Energy Vault Holdings, Inc.
NXU · NYSE · formerly Novus Capital Corp II
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC, listed on NYSE in February 2021.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Energy Vault Holdings, Inc., a gravity-based energy storage systems company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. — Vault Energy Vault develops and deploys turnkey sustainable energy storage solutions designed to transform the world’s approach to utility-scale energy storage in realizing decarbonization while maintaining grid resiliency.
- Industry
- Industrials — gravity-based energy storage systems
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 5 February 2021
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 4165 EAST THOUSAND OAKS BLVD., WESTLAKE VILLIAGE, CA, 91362
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Hixon Dylan (Director) · Dahiya Nitin (Chief Financial Officer) · Beer Michael Thomas (Chief Financial Officer)
- Listed securities
- NXU common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 5 February 2021IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedIndustrials
What Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. does — read from energyvault.com on 26 August 2026
Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. is an energy storage company offering customer-driven solutions that encompass short, long, and ultra-long duration needs using proprietary battery, gravity, and hybrid-hydrogen technologies, supported by sophisticated software.
Energy StorageRenewable EnergyDeal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A- PIPE
- ≈ $100M · unsourced
PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.
stated in:0001104659-21-126855
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsNXU is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker NXU. The company priced its initial public offering on February 5, 2021, under SEC file number 333-252079, with shares registered for cash on S-1 form 0001104659-21-003895. The registrant self-described as a blank-check company in its 424B4 prospectus and was classified under SEC SIC code 3690 (Miscellaneous Electrical Machinery, Equipment & Supplies). On February 14, 2022, the company filed an 8-K (accession 0001104659-22-023106) reporting a change in shell company status under Item 5.06, establishing that it had completed a business combination and no longer files.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
This new secured debt facility layers on top of existing Yorkville (YA II PN, Ltd.) convertible debt arrangements (Original SPA Sept 2025, May 2026 SPA) and is tied to an Equipment Supply Agreement, indicating the post-SPAC company is aggressively levering up to fund operations and equipment purchases through 2027.
Revenue guidance of $270 to $310 million requires roughly $245 to $285 million in the second half against $17.4 million in the second quarter — the entire year rests on backlog conversion that has not yet appeared in revenue, and 60% of that backlog is explicitly long-dated owned-asset revenue rather than near-term deliveries. The two descriptions of the gross margin change in the same release are not the same act: raising a range's floor from 15% to 20% narrows it, and the release calls that both a lift and a narrowing.
The company itself flags that backlog and pipeline equating to future revenue is a forward-looking assumption rather than a fact, which is the frame a reader needs for the $2 billion backlog figure announced the same day. The condensed financial statements are not in the portion read here.
The facility nearly doubled from $42 million to $80 million in six weeks, and it converts into common stock, so the dilution overhang has grown in proportion. YA II PN is the same counterparty behind equity lines at other companies in this cohort, and its instruments typically convert at a discount to recent trading prices, meaning the share count expands faster as the price falls. For former NXU holders that is $80 million of convertible claims sitting ahead of the equity.
The fee table registers 123,817,989 shares of Class A common stock with no offering price per share, an aggregate of $547.43 and a fee of $0.05, previously paid. That aggregate is a Rule 457(f)(2) computation: Energy Vault is private, no market exists for its securities and it has an accumulated deficit, so the price is one-third of the aggregate par value of the securities to be exchanged. The share count is the only entry in the table that describes the transaction; the dollar figures describe the par value of the target's stock.
The fee is $0.05 on an aggregate of $547.43, because Rule 457(f)(2) values a private, loss-making target at one-third of aggregate par — the share count is the only usable figure in the table. The ratio's definition is 100,000,000 divided by Energy Vault's fully diluted share count, excluding Series C preferred from that denominator. Holders are also eligible for up to 9,000,000 Earn Out Shares on stated targets. The valuation sentences are unfinished as printed: the trust figure of $10.00 is tied to a record date left as January __, 2022, and the market-price alternatives read $[ ].
Show 2 more material filings
That aggregate is a Rule 457(f)(2) artefact, not a valuation: Energy Vault is private, no market exists for its securities and it has an accumulated deficit, so the price is one-third of the aggregate par value exchanged, and only the share count carries information. The letter values it differently — at the anticipated exchange ratio of 6.9419 Novus issues 108,963,033 shares said to be worth approximately $1.09 billion (the price and date behind it are left blank) plus up to 6,187,789 shares for options and restricted stock units. Up to 9,000,000 Earn Out Shares sit outside that count.
The $547.43 is a Rule 457(f)(2) construct — Energy Vault is private, no market exists for its securities and it has an accumulated deficit, so the price is one-third of the aggregate par value of the securities expected to be exchanged — and 115,150,822 is the only usable number in the table. The fee is computed at a rate of 0.0000927, so fee amounts here are not comparable with those in registration statements filed under a different SEC rate.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
What changed: Energy Vault Holdings (post-NXU SPAC) filed an 8-K disclosing a delayed draw term loan credit agreement with approximately $137.4M in total commitments, drawn on a schedule from August 2026 ($38.4M) through December 2027 ($4.8M), secured by collateral and bearing interest at Term SOFR plus an applicable rate, with a 1.00% commitment fee on undrawn amounts. Why it matters: This new secured debt facility layers on top of existing Yorkville (YA II PN, Ltd.) convertible debt arrangements (Original SPA Sept 2025, May 2026 SPA) and is tied to an Equipment Supply Agreement, indicating the post-SPAC company is aggressively levering up to fund operations and equipment purchases through 2027.
