Gores Holdings III, Inc.
GRSH · Nasdaq
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC, listed on Nasdaq in September 2018.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy PAE Inc, a government services and outsourced operations company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- PAE Inc
- Industry
- Industrials — government services and outsourced operations
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 7 September 2018
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 7799 LEESBURG PIKE, FALLS CHURCH, VA, 22043
- registered in SEC code VA — not yet resolved to a place
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Gores Tom · Samson Louis (Director) · Moline Rene (President, NSS)
- Listed securities
- GRSH common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 7 September 2018IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedIndustrialsDeal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A
- PIPE
- ≈ $220M · unsourced
- Break fee
- $80M
PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsGRSH is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
Gores Holdings III, Inc. was a special purpose acquisition company incorporated in Delaware on October 23, 2017, formed for the purpose of effecting a merger, capital stock exchange, asset acquisition, stock purchase, reorganization, or similar business combination with one or more target businesses. The SPAC was sponsored by Gores Sponsor III LLC, and its independent directors prior to the business combination included Randall Bort, William Patton, and Jeffrey Rea. The company priced its initial public offering on September 7, 2018, and consummated the IPO on September 11, 2018, raising gross proceeds through the sale of 40,000,000 public units (including 2,500,000 units sold pursuant to the underwriters' partial exercise of their over-allotment option) at $10.00 per unit. Each unit consisted of one share of Class A common stock and one-third of one Public Warrant, with the Public Warrants exercisable at $11.50 per share. The units, common stock, and warrants traded on Nasdaq under the symbols GRSH, GRSHU, and GRSHW, respectively. In connection with the IPO, the Former Sponsor purchased 6,666,666 Private Placement Warrants at $11.50 per share exercise price in a simultaneous private placement.
On November 1, 2019, Gores III entered into an Agreement and Plan of Merger with Shay Holding Corporation, the parent entity of Pacific Architects and Engineers (PAE), a defense and government services contractor founded in 1955 and then owned by Platinum Equity. The business combination closed on February 10, 2020, pursuant to which Gores III acquired 100% of Shay's stock through a two-step merger involving EAP Merger Sub, Inc. and EAP Merger Sub II, LLC. Upon closing, the registrant changed its name from Gores Holdings III, Inc. to PAE Incorporated and its trading symbols from GRSH and GRSHW to PAE and PAEWW, respectively. The transaction included 21,127,823 shares issued as stock consideration, up to 4,000,000 earn-out shares, 7,000,000 conversion shares from founder shares (3,000,000 founder shares having been cancelled), and a concurrent private placement of 23,913,044 shares of Class A common stock for approximately $220,000,005 in gross proceeds. The post-combination company was subsequently delisted from Nasdaq effective February 15, 2022, following a merger with Amentum Government Services Holdings LLC.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
Every public share is cashed out at $10.05, without interest and less applicable withholding, leaving no ongoing ownership in the business — the opposite of a de-SPAC, and a figure close enough to a trust price to be misread as one by anything assuming a SPAC context. The document states premiums of approximately 70% over the closing price on October 22, 2021, the last trading day before announcement, and approximately 68% and 47% over the thirty- and sixty-trading-day volume-weighted average prices ended that date. PE Shay Holdings, LLC, PAE's largest stockholder, has committed to vote.
This is a take-private, not a de-SPAC: Parent and Merger Sub are affiliated with American Securities LLC and Goldberg Lindsay Co. LLC. The document puts the consideration at a premium of approximately 70% over the closing price on October 22, 2021 and approximately 68% and 47% over the thirty- and sixty-trading-day volume-weighted averages ended that date. The fee rests on a proposed maximum aggregate value of $999,359,502.29, built from 93,117,234 shares plus RSU and PSU awards at $10.05, and 19,999,985 warrant shares valued separately. Meeting and record dates are left blank.
Flagged at reduced confidence because the SPAC-shaped extraction windows return almost nothing here - there is no trust, no redemption line and no completion deadline to find, and the stored text opens with several hundred raw inline-XBRL context identifiers rather than readable prose. The one SPAC legacy still live is the earn-out: the Shay Stockholders, being Platinum Equity affiliates and PAE management, may receive up to 4,000,000 additional Class A shares over a five-year period from the business combination.
The SPAC has completed its life cycle, so trust, redemption and deadline data no longer exist for this ticker. What matters now is operating performance: a global government-services business of roughly 20,000 employees that swung to profit in 2020 despite a $187.4 million revenue drag from COVID-19, and that carries real leverage, with 19,999,985 legacy warrants still outstanding from the 2018 SPAC IPO. Treat any post-2020 filing under this CIK as operating-company disclosure rather than shell disclosure.
With the meeting date fixed at February 7, 2020, the redemption window a public holder must act within is finally determinable, which the preliminary version left open. The economics are unchanged and remain a formula rather than a price: aggregate merger consideration of approximately $1.4 billion, moved by a working capital collar of $105,000,000 to $112,500,000, by Shay's closing cash and tax refunds, and reduced by unpaid income taxes, all borrowings under the Existing Credit Agreements, transaction expenses above $5,000,000 and Participation Plan payments.
The aggregate merger consideration is expected to be approximately $1.4 billion, but it is a formula rather than a number: it moves with a working capital collar of $105,000,000 to $112,500,000, with Shay's closing cash and income tax refunds, and it is reduced by accrued unpaid income taxes, by all borrowings under the Existing Credit Agreements, by transaction expenses above $5,000,000 and by amounts owed under the 2016 Participation Plan. The filing fee was computed on a maximum transaction value of $1,552,000,000 at $129.80 per $1,000,000, giving $201,449.60.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
No sponsor entity is named in the filings parsed for this SPAC so far.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1283 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001720821-21-000030
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Gores Tom10% owner
- Samson LouisDirector
- Moline RenePresident, NSS
- Munchel Patricia M.C.EVP & CHRO
- BADER PAULDirector
- Heinberg MarshallDirector
- Bickett ClintonInterim President, GMS
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
13 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- Gores Sponsor III LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule9.1% · SC 13D/ASep 25, 2020 stale
- Grosvenor Capital Management, L.P.with 12 other reporting persons on the same schedule8.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2023 stale
- DAVIDSON KEMPNER PARTNERSwith 5 other reporting persons on the same schedule7.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 11, 2021 stale
- HIGHBRIDGE CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule6.3% · SC 13G/AFeb 13, 2020 stale
- BlackRock Inc.5.8% · SC 13GMar 11, 2022 stale
- Magnetar Financial LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule5.3% · SC 13DNov 2, 2021 stale
- INTEGRATED CORE STRATEGIES (US) LLCwith 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule4.9% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- ELEMENT CAPITAL MANAGEMENT LLCwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule2.4% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2020 stale
- Park West Asset Management LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.6% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- DEUTSCHE BANK AG\0.2% · SC 13G/AFeb 16, 2021 stale
- PE Shay Holdings, LLCwith 10 other reporting persons on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13D/AFeb 17, 2022 stale
- MASSACHUSETTS FINANCIAL SERVICES CO /MA/0.0% · SC 13G/AFeb 2, 2022 stale
- CRAMER ROSENTHAL MCGLYNN LLCnot stated · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2022 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
36 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — GRSH (Gores Holdings III, Inc.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/GRSH
- Vault deal note — PAE Inc (GRSH)
vault-note · /vault/deals/pae-inc
- Pacific Architects and Engineers - Wikipedia
news · en.wikipedia.org
- PAE | Sustainable Mechanical, Electrical, Engineering, Technology and Lighting Design
company-site · pae-engineers.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail6 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 8700 (Services-Engineering, Accounting, Research, Management). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2018-08-10 → 8-A12B 2018-09-04 → 424B4 2018-09-07 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 8700 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001047469-18-006055; 424B 0001047469-18-006055 priced 2018-09-07 under S-1 0001047469-18-005577 (file 333-226794, an offering for cash); common ticker GRSH off 10-Q 0001564590-19-042957 (2019-11-12); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-226794, which belongs to S-1 0001047469-18-005577 (2018-08-10) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2018-09-07). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per Form 25 0001354457-22-000137 (2022-02-15) — Form 25 filed under 17 CFR 240.12d2-2(a)(3) — the rule for securities that "have come to evidence other securities in substitution therefor", i.e. the shares became the successor's (class: Class A Common Stock and Warrants). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
"PAE Inc" is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "Gores Holdings III, Inc." per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001047469-18-006055 filed 2018-09-07. §98
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001720821 records "Gores Holdings III, Inc." ending 2020-02-11; the registrant continues as "PAE Inc". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2020-02-11. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=220.000005, terminationFeeM=80 from primary filings (0001193125-20-014348, 0001193125-22-006749).
entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read
pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow
OTHER -> DEFENSE_SPACE, on DEFM14A 0001193125-22-006749: "PAE Incorporated , a Delaware corporation, is a leading, highly diversified, global company that provides a broad range of operational solutions and outsourced "