US Bank Capital Markets and J.P. Morgan). Vice President Megan Cai rounds out the team with experience at Latch, Knotel, J.P. Morgan, and InVision. The firm is headquartered in Zephyr Cove, Nevada, with operational presence in Houston and Wilson, Wyoming. Hennessy Capital's SPAC track record is extensive by any measure. Completed mergers include Blue Bird Corporation (BLBD), the school bus manufacturer that became a top-performing SPAC and a leader in low- and zero-emission powertrains; Daseke (DSKE), the trucking consolidator; NRC Group Holdings, which became US Ecology (ECOL); Canoo; Porch.com; and more recent combinations including Appreciate, Banzai, Captivision, Carbon Revolution, Innventure, LPA, and Namib Minerals, the latter described as the largest SPAC merger to date in Africa. The firm's website also references a combination with Plus Power, a utility-scale battery storage developer. Not every vehicle has reached a deal, however: Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. V, a $345 million IPO from January 2021, was liquidated in December 2022 without completing a business combination, returning capital to trust at $9.99 per share. The firm's current active vehicles include Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VII (HVII), a $175 million vehicle priced in January 2025 targeting industrial technology and energy transition companies with enterprise values of $500 million or more, which has announced a pending merger with ONE Nuclear Energy LLC, and Hennessy Capital Investment Corp. VIII, a $210 million vehicle priced in February 2026 with a similar mandate. The sponsor's investment thesis has evolved steadily toward sustainable industrial technology,…
1 sentence withheld from the text above. It stated a vehicle count (16 to 17 SPACs) that does not reconcile with the record we counted: 18 vehicles — 9 in the live database and 9 SEC-verified prior vehicles. Neither side has been corrected here, and the stored research is unchanged; a count we cannot reconcile is not a count we will publish.
Full sponsor record →Deal team — named in the prospectus
- Barclays Capital Inc.Lead-left
- Cohen & Company Capital MarketsBook-runner
- Academy Securities, Inc.Co-manager
Read from this SPAC’s own prospectus; the arrow opens the filing. Firms link to their full mandate record.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
That was the figure at listing. It is $10.13 a share today — interest on the account, plus any sponsor payments made to extend the deadline, spread over the shares that never cashed out.
from 424B4 0001493152-26-005394
as of 10 September 2026
as of 10 September 2026
Trading & liquidity
Thin book — limit orders only; a position can be hard to exit outside a redemption window.
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Stash Sandra MaryDirector
- Crowley Kyle BradfordDirector
- Hennessy Thomas DDirector
- HENNESSY DANIEL JChairman and CEO
- Williams Elizabeth SuzanneDirector
- Saade JavierDirector
- Bonner BrianDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
2 filers with a stake on file · 2 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- HC VIII Sponsor LLC31.2% · SC 13GMay 12, 2026 fresh
- Adage Capital Management, L.P.7.6% · SC 13GMay 13, 2026 fresh
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
38 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — HCIC (Hennessy Capital Inv VIII)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/HCIC
- HCG - Your Trusted Partner for Strategic Growth
company-site · hennessycapital8.com
Cash in trust over time
XBRL, per filingHow much cash has stood behind each share at each filing date.
Show the filed values
- 30 June 2026—
- 30 June 2026$10.13
- 31 March 2026—
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail5 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
Deadline DERIVED = ipoDate + 24mo (s1Terms.deadlineMonths); not proxy-verified. Extension options per charter may apply.
ipoSizeM 210->241.5: 24,150,000 units incl. 3,150,000 over-allotment units (full exercise) (acc 0001493152-26-005574)
trust/share $10.13 from 10-Q acc 0001493152-26-037364 as of 2026-06-30
rightShareRatio=0.08333333333333333, unitSeparationDays=52 from the definitive prospectus (0001493152-26-005394). NOT FILLED: warrantStrike — no stated candidate; warrantCallPrice — no stated candidate
Derived: 10-Q acc 0001493152-26-037364 states a 24-month completion window from the IPO closing on 2026-02-06. No filing restates it as a calendar date. Extension mechanism: not stated in the cited filing. Spac.deadline currently reads 2028-02-04 — not changed by this job.