Show the other 10 filings
What changed: Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: NRGV) furnished a press release dated August 11, 2026 reporting second quarter 2026 results. Contract backlog reached $2 billion as of August 10, 2026, up $650 million sequentially, 47% quarter over quarter and 107% year over year, of which 40% is expected to convert to revenue over the next 12 to 18 months and 60% comes from owned and operated projects with long-term offtake agreements. Revenue was $17.4 million, up 104% from $8.5 million, GAAP gross profit $5.4 million at a 31.0% margin against 29.6%, and adjusted gross margin 38.6%. Why it matters: Revenue guidance of $270 to $310 million requires roughly $245 to $285 million in the second half against $17.4 million in the second quarter — the entire year rests on backlog conversion that has not yet appeared in revenue, and 60% of that backlog is explicitly long-dated owned-asset revenue rather than near-term deliveries. The two descriptions of the gross margin change in the same release are not the same act: raising a range's floor from 15% to 20% narrows it, and the release calls that both a lift and a narrowing.
What changed: The 10-Q filed under Commission file number 001-39982 is that of Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: NRGV) for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, with 181,839,570 shares outstanding as of August 6, 2026. Why it matters: The company itself flags that backlog and pipeline equating to future revenue is a forward-looking assumption rather than a fact, which is the frame a reader needs for the $2 billion backlog figure announced the same day. The condensed financial statements are not in the portion read here.
combination deadlinenothing moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
- Combination deadline
- not previously extracted2026-08-12
The clause “17.0 million and extend the deadline for executing a separate sales contract to August 12, 2026. In July 2026, the Company paid the additional $ 7.0 million reservation fee. The reservation fee is generally nonrefundable, except in”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: Energy Vault Holdings, Inc., the Novus Capital Corporation II successor, said its board appointed Nitin Dahiya, 49, as CFO on July 14, 2026, effective July 27, 2026. Dahiya has been a Senior Portfolio Manager at BlackRock since 2018 covering specialty finance and energy transition, and was previously at Paulson & Co. His offer letter provides an annual base salary of $435,000, an award of 400,000 restricted stock units, 400,000 performance restricted stock units vesting in three tranches on share price targets, a 75% annual bonus target and a $100,000 signing bonus. Why it matters: An 800,000-unit equity package for a single hire is the number a holder should note, and half of it vests only on the stock reaching specified price targets — management is being paid to move the share price, which is consistent with a company whose equity is well below its de-SPAC level. Hiring a credit and special-situations investor rather than an operating accountant as CFO also suggests financing or restructuring work ahead rather than routine reporting.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
No sponsor entity is named in the filings parsed for this SPAC so far.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1283 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001104659-26-004554
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Hixon DylanDirector
- Dahiya NitinChief Financial Officer
- Beer Michael ThomasChief Financial Officer
- Piconi RobertChief Executive Officer
- Ladwa AkshayChief Operations Officer
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
11 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- SB INVESTMENT ADVISERS (UK) LTDwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule13.9% · SC 13GFeb 22, 2022 stale
- Idealab Studio, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule6.4% · SC 13DMay 17, 2022 stale
- Sloss Dakinwith 6 other reporting persons on the same schedule5.5% · SC 13D/AFeb 7, 2023 stale
- SailingStone Capital Partners LLCwith 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule5.4% · SC 13GSep 16, 2024 stale
- Helena Special Investments LLC2.5% · SC 13D/AAug 18, 2022 stale
- HIGHBRIDGE CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLC2.5% · SC 13G/AJan 27, 2022 stale
- ADAGE CAPITAL PARTNERS GP, L.L.C.with 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 10, 2022 stale
- CITADEL ADVISORS LLCwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- INTEGRATED CORE STRATEGIES (US) LLCwith 6 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 13, 2023 stale
- Weiss Asset Management LPwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 6, 2023 stale
- Piconi Robertnot stated · SC 13DFeb 22, 2022 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
33 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — NXU (Energy Vault Holdings, Inc.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/NXU
- Vault deal note — Energy Vault Holdings, Inc. (NXU)
vault-note · /vault/deals/energy-vault-holdings-inc
- Energy Vault - Wikipedia
news · en.wikipedia.org
- Energy Vault® - Short Duration
company-site · energyvault.com
- Energy Vault® - Energy Storage Products
company-site · energyvault.com
- Energy Storage Solutions | Battery & Gravity Systems
company-site · energyvault.com
- Energy Vault® - Enabling a Renewable World™ Through Energy Storage
company-site · energyvault.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail4 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 3690 (Miscellaneous Electrical Machinery, Equipment & Supplies). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2021-01-13 → 8-A12B 2021-02-02 → 424B4 2021-02-05 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 3690 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001104659-21-012372; 424B 0001104659-21-012372 priced 2021-02-05 under S-1 0001104659-21-003895 (file 333-252079, an offering for cash); common ticker NXU off 10-K 0001410578-22-000107 (2022-02-10); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-252079, which belongs to S-1 0001104659-21-003895 (2021-01-13) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2021-02-05). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001104659-22-023106 (2022-02-14) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,3.03,4.01,5.01,5.02,5.03,5.06,9.01). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001828536 records "Novus Capital Corp II" ending 2022-02-14; the registrant continues as "Energy Vault Holdings, Inc.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2022-02-14. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=100 from primary filings (0001104659-21-126855).
pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow
OTHER -> BATTERY, on S-4/A 0001104659-22-003411: "Energy Vault, Inc., a Delaware corporation (“Energy Vault”) is a private company, no market exists for its securities, and Energy Vault has an accum"