Skip to main content
spacbrain

Gores Metropoulos, Inc.

GMHI · Nasdaq

Trust settledLuminar Technologies, Inc./DE · Finished

NO ACTION REQUIRED

Nothing left to do

The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.

No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.

Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.

SpacBrain’s read

Trust settled

The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).


In plain terms

What it is
A SPAC, listed on Nasdaq in February 2019.
What it's doing now
It agreed to buy Luminar Technologies, Inc./DE, an automotive lidar sensors and software company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
What you should know
This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.

At a glance

Where it stands
Closed (deSPAC)
The business it bought
Luminar Technologies, Inc./DE — Luminar is a global technology company advancing safety, security and autonomy across automotive, commercial, and defense sectors.
Industry
Information Technology — automotive lidar sensors and software
Deal value
not stated in the filings we hold
Price vs cash at settlement
no live price on file
Cash in trust when it settled
not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
IPO
1 February 2019
size not on file
Headquarters
2603 DISCOVERY DRIVE, SUITE 100, ORLANDO, FL, 32826
Lead underwriter
not extracted from the prospectus yet
Key officers
Schiano Dominick (Director) · RICCI PAUL (Chief Executive Officer) · Abrams Merrill Elizabeth (Director)
Listed securities
GMHI common
Cash held per sharenot filed for this window

This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.

Next date that mattersno dated event on file

Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.

Yield to redemption

Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.

This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.


What happened to the cash

The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.

  1. The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).

What has happened, and what is coming

1 dated milestone

Every dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.

  1. 1 February 2019IPOpassed

    IPO size not on file


The deal

terms as filed

What it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.


The score

deterministic, from filed fields

GMHI is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.

Asymmetric return scoreNeither a price nor a cash-per-share figure is on file for this vehicle, and the score is a ratio between the two. Nothing is estimated to fill the gap.

The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.

See the names that are scored, and how


The company

from SEC filings
Read the full profile

Gores Metropoulos, Inc. was a special purpose acquisition company (SPAC) that completed its initial public offering on February 1, 2019, with its common stock trading on the Nasdaq Stock Market under the ticker symbol GMHI. The SPAC was sponsored by Gores Metropoulos Sponsor, LLC, and its pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-228739, with the registrant self-describing as a blank-check company in its 424B4 filing. The company was headquartered at 2603 Discovery Drive, Suite 100, Orlando, Florida 32826. Specific figures regarding the IPO's gross proceeds, trust size, per-share trust amount, and the initial business-combination deadline are not available from the cited source documents.

On August 24, 2020, Gores Metropoulos entered into an Agreement and Plan of Merger with Luminar Technologies, Inc. ("Legacy Luminar"), a Delaware corporation founded by Austin Russell that develops lidar-based sensors and proprietary software for autonomous vehicles. The business combination closed on December 2, 2020, pursuant to which Dawn Merger Sub, Inc. merged with and into Legacy Luminar, followed by the surviving corporation merging into Dawn Merger Sub II, LLC. On the closing date, the combined company changed its name from Gores Metropoulos, Inc. to Luminar Technologies, Inc., and its common stock and public warrants began trading on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the symbols LAZR and LAZRW, respectively.

The merger consideration included the issuance of 42,064,871 shares of Class A common stock to Legacy Luminar stockholders, with a per-share company stock consideration of approximately 13.6309. The SPAC's sponsor held 10,000,000 founder shares and 6,666,666 private warrants issued at an exercise price of $11.50 per share in connection with the IPO, while 13,333,309 public warrants were also outstanding at the same exercise price. The transaction also provided for up to 7.5% of the total outstanding capital stock as earn-out shares to Legacy Luminar stockholders, and Austin Russell received 105,118,203 executive shares of Class A stock underlying Class B stock. The SPAC's change in shell company status was reported in an 8-K filed on December 8, 2020, marking the conclusion of the Gores Metropoulos vehicle lifecycle.


Material findings

from the full read of every filing

Every document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.

  • A Nasdaq 20% Rule vote on a securities purchase agreement signed six weeks earlier, combined with a plan reserve increase, means holders are approving two separate sources of dilution at one meeting. Series A Convertible Preferred already votes on an as-converted basis alongside Class A and founder-held Class B, so the public block's influence is diluted before the new issuance even occurs. The Gores Metropoulos trust was released at the de-SPAC.

  • The deadline is the tell: authority expires December 31, 2024, so the board is asking for a tool it intends to use within weeks rather than a standing option, which is how listing-compliance splits are timed. Including treasury shares in the split keeps the company's own holdings proportionate. An adjournment proposal accompanies the item to solicit additional proxies if the split lacks support — a common necessity when a large retail base must be reached.

  • The plan increase is being sought in a year the company acknowledges it lowered guidance, driven primarily by lower than expected sensor sales — so holders are asked to fund retention out of a falling share price. Five months later the same board would return for authority to reverse split the stock before December 31, 2024, which means the shares approved here would be consolidated shortly after issuance, at a ratio holders had not yet seen.

  • There is no transaction here for a holder to vote on or redeem against — the filing registers a standing capacity to pay for acquisitions in stock. Luminar states it expects no cash proceeds, expects shares issued to be valued at a price reasonably related to the prevailing market price at or about the time each acquisition is agreed or consummated, and may pay finder's fees in shares issued under the same prospectus. It also permits recipients of those shares to use the prospectus to offer and resell them.

  • An assigned file number means the SEC has taken the registration statement up, and an amendment at this stage is normally responding to staff comment rather than renegotiating terms. The first several pages of this document are inline-XBRL context tags rather than prospectus text, so the deal economics — the per-share consideration, the contingent shares and the reserve — are not restated on the face of the amendment and must be read from the body of the proxy statement/prospectus it contains.

  • The per-share consideration is fully specified here: 13.5787 shares of Class A stock per Luminar share, computed as $2,928,828,692 plus a maximum $30,000,000 Subsequent Series X Financing Amount, divided by $10.00, then divided by the sum of 20,265,546 Luminar shares outstanding immediately before the First Merger and 1,524,704 shares issuable on Luminar options and warrants. The registered 220,234,292 also carries 15,308,450 shares of contingent consideration and 35,000,000 held in reserve for future issuance.

Show 1 more material filings
  • The exchange ratio of 13.5787 is derived in the fee table itself: a $2,928,828,692 valuation plus the $30,000,000 maximum Subsequent Series X Financing Amount, divided by $10.00, divided by the 20,265,546 Luminar shares outstanding immediately before the first merger plus 1,524,704 shares issuable under options and warrants. Luminar's capital structure is fifteen classes deep — Class A, Founders Preferred, Series A through A-11 and Series X — and all of it converts at that single ratio. The fee uses $12.02, the average of the high and low prices of the public shares on September 8, 2020.


Filings

live EDGAR feed

Everything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.

Show the other 10 filings

The record

The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.

Show the reference detail

Unit structure

Cash in trust at IPOnot extracted from the prospectus

from 424B3 0001628280-25-016052

Trading & liquidity

Average daily volume (20d)no volume reported on the bars we hold
Average daily $ volumeneeds both volume and a live price
Range over the bars heldnot enough price history
Total cash in trustthe trust total is not in the last XBRL stamp

Company profile

Industry (SIC)Motor Vehicle Parts & Accessories (3714)
Registered innot stated in SEC submissions
Exchange · CIKNasdaq · 0001758057

All filings on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab

Directors & officers


Institutional holders

from SC 13G/13D

Funds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.

Show the declared stakes

13 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.

One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.


News

company wires and the financial press

Reporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.


Sources on file

harvested pages, kept in full

Every public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.


In plain English

tap a term to open it

Every piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.

Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected

A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date

Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you

Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.

Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you

Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.

Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes

The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.

ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside

SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.

De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company

The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.

Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal

A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.

Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since

A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.


Ask the brain

from its filings
Data provenance & audit trail3 internal entries

Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.

GMHI — company record
UNIVERSE-IPO-INDEX2026-08-17

admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 3714 (Motor Vehicle Parts & Accessories). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2018-12-11 → 8-A12B 2019-01-31 → 424B4 2019-02-01 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 3714 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001193125-19-026020; 424B 0001193125-19-026020 priced 2019-02-01 under S-1 0001193125-18-346393 (file 333-228739, an offering for cash); common ticker GMHI off 10-Q 0001564590-20-051947 (2020-11-06); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-228739, which belongs to S-1 0001193125-18-346393 (2018-12-11) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2019-02-01). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001193125-20-312776 (2020-12-08) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,3.03,4.01,5.01,5.02,5.06,9.01). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.

NAME-REPAIR2026-08-31

"Luminar Technologies, Inc./DE" is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "Gores Metropoulos, Inc." per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001193125-19-026020 filed 2019-02-01. §98

Deal — Luminar Technologies, Inc./DE
UNTAGGED

[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001758057 records "Gores Metropoulos, Inc." ending 2020-12-02; the registrant continues as "Luminar Technologies, Inc./DE". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2020-12-02. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists.