Skip to main content
spacbrain

Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp.

IPOA · NYSE

Trust settledVirgin Galactic Holdings, Inc · Finished

NO ACTION REQUIRED

Nothing left to do

The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.

No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.

Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.

SpacBrain’s read

Trust settled

The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).


In plain terms

What it is
A SPAC, listed on NYSE in September 2017.
What it's doing now
It agreed to buy Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
What you should know
This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.

At a glance

Where it stands
Closed (deSPAC)
The business it bought
Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc — Galactic Holdings Virgin Galactic is an aerospace and space travel company, pioneering human spaceflight for private individuals and researchers with its advanced air and space vehicles.
Industry
the deal record does not name the target's industry yet
Deal value
not stated in the filings we hold
Price vs cash at settlement
no live price on file
Cash in trust when it settled
not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
IPO
15 September 2017
size not on file
Headquarters
1700 FLIGHT WAY, TUSTIN, CA, 92782
Lead underwriter
not extracted from the prospectus yet
Key officers
Mabus Raymond E (Director) · Ahrens Douglas T (Chief Financial Officer) · Chitale Aparna (CPO & EVP Astronaut Operations)
Listed securities
IPOA common
Cash held per sharenot filed for this window

This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.

Next date that mattersno dated event on file

Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.

Yield to redemption

Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.

This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.


What happened to the cash

The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.

  1. The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).

What has happened, and what is coming

1 dated milestone

Every dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.

  1. 15 September 2017IPOpassed

    IPO size not on file


The deal

terms as filed

What it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.

  • closed

    What Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc does — read from virgingalactic.com on 26 August 2026

    Virgin Galactic prepares next generation spaceships to carry thousands of astronauts to space and offers suborbital spaceflight expeditions. The company invites the public to vote on names for a new spaceship in its fleet. Spaceflight expeditions are currently fully booked with interest registration open for Fall 2026.

    SpaceflightTourismResearch
    Deal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A
    PIPE
    ≈ $0M · unsourced
    Min-cash condition
    $400M

    PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.


The score

deterministic, from filed fields

IPOA is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.

Asymmetric return scoreNeither a price nor a cash-per-share figure is on file for this vehicle, and the score is a ratio between the two. Nothing is estimated to fill the gap.

The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 295 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.

See the names that are scored, and how


The company

from SEC filings
Read the full profile

Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. was a Cayman Islands exempted company formed on May 5, 2017 as a blank-check special purpose acquisition company for the purpose of effecting a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization or similar business combination with one or more businesses. The SPAC priced its initial public offering on September 15, 2017, with its common stock listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol IPOA, pursuant to a registration statement filed under SEC file number 333-220130. The offering was made under the Securities Act of 1933 as a registration of shares sold for cash, and the registrant self-described as a blank-check company in its pricing prospectus (Form 424B4). Specific figures for gross proceeds, trust size, per-share trust amounts, and warrant or right terms were not separately specified in the available source documents.

On October 25, 2019, the company domesticated as a Delaware corporation and consummated its business combination with the Virgin Galactic group of companies pursuant to an Agreement and Plan of Merger dated July 29, 2019, as amended on October 2, 2019. The merger involved Vieco USA, Inc., Vieco 10 Limited, TSC Vehicle Holdings, Inc., Virgin Galactic Vehicle Holdings, Inc., and Virgin Galactic Holdings, LLC, among other parties. Upon closing, the entity was renamed Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc., and its common stock began trading on the NYSE under the symbol SPCE. The transaction was formally reported in an 8-K filed October 29, 2019, which included an item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status," confirming the completion of the SPAC's lifecycle. The post-combination company is a vertically-integrated aerospace business pioneering human spaceflight for private individuals and researchers, headquartered at 1700 Flight Way, Tustin, California 92782.


Material findings

from the full read of every filing

Every document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.

  • Final approval closes both derivative actions against the company's directors, removing them as contingencies. The settlement's terms and any payment are in the press release furnished as Exhibit 99.1 and are not stated in this document.

  • Total debt fell by about $105 million over the half-year while capitalised property and equipment rose $77 million. The statements of operations are not covered by this summary; the quarter's results are stated in the company's earnings release filed the same day (accession 0001706946-26-000126).

  • Commercial service slips by roughly a quarter while the company burns $80–100 million a quarter against $286 million of liquidity, and the equity that funded the quarter came from an ATM program the company says is substantially exhausted. The stated $50 million-plus addition to future spaceflight revenue from the $750,000 tranche is booked demand, not recognised revenue.

  • The exchange cuts the outstanding 2027 notes by roughly 75%, from $70.4 million to $17.9 million of principal, removing most of a maturity that falls due next year. The cost is equity: the pre-funded warrants exist solely so the holder can manage its beneficial ownership and are intended to be economically equivalent to shares, so the dilution is the full 17,350,341 regardless of how it is held.

  • The increase is the dilution a holder is being asked to absorb: 9,450,000 new shares added to the pool, taking the total reserved to 17,120,437, and the authority to keep granting for a further ten years to June 11, 2036. For a company whose share count is the main lever on per-share value, an equity pool of that size is a standing claim on future ownership regardless of operating results. The plan was approved by stockholders at the annual meeting, so the authorisation is already effective rather than pending.

