GigCapital3, Inc.
GIK · NYSE
NO ACTION REQUIRED
Nothing left to do
The purchase completed and the shares became shares in the company it bought. There is no deadline left to miss.
Cash at settlement
No cash-per-share figure was filed for this vehicle before it finished.
Last close
Daily close
No price history on file yet — daily closes accumulate from the market data feed.
Trust settled · There is no line to draw here. This vehicle has finished: the cash was paid back or spent closing the deal, so the last filed figure describes an account that no longer exists and would be a floor under nothing.
SpacBrain’s read
Trust settled
The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
In plain terms
- What it is
- A SPAC from GigAcquisitions3, LLC, listed on NYSE in May 2020.
- What it's doing now
- It agreed to buy Lightning eMotors, Inc., a commercial electric vehicle manufacturing company. That purchase completed, and it stopped being a SPAC — the shares became shares in the business it bought.
- What you should know
- This SPAC has finished. The purchase completed, and the shares became shares in the company it bought — anyone who wanted the cash instead asked for it at the vote, so there is no cash left here to claim and no deadline left to miss.
At a glance
- Where it stands
- Closed (deSPAC)
- The business it bought
- Lightning eMotors, Inc.
- Industry
- Consumer Discretionary — commercial electric vehicle manufacturing
- Deal value
- not stated in the filings we hold
- Price vs cash at settlement
- no live price on file
- Cash in trust when it settled
- not yet extracted into a snapshot — the filings below may state it
- the last trust total filed while this was still a SPAC — the account has since been paid out or used to close the deal
- IPO
- 15 May 2020
- size not on file
- Headquarters
- 815 14TH STREET SW, SUITE A100, LOVELAND, CO, 80537
- registered in Delaware
- Lead underwriter
- not extracted from the prospectus yet
- Key officers
- Sethi Kshitij (Chief Revenue Officer) · Fenwick-Smith Robert (Director) · Jack Kenneth P. Jr. (Director)
- Listed securities
- GIK common
This vehicle has finished, so there is no window to file a cash-per-share figure for and none will follow. No estimate is shown in its place.
Nothing dated is on file. That is an absence in the record, not a statement that nothing is coming.
Yield to redemption
Nothing left to redeem — no yield to compute.
This SPAC has finished — its trust was paid back or used to close the deal, so there is nothing left to redeem and no yield to compute. A yield to redemption is a claim that you can hand these shares back for the trust cash. That account is closed, so this page will not print a number here.
What happened to the cash
The reasoning behind the verdict above, in the order the filings establish it.
- The deal closed — SPAC shares became the target's shares, so there is no trust left to redeem (nobody missed a window; holders who wanted cash elected it at the vote).
What has happened, and what is coming
1 dated milestoneEvery dated step from the day it listed to the next date you may have to act on. Where you have to do something, the day your broker needs the instruction is marked too.
- 15 May 2020IPOpassed
IPO size not on file
The deal
terms as filedWhat it is buying, on what terms, and how much of the combined company new shares take from you.
- closedConsumer DiscretionaryDeal structureSEC-primary — BCA 8-K / S-4 / DEFM14A
- PIPE
- ≈ $25M · unsourced
PIPE terms — instrument, coupon, conversion price and any reset floor — are not sourced for this deal. The size above is itself unsourced — a stored figure no filing we hold states — so neither the size nor the terms should be read as cited.
stated in:0001193125-20-330647
The score
deterministic, from filed fieldsGIK is not in the scored universe, so no score is shown. A withheld score is a fact about the record, not a verdict about the company.
The score is only published for names that carry both a price and a filed cash-per-share figure — 294 of the tracked fleet today. The rest keep an empty dial rather than a modelled one, and fill in by themselves as the fields land.
The company
from SEC filingsRead the full profile
GigCapital3, Inc. was a Delaware-incorporated blank-check special purpose acquisition company (SPAC) sponsored by GigAcquisitions3, LLC, formed to identify and merge with a business in the technology, media, and telecommunications sectors. The company priced its initial public offering on May 15, 2020, with its common stock listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol GIK, pursuant to a registration statement filed under SEC File No. 333-236626. The offering was structured as a cash IPO of units, with the sponsor having purchased 5,735,000 founder shares for an aggregate of $25,000 in a private placement prior to the offering, and underwriters committed to purchasing private units at $10.00 per unit in a concurrent private placement. Dr. Avi S. Katz served as Executive Chairman, Secretary, President, and Chief Executive Officer, with the principal executive offices at 1731 Embarcadero Rd., Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303.
On May 7, 2021, GigCapital3 completed its business combination with Lightning eMotors, Inc., a Loveland, Colorado-based designer and manufacturer of zero-emission commercial trucks, buses, and EV charging infrastructure solutions for fleets, enterprises, OEMs, and governments. The transaction, supported by a concurrent PIPE financing, resulted in the registrant adopting the Lightning eMotors name and filing under SIC code 3711 (Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies), as disclosed in an 8-K filed on May 12, 2021, reporting the change in shell company status under Item 5.06. The combined entity's corporate office was located at 815 14th Street SW, Suite A100, Loveland, CO 80537.
Following the merger, Lightning eMotors operated as a public company before encountering financial distress, entering bankruptcy reorganization proceedings in December 2023 and subsequently undergoing a merger or acquisition in February 2024. PitchBook classifies the company's status as Out of Business as of July 2026, while Tracxn records total funding of $56.5 million raised across 11 rounds prior to the reverse merger, with annual revenue in the $10 million to $50 million range as of December 31, 2022.
Material findings
from the full read of every filingEvery document this company files gets read whole — body and exhibits. These are the ones the read flagged as material, newest first, each citing its filing.
A trigger event converts the Yorkville facility from equity financing into a $1,000,000-a-month cash drain plus a 7% redemption premium, an obligation a company already burning cash and posting net losses is poorly placed to meet. Approving issuance above the 19.99% NYSE threshold is the alternative to paying that cash, so holders are effectively voting to be diluted instead. Without approval the Yorkville exchange cap binds and no further pre-paid advances can be drawn even if the share price recovers, cutting off the financing line entirely.
This is where the real dilution of a completed SPAC deal is enumerated, item by item, in a form the tier treats as paperwork. The 13,842,518 earnout shares are contingent on the stock hitting trading-price milestones on or before 6 May 2026 - a share count that does not exist yet and will if the price recovers. The 8,695,634 note shares are a conversion overhang senior to the equity. Nothing here is a warrant term; everything here is the share count a per-share trust or NAV figure would divide by.
An amendment that does not state its own number consistently is a problem for anyone tracking the sequence of a registration statement, and it is the only visible change on the cover. The registered amounts, the Business Combination Agreement dated December 10, 2020, the split of 53,922,000 closing shares and up to 16,463,096 earnout shares, and the formulaic exchange ratio all carry over unchanged. The $13.875 fee price still dates from December 30, 2020, so nothing at the front of the document has been repriced.
Almost a quarter of the registered stock is earnout rather than closing consideration: 16,463,096 of the 70,385,096 shares are contingent Stockholder Earnout Shares, payable pro rata only if and when the business combination agreement's conditions are met. The closing exchange ratio is formulaic — the Aggregate Closing Merger Consideration divided by the Company Fully Diluted Capital Stock — so no per-share number is fixed here, and Lightning Systems' warrants, options and convertible notes convert into its capital stock before the effective time, enlarging that denominator.
Each share of Lightning Systems capital stock, par value $0.00001, is cancelled for two things: shares of common stock at the Exchange Ratio — the Aggregate Closing Merger Consideration divided by the Company Fully Diluted Capital Stock — and a contingent right to a pro rata portion of the Stockholder Earnout Shares. Because that denominator includes shares arising from the conversion or exercise of Lightning's warrants, options and convertible notes before the effective time, those instruments dilute Lightning's own holders rather than GigCapital3's. The registration fee was previously paid.
The earnout is disclosed as its own line rather than folded into the closing number, so a GigCapital3 holder can see the deferred dilution — up to 16,463,096 shares — apart from the 53,922,000 maximum issued at consummation. The special meeting has no date: the notice reads "on , 2021" with the time bracketed as well, so nothing here fixes a redemption deadline. For fee purposes the shares are priced at $13.875, the average of the high and low trading prices of the common stock on December 30, 2020. Lightning Systems capital stock carries a par value of $0.00001 per share.
Filings
live EDGAR feedEverything this company has filed with the SEC recently, newest first, each with a plain summary of what changed and why it matters.
Show the other 10 filings
going-concern doubtnothing moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
The clause …“Company's ASC 205-40 analysis, due to uncertainties discussed above, there is substantial doubt about the Company's ability to continue as a going concern through the next twelve months from the date of issuance of these consolidated”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
The sponsor
The people who set this company up, what they have done before, and the advisers around the deal.
GigAcquisitions3, LLCnamed as sponsor in this SPAC’s filings — but with no researched track record behind it yet.
A missing score, not a score of zero — why
A Sponsor Score is only published once the sponsor’s prior vehicles have been verified on EDGAR and their post-close outcomes priced. That record does not exist for this sponsor yet, so no number and no tier is shown. That is a missing score, not a score of zero — and not a neutral 50 either.
Coverage so far: 301 of 1284 tracked SPACs (23%) are attached to a scored sponsor. This card fills in by itself as the research lands.
The record
The reference detail — how the shares were structured at listing, how thinly they trade, and where the company is registered.
Show the reference detail
Unit structure
from 424B3 0001802749-23-000032
Trading & liquidity
Company profile
Directors & officers
- Sethi KshitijChief Revenue Officer
- Fenwick-Smith RobertDirector
- Jack Kenneth P. Jr.Director
- Jackson-Davis WandaDirector
- Senko ThaddeusDirector
- Tremblay Diana DDirector
- Coventry BruceDirector
Institutional holders
from SC 13G/13DFunds that have declared a stake above 5%. Heavy ownership by arbitrage funds usually means heavy cash-outs at the next vote.
Show the declared stakes
9 filers with a stake on file · 0 re-affirmed in the last 12 months. A stake with no amendment since is the filer’s last word on it, not proof it is still held — and percentages filed in different years are percentages of different floats, because this vehicle’s share count collapses at every redemption.
- BP Technology Ventures Inc.with 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule31.3% · SC 13DMay 14, 2021 stale
- Vellar Opportunities Fund Master, Ltd.with 4 other reporting persons on the same schedule4.4% · SC 13GMay 26, 2020 stale
- BlackRock Inc.4.3% · SC 13G/AApr 6, 2023 stale
- Ionic Capital Management LLC3.5% · SC 13G/AFeb 14, 2024 stale
- International Co Management Ltdwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule2.9% · SC 13G/ASep 8, 2023 stale
- Rawlinson & Hunter Ltdwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule2.8% · SC 13G/AJul 3, 2024 stale
- Fenwick-Smith Robertwith 2 other reporting persons on the same schedule1.1% · SC 13D/AFeb 15, 2022 stale
- Rosella Holdings Ltd0.0% · SC 13G/AJul 21, 2023 stale
- GLAZER CAPITAL, LLCwith 1 other reporting person on the same schedule0.0% · SC 13G/AJan 11, 2021 stale
One line per filer, not per reporting person: a joint schedule names the management company, its funds and often the individual who controls them, and all of them report the same shares. Click a name for that filer’s whole footprint across every SPAC it has declared a stake in.
News
company wires and the financial pressReporting we have matched to this ticker. Headlines belong to the outlets that wrote them.
Show the headlines
- Urban Commercial Zero-Emission Vehicle Company Lightning eMotors to List on New York Stock Exchange Through Merger with GigCapital3 Inc.
Business Wireundated by the source
Sources on file
harvested pages, kept in fullEvery public page we have read about this company, stored in full so a source can never go missing.
Show the sources
36 full SEC filing texts archived — searchable, never lost.
- Vault note — GIK (GigCapital3, Inc.)
vault-note · /vault/tickers/GIK
- Vault deal note — Lightning eMotors, Inc. (GIK)
vault-note · /vault/deals/lightning-emotors-inc
- Lightning eMotors 2026 Company Profile: Valuation, Funding & Investors | PitchBook
news · pitchbook.com
- Lightning eMotors - 2026 Company Profile, Team, Funding, Competitors & Financials - Tracxn
news · tracxn.com
In plain English
tap a term to open itEvery piece of jargon this page could have used, and what it actually means.
Open the plain-English guide
No floor / floorlessthe cash guarantee is gone — the price is unprotected
A SPAC's downside protection is not the cash in trust; it is your right to demand that cash. Once the redemption window closes, the cash stays with the company and the share can trade anywhere.
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Broker action datethe day your broker needs the instruction — earlier than the official date
Brokers batch redemption instructions to the transfer agent, so the practical cutoff is roughly two business days before the published deadline. This is the date that actually costs people the floor.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Trust discountbuying below the cash held for you
Only meaningful while a redemption right exists. On a floorless name the same arithmetic is not a discount, it is the market pricing distress, and this product will not call it a yield.
Dilutionhow much of the company new shares take from you
Sponsor promote, PIPE shares, warrants and rights all issue stock that did not pay $10 for it. The headline deal value is before that; the effective value is after.
Pro-forma equitywhat the company is valued at once the deal closes
The combined company's equity value assuming the announced terms and the redemptions that have actually happened.
ARShow much upside you get per unit of downside
SpacBrain's asymmetric-return score. It is deterministic — the same inputs always produce the same number — and it is capped, not zeroed, when the floor is gone.
De-SPACthe day the SPAC becomes the real company
The shares stop being a claim on a pot of cash and start being equity in an operating business. Roughly 80% of recent de-SPACs traded below $10 within a year.
Outside datethe contractual long-stop for closing the deal
A deadline between the SPAC and its target, not between the SPAC and you. It confers no right to cash, which is exactly why it must never be counted as a redemption window.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.
Accreted NAV (estimate)the last filed cash figure, plus the interest it should have earned since
A model, not a filing: last filed value compounded at the 3-month T-bill for the days elapsed. Always shown in italic with the word estimate, and never printed beside a filed number without it.
Ask the brain
from its filingsData provenance & audit trail7 internal entries
Written by SpacBrain’s data agents whenever a figure is captured, corrected or flagged, and kept verbatim so every number on this page can be traced back to the filing that states it. This is a running log, not the current record: an early entry may be superseded by a later correction — the panels above always hold the current values.
admitted from EDGAR's QUARTERLY FORM INDEX, walked without any SIC filter. The SIC 6770 census could not reach this registrant: EDGAR reassigns a shell's SIC the day it stops being one, and this CIK now files under 3711 (Motor Vehicles & Passenger Car Bodies). The screen found it by filing SHAPE instead — S-1 2020-02-25 → 8-A12B 2020-05-04 → 424B4 2020-05-15 — which nothing rewrites. Admission rule: src/lib/universe-admit.ts. SIC 3711 + self-described blank check in 424B4 0001193125-20-144000; 424B 0001193125-20-144000 priced 2020-05-15 under S-1 0001193125-20-048421 (file 333-236626, an offering for cash); common ticker GIK off 10-K 0001564590-21-017109 (2021-03-31); lifecycle EXITED. The pricing prospectus was filed under SEC file number 333-236626, which belongs to S-1 0001193125-20-048421 (2020-02-25) — a registration of shares sold for CASH, which is what makes it an IPO rather than merger consideration. Blank-check status from the registrant's own first-person sentence in that prospectus (EDGAR full-text search, 424B4 2020-05-15). Ending PROVEN, not inferred: CLOSED per 8-K 0001193125-21-159335 (2021-05-12) — 8-K item 5.06 "Change in Shell Company Status" (EDGAR item index, items: 1.01,2.01,2.03,3.02,3.03,4.01,5.02,5.06,9.01). ipoSizeM and deadline left NULL: gross-proceeds prose conflates the over-allotment with the offering, and a charter deadline belonging to a vehicle that has ended is a date nobody can act on. ipoDate is the 424B pricing date.
sponsor "GigAcquisitions3, LLC" sourced from prospectus definition (10-K) acc 0001564590-21-017109.
"Lightning eMotors, Inc." is the registrant's CURRENT identity, adopted when the combination closed — EDGAR renames on the closing day, so the rename predates the ending we store and every date-based check cleared it; the vehicle traded as "GigCapital3, Inc." per the COMPANY CONFORMED NAME in 424B4 0001193125-20-144000 filed 2020-05-15. §98
[CLOSED-RENAME] EDGAR CIK 0001802749 records "GigCapital3, Inc." ending 2021-05-07; the registrant continues as "Lightning eMotors, Inc.". The rename is the SEC's own record of what the vehicle became, keyed by CIK. Closed 2021-05-07. No deal value is set — a rename says what was acquired, never for how much. No date column is set: Deal has announcedAt, voteDate and expectedCloseAt and nowhere to record an actual close, so the SEC's date is kept here until that column exists. [DEAL-STRUCTURE-MINED] pipeSizeM=25 from primary filings (0001193125-20-330647).
entity created from the filed target name; no About paragraph on file, so every other field awaits a sourced read
pipeBasis set to UNSOURCED: the size came from the research seed / an earlier record and no filing we hold states it — surfaces now label it "unsourced"; an LLM re-read to FILED replaces this when credits allow
OTHER -> BATTERY, on S-4/A 0001193125-21-088347: "Lightning Systems, which also does business as Lightning eMotors, is a leading electric vehicle designer and manufacturer, providing complete electrification so"