Skip to main content
spacbrain

HCM II Acquisition Corp.

HOND · Nasdaq

Trust settledTerrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/ · Finished

NO ACTION REQUIRED

Nothing left to do

The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.

No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.

Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.

SpacBrain’s read

Trust settled

The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).


In plain terms

What it is
A SPAC from HCM Investor Holdings II, LLC, listed on Nasdaq in August 2024.
What it's doing now
It agreed to buy Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/, a small modular reactor nuclear technology company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
What you should know
This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.

At a glance

Where it stands
Closed (deSPAC)
The business it bought
Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/
Industry
Utilities — small modular reactor nuclear technology
Deal value
not stated in the filings we hold
Price vs cash at settlement
no live price on file
Cash in trust when it settled
not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
IPO
16 August 2024
size not on file
Headquarters
2730 W. TYVOLA ROAD, SUITE 100, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28217
registered in Delaware
Lead underwriter
not extracted from the prospectus yet
Key officers
Cowan Pamela Beth (EVP, Engineering) · McCarthy Kathryn Ann (Director) · Millsap Steven M. (General Counsel)
Listed securities
HOND common
Cash held per sharenot filed for this window

This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.

Next date that mattersno dated event on file

Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.

Yield to redemption

Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.

This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.


What happened to the cash

The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.

  1. The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).

What has happened, and what is coming

1 dated milestone

Every dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.

  1. 16 August 2024IPOpassed

    IPO size not on file


The deal

terms as filed

What it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.

  • closedUtilities

    What Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/ does — read from terrestrialenergy.com on 26 August 2026

    Terrestrial Energy is an industry-leading technology company committed to delivering reliable, emission-free, and cost-competitive nuclear energy with a transformative advanced reactor, the Integral Molten Salt Reactor (IMSR). The IMSR uses molten salt coolant to operate safely at high temperatures and low pressures, providing high-temperature heat for industrial processes and electricity generation without emitting air pollution.

    Nuclear EnergyIndustrial HeatElectricity Generation
    Deal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A
    Min-cash condition
    $100M

The score

deterministic, from filed fields

HOND is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.

Asymmetric return scoreNeither a price nor a cash-per-share figure is on file for this vehicle, and the score is a ratio between the two. Nothing is estimated to fill the gap.

The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.

See the names that are scored, and how


The company

from SEC filings
Read the full profile

HCM II Acquisition Corp. was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the Nasdaq Stock Market under the ticker IMSR. The company priced its initial public offering on August 16, 2024, under SEC file number 333-280283, with the pricing prospectus filed as 424B4 (accession 0001140361-24-037680) and the underlying registration on Form S-1 (accession 0001140361-24-030416) filed June 18, 2024. The registrant self-described as a blank-check company in that prospectus, and the SEC assigned it SIC industry code 3443 (Fabricated Plate Work (Boiler Shops)) and CIK 0002019804. The vehicle completed a business combination and no longer files, with the closing established by an 8-K (accession 0001213900-25-105304) filed November 3, 2025, reporting a change in shell company status under Item 5.06; EDGAR now files the CIK under the name Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/.


Material findings

from the full read of every filing

Every document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.

  • The SPAC phase is over with minimal redemptions, but the post-deal company is burning cash at an accelerating rate ($14.8M operating cash use in 1H 2026 vs $6.9M in 1H 2025) with no revenue. With 30.3M warrants outstanding at $8.24 weighted average exercise price and 105.9M shares outstanding, investors should monitor cash runway against the company's stated 12-month sufficiency assessment.

  • With $283.4M in liquidity and a modest ~$6.4M quarterly burn, the post-de-SPAC company has a multi-year runway to advance licensing and site characterization. NRC topical report approvals and site control at RELLIS are concrete regulatory and operational milestones that de-risk the path toward first IMSR plant deployment in the early 2030s.

  • 151,970,541 shares is the first stated ceiling on what HCM II may issue in this deal, so this is the first version from which a public shareholder can size the dilution rather than infer it. The cover also states that HCM II redeems the public shares properly tendered for redemption at least one day prior to the Domestication, so a holder exercises and settles the redemption right as a Cayman shareholder, before the vehicle becomes a Delaware corporation. The proxy statement/prospectus is still preliminary and the meeting date is not fixed.

  • Two amendments into September the share and warrant counts are still blank, so this version tells an HCM II holder what the structure is but not what it costs them. The renaming language did move: Amendment No. 2 said the company would be renamed Terrestrial Energy Inc. in connection with the consummation of the business combination, and this version says effective immediately following the consummation. Public shares properly tendered for redemption are redeemed at least one day prior to the Domestication, so the redemption right is exercised as a Cayman shareholder.