  • This is the definitive version, so the meeting date is fixed and the redemption window runs against it. The prospectus covers 3,078,448 units, 65,228,822 shares of common stock and 22,999,980 redeemable warrants issued in the Domestication itself — each Class A ordinary share converts one-for-one into common stock, so no exchange ratio dilutes existing holders at that step. Closing is conditioned on NYSE confirming conditional approval to list the units, common stock and warrants as SPCE.U, SPCE and SPCE WS, and the filing states that condition may be waived.

Show 10 more material filings
  • Nothing new is being sold to the public here: the registered securities are the SCH units, shares and warrants converting by operation of law in the Domestication, which is why the registration fee is computed under Rule 457(f)(1) off market prices rather than off a deal value. Those prices are $10.9514 per unit and $10.45 per Class A ordinary share, both the August 2, 2019 NYSE high-low average, and $1.79 per warrant, giving a total offering price of $761,805,250.12 and a fee of $92,330.82. Each unit carries one share and one-third of one redeemable warrant.

  • Three amendments in and the registered amounts have not moved, so the review that produced them concerned disclosure rather than the size of the deal. What is registered is still SCH's own IPO securities converting one-for-one on the Domestication under Section 388 of the DGCL rather than stock issued to the target, and each unit remains one share of common stock plus one-third of one redeemable warrant. A holder reading this version for a change in the dilution they face will not find one on the cover.

  • The registered amounts are unchanged from the previous version, so this amendment does not alter what a public holder is being asked to accept in size terms. The counts separate units that had not yet been split as of the first filing from shares and warrants already separated, which means they describe the state of unit separation in August 2019 rather than a fixed capital structure. Each unit is one share of common stock plus one-third of one redeemable warrant, and every class converts one-for-one on the Domestication.

  • Nothing about the size of the registration moved at this amendment, so whatever changed sits in the body rather than on the cover. The securities registered remain SCH's own IPO units, public shares and public warrants converting one-for-one on the Domestication rather than stock issued to the target, and each unit is still one share of common stock plus one-third of one redeemable warrant. The prices behind the fee are Rule 457(f)(1) estimates from August 2, 2019 trading, so they measure SCH's market price at filing rather than the terms of the merger.

  • What is registered is the SPAC's own IPO securities converting into Delaware form rather than stock issued to the target: units, public shares and public warrants each convert one-for-one on the Domestication, and the counts merely split units from already-separated shares as of the first filing date. Each unit is one share of common stock plus one-third of one redeemable warrant. The $92,330.82 fee is computed off August 2, 2019 market prices of $10.9514 per unit, $10.45 per Class A ordinary share and $1.79 per warrant, so those are Rule 457(f)(1) estimates, not deal terms.

  • The September 2019 liquidation deadline defines the maximum holding period and triggers mandatory cash redemption at ~$10.00 per share if no deal completes. The sponsor’s waiver of redemption rights and agreement to vote in favor of any transaction concentrates deal approval control with insiders while protecting public trust value.

  • The redemption waivers and pro-combination voting commitments directly reduce expected shareholder outflows and increase deal certainty ahead of the merger vote. This governance action aligns board incentives with successful business combination execution, supporting trust value preservation.

  • This is the audited version of the same event and it corrects the arithmetic in the September 18 8-K (0001144204-17-048456), which had the IPO leg at $653,850,000 against a $690,000,000 total. Where the two disagree this one governs: it carries an audited balance sheet. $690,000,000 of trust on 69,000,000 public units is $10.00 per unit by the filing's own two figures, and the $24,150,000 deferred discount is a claim ahead of holders at closing.

  • This is the founding datum for the vehicle: $690,000,000 in trust against 69,000,000 public units, and a 24-month clock from September 18, 2017. Read the trust composition carefully — this filing says the $690,000,000 comprises $653,850,000 of IPO proceeds (including $24,150,000 of deferred underwriting discount) plus $12,000,000 of private placement proceeds, which sums to $665,850,000, not $690,000,000. The 8-K filed four days later (0001144204-17-049294) states the same total as $678,000,000 plus $12,000,000, which does sum. Use the later figure.

  • This marks the SPAC's IPO pricing date, establishing the initial capital raise and trust funding timeline that precedes any subsequent business combination activity.


Filings

live EDGAR feed

Everything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.

  • What changed: Virgin Galactic Holdings reported under Item 8.01 that it issued a press release on August 18, 2026 announcing that the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of New York entered an order on August 14, 2026 granting final approval of the settlement of the consolidated derivative action In re Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. Derivative Litigation, No. 1:22-cv-00933, and the derivative action St. Jean v. Branson et al., No. 1:22-cv-7551. Why it matters: Final approval closes both derivative actions against the company's directors, removing them as contingencies. The settlement's terms and any payment are in the press release furnished as Exhibit 99.1 and are not stated in this document.

