Capitol Investment Corp. V
CAP · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from Capitol Acquisition Management V, LLC, listed on NYSE in December 2020.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Doma Holdings, Inc., a title insurance and real estate settlement technology company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Doma Holdings, Inc.
- Industry
- Financials — title insurance and real estate settlement technology
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 3 December 2020
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 201 SPEAR ST., SAN FRANCISCO, CA, 94105
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Wolfe Serena (Director) · Moldow Charles (Director) · Simkoff Maxwell (Chief Executive Officer)
- Listed securities
- CAP common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 3 December 2020IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedFinancials
What Doma Holdings, Inc. does — read from doma.com on 26 August 2026
Doma Holdings, Inc. is transforming the mortgage closing process using AI-first technology to reduce the cost and complexity of the mortgage experience for lenders, mortgage brokers, and homeowners.
mortgagetitle insurance
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsCAP is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 295 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Capitol Investment Corp. V is a Delaware blank check company formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, stock exchange, asset acquisition, stock purchase, reorganization, or similar business combination with one or more businesses or entities. The company, which was not limited to any particular industry or geographic location in selecting a target, was the fifth blank check vehicle established by Mark D. Ein and L. Dyson Dryden, who together had previously completed four SPAC transactions across diverse industries over a 13-year period. Capitol Investment Corp. V priced its initial public offering on December 3, 2020, raising $300 million through the sale of 30,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, with units listed on the NYSE under the symbol "CAP.U." Each unit consisted of one share of Class A common stock and one-third of one redeemable warrant, with whole warrants exercisable at $11.50 per share; the Class A common stock and warrants traded separately under the symbols "CAP" and "CAP WS." The underwriters—Citigroup, Deutsche Bank Securities, and Morgan Stanley—held a 45-day over-allotment option for up to 4,500,000 additional units. Of the offering proceeds, $300.0 million ($345.0 million if the over-allotment was exercised in full) was deposited into a trust account at $10.00 per unit with Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company acting as trustee.
The sponsor was Capitol Acquisition Management V, LLC, controlled by Mark D. Ein, the company's Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, and Capitol Acquisition Founder V, LLC, controlled by L. Dyson Dryden, the President, Chief Financial Officer, and Director. Ein brought over 30 years of private equity, venture capital, and public acquisition company experience, having previously been a Principal at The Carlyle Group and the founder of Venturehouse Group, while Dryden contributed over 20 years of M&A, capital formation, and investing experience, including prior service as a Managing Director in Citigroup's Investment Banking division. The sponsors and independent directors agreed to purchase 5,233,333 private placement warrants at $1.50 per warrant ($7,850,000 aggregate) in a simultaneous private placement, and the initial stockholders held 8,625,000 shares of Class B common stock. The company's charter required completion of an initial business combination within 24 months of the closing of the offering, failing which it would redeem 100% of its public shares at the per-share trust value.
Capitol Investment Corp. V completed its business combination with Doma Holdings, Inc., a San Francisco-based title insurance and real estate technology company that uses machine intelligence to transform residential real estate closings, after which the successor entity adopted the Doma name and the SPAC's lifecycle concluded. Following the merger, EDGAR reassigned the registrant's SIC code from 6770 (blank check) to 6361 (title insurance), and Form 25 was filed on September 27, 2024, under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3), evidencing the substitution of the Capitol shares for those of the successor company. Doma Holdings, formerly known as States Title and Spear Holding, operates through underwriting and corporate segments, is headquartered at 201 Spear Street, San Francisco, California 94105, and is currently classified as an acquired/merged operating subsidiary.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
This is a take-private cash exit for a de-SPAC, ending public ownership rather than extending it. The use of a special committee and a disinterested stockholder standard signals that an affiliated or conflicted party was on the other side, so the fairness process, not the headline price, is where minority holders' protection lies. The negotiation history disclosed, including a November 17, 2023 counterproposal to the TRG Group, shows the board ran a contested process before settling with Centerbridge. Employees are protected only through a continuation period ending December 31, 2024.
The vote has two separate hurdles, which is unusual and protective: adoption needs a majority of the outstanding voting power AND a majority of the voting power held by the Disinterested Stockholders. That second test exists because the Lennar Stockholders hold about 25% of the voting power, a Doma director is Executive Chairman of Lennar Corp., and Lennar has agreed to roll its merger proceeds plus a further $17 million into Topco for roughly 8.36% of the buyer on a fully diluted basis. It is a going-private transaction: Doma stops filing reports with the SEC.
A signed take-private agreement announced six weeks before the annual meeting changes the calculus entirely: CAP-legacy holders are heading for a cash outcome rather than continuing equity risk, and the annual ballot is largely moot if the merger closes. The proxy here does not state the per-share price, so a holder must read the separate merger proxy for that figure. Three simultaneous board resignations in January 2023 remain the governance flag in the background.
Doma's preferred stock takes the overwhelming majority of the consideration: 212,703,420 shares go to preferred holders against 66,215,083 to holders of common, with 4,349,702 more for warrants outstanding as of June 4, 2021 that are exercised before closing or convert at it. On top sit up to 691,608 shares reserved for Doma warrants that convert into New Doma warrants, and up to 18,155,000 earnout shares issuable after the combination — so the registered ceiling includes stock that is not issued at closing at all.
Doma's preferred stock dominates the consideration: of the 283,809,427 shares issued at closing, 184,442,150 go to holders of Doma preferred stock against 65,928,357 to common holders, with 33,438,920 more for warrants that are exercised before closing or convert into the right to receive stock. On top sit up to 694,247 shares for surviving Doma warrants and up to 18,155,000 earnout shares. The whole structure rests on a Per Share Merger Consideration Value of $2.917 billion, at an estimated exchange ratio of about 6.0369.
The registered total breaks into parts a holder should not conflate: 284,251,575 shares at closing — 65,839,913 for Doma common stock, 184,891,309 for Doma preferred and 33,520,353 for warrants outstanding as of March 15, 2021 — plus up to 727,406 reserved for Doma warrants that convert rather than exercise, plus up to 18,155,000 contingent earnout shares. All of it is computed at an estimated exchange ratio of approximately 6.0516, itself derived from a Per Share Merger Consideration Value of $2.917 billion.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
Capitol Acquisition Management V, LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1280 tracked SPACs (24%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001722438-22-000171
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Wolfe SerenaDirector
- Moldow CharlesDirector
- Simkoff MaxwellChief Executive Officer
- Summers Lawrence HenryDirector
- Williams MaxineDirector
- Smith Michael AlanEVP & Chief Financial Officer
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
11 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- LENNAR CORP /NEW/with 3 other reporting persons on the same schedule24.8% · SC 13D/AApr 1, 2024 stale
- Simkoff Maxwell15.1% · SC 13DAug 5, 2021 stale
- Capitol Acquisition Management V, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule2.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 15, 2022 stale
- Fifth Wall Ventures Management GP, LLCwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule2.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 3, 2023 stale
- INTEGRATED CORE STRATEGIES (US) LLCwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule1.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 11, 2022 stale
- Capitol Acquisition Founder V, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule1.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 10, 2022 stale
- CITADEL ADVISORS LLCwith 6 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
- Foundation Capital VIII, L.P.with 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13D/ADec 9, 2024 stale
- Soroban Capital Partners LPwith 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
- ARISTEIA CAPITAL LLC0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
- Feis Lawrence Michaelwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AJul 28, 2021 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
- Doma, the Company Architecting the Future of Real Estate Transactions Completes Business Combination with Capitol Investment Corp. V
Business Wireundated by the source
- Doma Holdings, Inc. Reports Strong First Quarter Earnings Driven by 83% Increase in Closed Orders
Business Wireundated by the source
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
36 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — CAP (Capitol Investment Corp. V)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/CAP
- Vault deal note — Doma Holdings, Inc. (CAP)
vault-note · /vault/deals/doma-holdings-inc
- Doma Holdings 2026 Company Profile: Valuation, Investors, Acquisition | PitchBook
news · pitchbook.com
- Enterprise - Doma
company-site · doma.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail6 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 6361 (Title Insurance). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2020-11-04 → 8-A12B 2020-12-01 → 424B4 2020-12-03 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 6361 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001213900-20-040785; 424B 0001213900-20-040785 priced 2020-12-03 under S-1 0001213900-20-035056 (file 333-249856, an offering for cash); common ticker CAP off 10-Q 0001213900-21-038806 (2021-07-27); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-249856, which belongs to S-1 0001213900-20-035056 (2020-11-04) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2020-12-03). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per Form 25 0000876661-24-000880 (2024-09-27) — Form 25 filed under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3) — the rule for securities that "have come to evidence other securities in substitution therefor", i.e. the shares became the successor's (class: Common Stock). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "Capitol Acquisition Management V, LLC" (SEC CIK 0001833386) sourced from Form 3 reportingOwner (10% owner) acc 0001213900-20-040292.
"Doma Holdings, Inc." is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "Capitol Investment Corp. V" per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001213900-20-040785 filed 2020-12-03. §98
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001722438 records "Capitol Investment Corp. V" ending 2021-07-28; the registrant continues as "Doma Holdings, Inc.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2021-07-28. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] terminationFeeM=1.822134 from primary filings (0001437749-24-022986).
entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read
OTHER -> FINTECH, on DEFM14A 0001437749-24-022986: "Company management believes it is well positioned with its technology and underwriting capabilities to participate in the FHFA “title acceptance” pi"