  • The prospectus cover registers up to [ ] shares of common stock and [ ] warrants, so the amount an HCM II public shareholder would be diluted by is not stated at this version and cannot be derived from it. What is fixed is the sequence: HCM II redeems the public shares properly tendered for redemption at least one day prior to the Domestication under its Cayman constitutional documents, so the redemption election is settled while the vehicle is still a Cayman Islands exempted company rather than after it has become a Delaware corporation.

  • The prospectus cover still registers up to [ ] shares of common stock and [ ] warrants, so this first amendment does not yet tell an HCM II public shareholder how much stock the deal issues. What it does fix is the order of events: at least one day prior to the Domestication, HCM II redeems the public shares properly tendered for redemption under its Cayman constitutional documents. A holder therefore exercises the redemption right as a shareholder of a Cayman Islands exempted company, before the vehicle becomes a Delaware corporation.

Show 1 more material filings
  • The cover registers up to [ ] shares of common stock and [ ] warrants, so the founding version of this deal's registration statement states no dilution figure at all. It does fix the redemption sequence: at least one day prior to the Domestication, HCM II redeems the public shares properly tendered for redemption in connection with the business combination under its Cayman constitutional documents. The proxy statement/prospectus is preliminary and subject to completion, and the extraordinary general meeting date is not yet set.


Filings

live EDGAR feed

Everything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.

  • What changed: HCM II Acquisition Corp. completed its business combination with Terrestrial Energy Development Inc. on October 28, 2025, receiving ~$292M gross proceeds ($50M PIPE + ~$242M trust after <1% redemptions), and is now operating as Terrestrial Energy Inc. (IMSR). This 10-Q for Q2 2026 shows $130.7M cash, $142.8M short-term investments, and a net loss of $19.9M for the six months ended June 30, 2026, with operating expenses up 135% YoY driven by R&D and G&A growth. Why it matters: The SPAC phase is over with minimal redemptions, but the post-deal company is burning cash at an accelerating rate ($14.8M operating cash use in 1H 2026 vs $6.9M in 1H 2025) with no revenue. With 30.3M warrants outstanding at $8.24 weighted average exercise price and 105.9M shares outstanding, investors should monitor cash runway against the company's stated 12-month sufficiency assessment.

  • What changed: Terrestrial Energy (IMSR) reported Q2 2026 results with a $9.4M net loss, $283.4M in cash/investments, and $6.4M quarterly cash burn, alongside NRC approval of its PIE methodology Topical Report and a signed ground lease with Texas A&M for 77 acres at the RELLIS site. The company raised its estimated lifetime revenue per IMSR Plant to $2.7B (from $2.1B) at 33% blended gross margin and signed an MOU with Riot Platforms for data center co-location. Why it matters: With $283.4M in liquidity and a modest ~$6.4M quarterly burn, the post-de-SPAC company has a multi-year runway to advance licensing and site characterization. NRC topical report approvals and site control at RELLIS are concrete regulatory and operational milestones that de-risk the path toward first IMSR plant deployment in the early 2030s.

  • What changed: Terrestrial Energy Inc., the HCM II Acquisition Corp. successor, reported that on July 27, 2026 Shawn Matthews informed the company he was resigning from the board of directors, effective the same day. The filing states his decision was not the result of any disagreement on any matter relating to the company's operations, policies or practices. No replacement director, committee reassignment or severance arrangement is disclosed, and the report is signed by Chief Financial Officer Brian Thrasher. Why it matters: Shawn Matthews led the HCM II SPAC that took this company public, so his departure ends the sponsor's direct board presence at the successor roughly a year after closing — the point at which sponsor lock-ups and founder-share restrictions typically lapse. Nothing here touches a trust or a redemption right, and no disagreement is disclosed, but a sponsor principal stepping off the board is a signal about how long the SPAC side intends to stay involved in the company it created.

Show the other 10 filings
  • What changed: Terrestrial Energy Inc., the HCM II Acquisition Corp. successor, said its board appointed Kathryn McCarthy as a director effective July 22, 2026. She has been a Senior Advisor at Oak Ridge National Laboratory since 2025, was Director of its US ITER Project Office from 2020 to 2025, Vice President of R&D at Canadian Nuclear Laboratories from 2017 to 2020, and held senior roles at Idaho National Laboratory from 2003 to 2017. She is paid under the non-employee director policy. Why it matters: No trust, redemption right or deadline is affected. The appointment matters as a capability signal at a pre-revenue nuclear developer: a director whose career is in national-laboratory fission and fusion programmes strengthens the technical and government-relations side of a board whose value to holders rests almost entirely on regulatory progress. It also arrives days before the resignation of the SPAC sponsor principal from the same board, so the composition is shifting from deal-makers to operators.

  • What changed: Terrestrial Energy Inc., the HCM II Acquisition Corp. successor, reported under Item 7.01 that on July 21, 2026 it made its investor presentation available on its investor relations website for use in general corporate and investor communications, and furnished a copy as Exhibit 99.1. The information is expressly furnished rather than filed, so it is not subject to Section 18 liability and is not incorporated by reference into Securities Act or Exchange Act filings. The report is signed by Chief Executive Officer Simon Irish. Why it matters: Posting an investor deck carries no trust, redemption or deadline consequence, and the furnishing language keeps the contents outside Section 18 liability — which is precisely why forward-looking material about a pre-revenue nuclear developer appears in a presentation rather than a periodic report. For a former HOND holder the deck is useful context but not a disclosure they can rely on; the periodic filings remain the place where cash runway and programme milestones must be stated.

  • What changed: Terrestrial Energy Inc., the HCM II Acquisition Corp. successor, reported under Item 5.02(b) that the employment of Steven Millsap as General Counsel, Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer will end effective September 12, 2026. The report gives no reason for the departure, names no successor, discloses no severance arrangement and states nothing about whether the departure was voluntary. It is signed by Chief Executive Officer Simon Irish. Why it matters: Losing the General Counsel, Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer in one departure removes three functions from a recently listed company that must maintain SEC reporting and, as a nuclear developer, an intensive regulatory interface. The filing's silence on cause and successor is itself notable — Item 5.02 requires disclosure of a resignation over disagreements, and none is claimed. Combined with a director resignation weeks later, it points to broader turnover at the top of this de-SPAC.


The record

The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.

Show the reference detail

Unit structure

Cash in trust at IPOnot extracted from the prospectus

from 424B3 0002019804-26-000027

Trading & liquidity

Average daily volume (20d)no volume reported on the bars we hold
Average daily $ volumeneeds both volume and a live price
Range over the bars heldnot enough price history
Total cash in trustthe trust total is not in the last XBRL stamp

Company profile

Industry (SIC)Fabricated Plate Work (Boiler Shops) (3443)
Registered inDelaware
Exchange · CIKNasdaq · 0002019804

All filings on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab

Directors & officers


Institutional holders

from SC 13G/13D

Funds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.

Show the declared stakes

5 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.

One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.


News

company wires and the financial press

Reporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.

Show the headlines

Sources on file

harvested pages, kept in full

Every public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.

Show the sources

35 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.


In plain English

tap a term to open it

Every piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.

Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected

A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date

Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you

Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.

Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you

Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.

Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes

The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.

ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside

SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.

De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company

The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.

Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal

A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.

Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since

A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.


Ask the brain

from its filings
Data provenance & audit trail6 internal entries

Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.

HOND — company record
UNIVERSE-IPO-INDEX2026-08-17

admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 3443 (Fabricated Plate Work (Boiler Shops)). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2024-06-18 → 8-A12B 2024-08-15 → 424B4 2024-08-16 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 3443 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001140361-24-037680; 424B 0001140361-24-037680 priced 2024-08-16 under S-1 0001140361-24-030416 (file 333-280283, an offering for cash); common ticker HOND off 10-Q 0001213900-25-075067 (2025-08-12); lifecycle ACTIVE. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-280283, which belongs to S-1 0001140361-24-030416 (2024-06-18) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2024-08-16). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001213900-25-105304 (2025-11-03) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,3.03,5.01,5.02,5.03,5.05,5.06,9.01). EDGAR now files this CIK as "Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/" — the SPAC's own name is kept here and the successor is the target. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.

SPONSOR-ID2026-08-14

sponsor "HCM Investor Holdings II, LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K/A) acc 0001213900-25-064894.

WEBSITE-NONE2026-08-26

Deal — Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/
UNTAGGED

[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0002019804 records "HCM II Acquisition Corp." ending 2025-10-29; the registrant continues as "Terrestrial Energy Inc. /DE/". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2025-10-29. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] minCashM=100 from primary filings (0001213900-25-077577).

PROFILE-STUB2026-08-25

entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read

SEGMENT-FROM-FILING2025-09-04

OTHER -> NUCLEAR_ENERGY, on S-4/A 0001213900-25-084249: "the volume weighted average closing price of the VanEck Uranium and Nuclear Energy ETF on the NYSE Arca being greater than or equal to $63.00 for the twenty (20"