  • What changed: Q2 2026 10-Q of Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: SPCE). Cash and equivalents rose to $187,340 thousand at June 30, 2026 from $144,727 thousand at December 31, 2025 while marketable securities fell to $67,714 thousand from $162,313 thousand, leaving total current assets of $312,583 thousand versus $372,898 thousand. Property, plant and equipment rose to $465,848 thousand from $388,730 thousand and total assets to $816,276 thousand. Why it matters: Total debt fell by about $105 million over the half-year while capitalised property and equipment rose $77 million. The statements of operations are not covered by this summary; the quarter's results are stated in the company's earnings release filed the same day (accession 0001706946-26-000126).

    going-concern doubtnothing moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“there are conditions or events, considered in the aggregate, that raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for twelve months from the date the condensed consolidated financial statements”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: Exhibit 99.1 to an 8-K of Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: SPCE): the August 12, 2026 press release reporting Q2 2026 results. Cash, equivalents and marketable securities were $286 million at June 30, 2026. Revenue was $134 thousand versus $406 thousand a year earlier, attributable to access fees from future astronauts. Why it matters: Commercial service slips by roughly a quarter while the company burns $80–100 million a quarter against $286 million of liquidity, and the equity that funded the quarter came from an ATM program the company says is substantially exhausted. The stated $50 million-plus addition to future spaceflight revenue from the $750,000 tranche is booked demand, not recognised revenue.

Show the other 10 filings
  • What changed: Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc., successor to Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp., closed a privately negotiated exchange on June 29, 2026 with a holder of its 2.50% convertible senior notes due 2027. $52,479,000 of principal plus accrued interest was exchanged for 17,350,341 shares of common stock and pre-funded warrants carrying a nominal exercise price of $0.0001. The holder accepted the shares in lieu of the cash it would otherwise have been entitled to for principal and interest. Why it matters: The exchange cuts the outstanding 2027 notes by roughly 75%, from $70.4 million to $17.9 million of principal, removing most of a maturity that falls due next year. The cost is equity: the pre-funded warrants exist solely so the holder can manage its beneficial ownership and are intended to be economically equivalent to shares, so the dilution is the full 17,350,341 regardless of how it is held.

  • What changed: Item 5.02: at Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc.'s 2026 Annual Meeting on June 11, 2026 stockholders approved the Fourth Amended and Restated 2019 Incentive Award Plan, adopted by the board on April 14, 2026 and effective on stockholder approval. The Fourth A&R Plan increases the shares available by 9,450,000, bringing an aggregate of 17,120,437 shares reserved for issuance, sets the same 17,120,437 aggregate as the limit on shares that may be granted as incentive stock options, and extends the right to grant awards through June 11, 2036. Why it matters: The increase is the dilution a holder is being asked to absorb: 9,450,000 new shares added to the pool, taking the total reserved to 17,120,437, and the authority to keep granting for a further ten years to June 11, 2036. For a company whose share count is the main lever on per-share value, an equity pool of that size is a standing claim on future ownership regardless of operating results. The plan was approved by stockholders at the annual meeting, so the authorisation is already effective rather than pending.


The record

The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.

Show the reference detail

Unit structure

Cash in trust at IPOnot extracted from the prospectus

from 424B3 0001193125-26-021128

Trading & liquidity

Average daily volume (20d)no volume reported on the bars we hold
Average daily $ volumeneeds both volume and a live price
Range over the bars heldnot enough price history
Total cash in trustthe trust total is not in the last XBRL stamp

Company profile

Industry (SIC)Transportation Services (4700)
Registered innot stated in SEC submissions
Exchange · CIKNYSE · 0001706946

All filings on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab

Directors & officers


Institutional holders

from SC 13G/13D

Funds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.

Show the declared stakes

15 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.

One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.


News

company wires and the financial press

Reporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.


Sources on file

harvested pages, kept in full

Every public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.

Show the sources

In plain English

tap a term to open it

Every piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.

Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected

A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date

Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you

Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.

Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you

Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.

Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes

The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.

ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside

SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.

De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company

The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.

Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal

A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.

Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since

A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.


Ask the brain

from its filings
Data provenance & audit trail4 internal entries

Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.

IPOA — company record
UNIVERSE-IPO-INDEX2026-08-17

admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 4700 (Transportation Services). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2017-08-23 → 8-A12B 2017-09-12 → 424B4 2017-09-15 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 4700 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001144204-17-048312; 424B 0001144204-17-048312 priced 2017-09-15 under S-1 0001144204-17-044783 (file 333-220130, an offering for cash); common ticker IPOA off 8-K 0001193125-19-272712 (2019-10-23); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-220130, which belongs to S-1 0001144204-17-044783 (2017-08-23) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2017-09-15). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001193125-19-276659 (2019-10-29) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,5.01,5.02,5.06,9.01). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.

NAME-REPAIR2026-08-31

"Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc" is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp." per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001144204-17-048312 filed 2017-09-15. §98

Deal — Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc
UNTAGGED

[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001706946 records "Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp." ending 2019-10-23; the registrant continues as "Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2019-10-23. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=0.025, minCashM=400 from primary filings (0001193125-19-215509).

PIPE2026-08-29

pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow