Skip to main content
spacbrain

Star Peak Energy Acquisition Corp.

STPK · NYSE · formerly Star Peak Energy Transition Corp.

Trust settledSTEM, INC. · Finished

NO ACTION REQUIRED

Nothing left to do

The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.

No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.

Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.

SpacBrain’s read

Trust settled

The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).


In plain terms

What it is
A SPAC from Star Peak Sponsor LLC, listed on NYSE in August 2020.
What it's doing now
It agreed to buy STEM, INC.. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
What you should know
This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.

At a glance

Where it stands
Closed (deSPAC)
The business it bought
STEM, INC. — Stem provides clean energy solutions and services designed to maximize the economic, environmental, and resiliency value of energy assets and portfolios.
Industry
the deal record does not name the target's industry yet
Deal value
not stated in the filings we hold
Price vs cash at settlement
no live price on file
Cash in trust when it settled
not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
IPO
19 August 2020
size not on file
Headquarters
1400 POST OAK BOULEVARD, SUITE 560, HOUSTON, TX, 77056
Lead underwriter
not extracted from the prospectus yet
Key officers
BUZBY DAVID S (Director) · Shivram Krishna (Director) · Daley Adam (Director)
Listed securities
STPK common
Cash held per sharenot filed for this window

This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.

Next date that mattersno dated event on file

Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.

Yield to redemption

Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.

This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.


What happened to the cash

The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.

  1. The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).

What has happened, and what is coming

1 dated milestone

Every dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.

  1. 19 August 2020IPOpassed

    IPO size not on file


The deal

terms as filed

What it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.

  • closed

    What STEM, INC. does — read from stem.com on 26 August 2026

    Stem is a global leader in AI-driven clean energy solutions and services. The company helps asset owners, operators, and stakeholders benefit from the full value of their energy portfolio by enabling the intelligent development, deployment, and operation of clean energy assets. Stem offers an integrated software suite called PowerTrack, which includes components for solar, storage, and hybrid systems, supported by managed services and AI consulting.

    Clean EnergySolarEnergy StorageHybrid Systems
    Deal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A
    PIPE
    ≈ $225M · unsourced
    Min-cash condition
    $200M

    PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.


The score

deterministic, from filed fields

STPK is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.

Asymmetric return scoreNeither a price nor a cash-per-share figure is on file for this vehicle, and the score is a ratio between the two. Nothing is estimated to fill the gap.

The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 292 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.

See the names that are scored, and how


The company

from SEC filings
Read the full profile

Star Peak Energy Acquisition Corp. was a blank-check company whose common stock traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker STPK. The company priced its initial public offering on August 19, 2020, under SEC file number 333-240267, with shares registered for cash on S-1 0001104659-20-089149 and a pricing prospectus filed as 424B4 0001104659-20-096940. Its SEC CIK is 0001758766 and its SIC industry code is 7373 (Services-Computer Integrated Systems Design). The ticker STPK appears on the cover page of a 10-Q filed on November 16, 2020 (accession 0001104659-20-125801). The vehicle completed a business combination and no longer files, with its closed status established by an 8-K filed on May 4, 2021 (accession 0001104659-21-061061) reporting a change in shell company status under item 5.06. EDGAR now files this CIK under the name STEM, INC.


Material findings

from the full read of every filing

Every document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.

  • The entire swing from prior-year net income to this year's loss is the absence of last year's $220.0 million debt-extinguishment gain; the operating loss actually halved. Liabilities are nearly twice total assets, with $319.2 million of notes outstanding.

  • Revenue is falling because the company is shedding low-margin battery hardware resale, and margins and adjusted EBITDA are rising as a result; the reported net loss reverses only because last year's quarter carried a one-time debt gain.

  • The trigger is documented: on August 28, 2024 the company received written notice from the NYSE that it was not in compliance with the minimum average closing price required for continued listing, so the split is a cure rather than a preference, and 166,358,775 shares outstanding is the base it would compress. Leadership changed hands during the same stretch — Mr. Buzby served as Interim CEO and Executive Chair until January 27, 2025, and Mr. Doran became Chief Financial Officer and Executive VP effective September 2, 2024.

  • Nothing a stockholder votes on changed, and the proxy statement/consent solicitation statement/prospectus is not in this document, so a reader must go to the version that carries it. What the retained fee table still shows is the shape of the issuance: of 64,999,790 Class A shares, 53,775,396 answer Stem's outstanding common stock after conversion of all its preferred, convertible securities and certain warrants, and 11,224,394 answer options and warrants. The shares are priced at $14.88 for fee purposes, on December 9, 2020 trading, and the fee was previously paid.

  • Consideration remains a fixed pool of approximately 65,000,000 New Stem shares less whatever stays issuable under Stem options and warrants that survive the merger, so the ratio moves with Stem's own share count rather than with the value of the deal. The stated 0.216 assumes all Stem preferred has converted, substantially all Stem warrants have converted, and 51,735,290 option and warrant shares are assumed by STPK and remain outstanding at closing; fractional entitlements are paid in cash at $10.00. The record date, and so the assumed effective date, is still blank.

  • The consideration is a fixed pool rather than a per-share ratio: existing Stem common stock is cancelled for a pro rata portion of approximately 65,000,000 shares of New Stem Common Stock, less any shares issuable on options and warrants of Stem that remain outstanding after the merger — so every option or warrant left alive reduces what the common holders receive. The registered count splits into 53,775,396 shares for Stem's common stock after conversion of all preferred and convertible securities, and 11,224,394 for those surviving options and warrants.

Show 3 more material filings
  • Two amendments in, the size of the issuance has not moved, so a STPK holder's dilution is settled and what remains open is the closing conditions and the redemption election. Stem's holders still take a pro rata portion of approximately 65,000,000 shares, less whatever remains issuable under options and warrants that survive the merger, so the per-share outcome turns on how much of the fixed pool those holders absorb. The $14.88 basis remains the December 9, 2020 average of the high and low sales prices, used solely to compute the fee.

  • Consideration is a fixed pool of approximately 65,000,000 New Stem shares less whatever remains issuable under options and warrants that survive the merger, so Stem's own overhang comes out of its shareholders' share of that pool rather than adding to it. On the stated assumptions — all preferred converted, substantially all warrants converted, and 51,735,290 option and warrant shares assumed and left outstanding — the exchange ratio would have been approximately 0.217 New Stem shares per existing Stem share, with fractional entitlements paid in cash at $10.00.

  • Stem's holders take a pro rata portion of approximately 65,000,000 shares, reduced by whatever remains issuable under options and warrants that survive the merger, so the pool is fixed and the per-share outcome moves with how much of it option and warrant holders take. On the stated assumptions the exchange ratio would be approximately 0.217 of a share for each existing Stem share, and those assumptions include 51,735,290 shares under existing Stem options and warrants being assumed by STPK and staying outstanding at closing. The fee uses $14.88, the December 9, 2020 average.


Filings

live EDGAR feed

Everything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.

  • What changed: Q2 2026 10-Q of Stem, Inc. (NYSE: STEM). Total revenue was $33,654 thousand for the quarter versus $38,374 thousand a year earlier and $62,654 thousand for the six months versus $70,886 thousand; gross profit rose to $13,887 thousand from $12,800 thousand as total cost of revenue fell to $19,767 thousand from $25,574 thousand. Operating expenses fell to $21,558 thousand from $26,143 thousand, cutting the operating loss to $(7,671) thousand from $(13,343) thousand. Why it matters: The entire swing from prior-year net income to this year's loss is the absence of last year's $220.0 million debt-extinguishment gain; the operating loss actually halved. Liabilities are nearly twice total assets, with $319.2 million of notes outstanding.

  • What changed: Exhibit 99 to an 8-K of Stem, Inc. (NYSE: STEM): the August 12, 2026 press release reporting Q2 2026 results. Revenue was $33.7 million, down 12% year over year, while software, services and edge hardware revenue was $33.4 million, up 1%, on 11% growth in PowerTrack software revenue. GAAP gross margin rose to 41% from 33% and non-GAAP gross margin to 55% from 49%. Why it matters: Revenue is falling because the company is shedding low-margin battery hardware resale, and margins and adjusted EBITDA are rising as a result; the reported net loss reverses only because last year's quarter carried a one-time debt gain.


The record

The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.

Show the reference detail

Unit structure

Cash in trust at IPOnot extracted from the prospectus

from 424B3 0001758766-22-000163

Trading & liquidity

Average daily volume (20d)no volume reported on the bars we hold
Average daily $ volumeneeds both volume and a live price
Range over the bars heldnot enough price history
Total cash in trustthe trust total is not in the last XBRL stamp

Company profile

Industry (SIC)Services-Computer Integrated Systems Design (7373)
Registered innot stated in SEC submissions
Exchange · CIKNYSE · 0001758766

All filings on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab

FormerlyStar Peak Energy Transition Corp.

Directors & officers


Institutional holders

from SC 13G/13D

Funds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.

Show the declared stakes

10 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.

One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.


News

company wires and the financial press

Reporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.


Sources on file

harvested pages, kept in full

Every public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.


In plain English

tap a term to open it

Every piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.

Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected

A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date

Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you

Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.

Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you

Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.

Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes

The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.

ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside

SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.

De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company

The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.

Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal

A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.

Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since

A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.


Ask the brain

from its filings
Data provenance & audit trail4 internal entries

Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.

STPK — company record
UNIVERSE-IPO-INDEX2026-08-17

admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 7373 (Services-Computer Integrated Systems Design). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2020-07-31 → 8-A12B 2020-08-17 → 424B4 2020-08-19 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 7373 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001104659-20-096940; 424B 0001104659-20-096940 priced 2020-08-19 under S-1 0001104659-20-089149 (file 333-240267, an offering for cash); common ticker STPK off 10-Q 0001104659-20-125801 (2020-11-16); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-240267, which belongs to S-1 0001104659-20-089149 (2020-07-31) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2020-08-19). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001104659-21-061061 (2021-05-04) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,3.02,3.03,5.01,5.02,5.03,5.06,9.01). EDGAR now files this CIK as "STEM, INC." — the SPAC's own name is kept here and the successor is the target. ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.

SPONSOR-ID2026-08-14

sponsor "Star Peak Sponsor LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K/A) acc 0001104659-21-054613.

Deal — STEM, INC.
UNTAGGED

[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001758766 records "Star Peak Energy Acquisition Corp." ending 2018-11-21; the registrant continues as "STEM, INC.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2018-11-21. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=225, minCashM=200 from primary filings (0001104659-20-136430).

PIPE2026-08-29

pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow