OSTR SEC filings, in plain English
Everything Oyster Enterprises Acquisition Corp. has filed with the SEC that we hold — 40 filings, newest first, 3 with a plain-English summary of what changed and why it matters. Every row links to the primary document on EDGAR, so you can check the source rather than trust us.
The feed
live EDGAR captureNew filings appear here within minutes of hitting EDGAR; summaries follow once the pipeline has read them.
What changed: Oyster Enterprises Acquisition Corp. called a special meeting for December 19, 2022 at 11:00 a.m. Eastern to amend its charter to move the termination date forward from January 22, 2023 to a board-determined date no later than December 30, 2022, to remove the redemption limitation so it can redeem all 23,000,000 Class A shares even though that leaves net tangible assets below $5,000,001, and to allow removal of up to $100,000 of trust interest to pay dissolution expenses. Approval requires the affirmative vote of at least 65% of the outstanding Class A common stock. Why it matters: This is a full wind-up: all 23,000,000 public shares are redeemed and the $5,000,001 net tangible asset floor is removed precisely so the trust can be emptied to zero. The 65% supermajority requirement is a real hurdle, and failure would leave the vehicle running to January 22, 2023 with redemptions then falling after December 31, 2022, when the 1% excise tax applies. Holders therefore have a direct financial interest in approving promptly rather than allowing the timetable to slip into the taxed period.
- What changed vs 2022-08-15trust $230.4M → $231.4M +0%
trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +21 moved · 4 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $230.4M$231.4M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-01-22 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $500K · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 23.0M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $1,040,051 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“ 16,914 729 Total current assets 479,465 673,940 Investments held in Trust Account 231,399,410 230,013,905 Total assets $ 231,878,875 $ 230,687,845 Liabilities, Class A common stock subject to”…
The clause …“additional financing in order to meet our obligations. Going Concern We have until January 22, 2023 to consummate an Initial Business Combination. It is uncertain whether we will be able to consummate an Initial Business”…
The clause …“Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause …“to an aggregate of $ 1,500,000 (“ Working Capital Loans ”), and the Company borrowed $ 500,000 under the Working Capital Loans on the same date. The proceeds of the Working Capital Loans will be used for working capital purposes. If”…
The clause …“value; 100,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding (excluding 23,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021 — — Class B common stock, $ 0.0001 par value; 10,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2022-05-16trust $230.0M → $230.4M +0%
trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +21 moved · 4 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $230.0M$230.4M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-01-22 · unchanged
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- $500K · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 23.0M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $326,682 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“ 33,076 729 Total current assets 144,833 673,940 Investments held in Trust Account 230,359,359 230,013,905 Total assets $ 230,504,192 $ 230,687,845 Liabilities, Class A common stock subject to”…
The clause …“additional financing in order to meet our obligations. Going Concern We have until January 22, 2023 to consummate an Initial Business Combination. It is uncertain whether we will be able to consummate an Initial Business”…
The clause …“Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause …“to an aggregate of $ 1,500,000 (“ Working Capital Loans ”), and the Company borrowed $ 500,000 under the Working Capital Loans on the same date. The proceeds of the Working Capital Loans will be used for working capital purposes. If”…
The clause …“value; 100,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding (excluding 23,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021 — — Class B common stock, $ 0.0001 par value; 10,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-11-15trust $230.0M → $230.0M +0%going concern APPEARED
trust account, going-concern doubt, combination deadline +22 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $230.0M$230.0M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Combination deadline
- not previously extracted2023-01-22
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- not previously extracted$500K
- Redeemable shares
- 23.0M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $23,133 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“ 49,239 729 Total current assets 394,490 673,940 Investments held in Trust Account 230,032,677 230,013,905 Total assets $ 230,427,167 $ 230,687,845 Liabilities, Class A common stock subject to”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“a Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…
The clause …“additional financing in order to meet our obligations. Going Concern We have until January 22, 2023 to consummate a business combination. It is uncertain that we will be able to consummate a business combination by this time. If a”…
The clause …“to an aggregate of $ 1,500,000 (“ Working Capital Loans ”), and the Company borrowed $ 500,000 under the Working Capital Loans on the same date. The proceeds of the Working Capital Loans will be used for working capital purposes. If”…
The clause …“value; 100,000,000 shares authorized; none issued and outstanding (excluding 23,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021 — — Class B common stock, $ 0.0001 par value; 10,000,000”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-03-31trust $8.1M → $230.0M +2757%going concern APPEARED
trust account, going-concern doubt, sponsor loans outstanding +32 moved · 4 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $8.1M$230.0M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Sponsor loans outstanding
- not previously extracted$500K
- Redeemable shares
- not previously extracted20.0M
- Combination deadline
- 2023-01-22 · unchanged
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that align with the backgro… · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $221,963,905 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“costs associated with initial public offering — 396,688 Investments held in Trust Account 230,013,905 — Total assets $ 230,687,845 $ 436,595 Liabilities, Class A common stock subject to possible”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“a business combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about our ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities should we”…
The clause …“of our initial business combination. As of December 31, 2021, the outstanding balance under the Second Promissory Note was $500,000 and the remaining amount available to be drawn was $1,000,000. Effecting our Initial”…
The clause …“Accordingly, as of January 22, 2021 (as restated), and December 31, 2021, 20,000,000 and 23,000,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption, respectively, were presented at redemption value as temporary equity,”…
The clause …“in Note 1 to the financial statements, if the Company is unable to complete a business combination by January 22, 2023, then the Company will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. The date for mandatory liquidation”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-08-13trust $230.0M → $230.0M +0%shares 20.5M → 23.0M +12%
trust account, redeemable shares2 moved
- Trust account
- $230.0M$230.0M
- Redeemable shares
- 20.5M23.0M
SpacBrain reads this as $3,534 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“costs associated with initial public offering — 396,688 Investments held in Trust Account 230,009,544 — Total assets $ 230,464,363 $ 436,595 Liabilities and Stockholders’ (Deficit) Equity: ”…
SpacBrain reads this as 2,523,214 more shares carry a redemption right.
The clause …“occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, as of September 30, 2021, 23,000,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-05-24trust $230.0M → $230.0M +0%shares 20.9M → 20.5M -2%
trust account, redeemable shares2 moved
- Trust account
- $230.0M$230.0M
- Redeemable shares
- 20.9M20.5M
SpacBrain reads this as $3,495 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“costs associated with initial public offering — 396,688 Investments held in Trust Account 230,006,010 — Total assets $ 230,501,716 $ 436,595 Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity: Current”…
SpacBrain reads this as 374,355 shares are no longer redeemable.
The clause …“authorized; 2,523,214 and none shares issued and outstanding (excluding 20,476,786 Class A shares subject to possible redemption) at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively 252 — Class B common stock, $ 0.0001”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: FY2020 10-K for Oyster Enterprises Acquisition Corp., a Delaware shell in West Palm Beach sponsored by Alden Global. Pre-IPO stub: incorporated 22 October 2020, no operations at the balance-sheet date. The IPO of 20,000,000 units closed 22 January 2021 with $200,000,000 deposited that day; the underwriters exercised the 3,000,000-unit over-allotment in full on 25 January, closing 28 January for $30,000,000 gross, and a further $30,000,000 went into trust, bringing the total deposited to $230,000,000. Deferred underwriting is up to $8,050,000 and the deadline is 22 January 2023. Why it matters: The cover reports the capital structure in a form no other filing in this slice uses - '22,292,600 Units, 707,400 shares of Class A common stock and 5,750,000 shares of Class B common stock' as of 23 March 2021 - counting unseparated units rather than shares. It reconciles (22,292,600 + 707,400 = 23,000,000 Class A) but a share-count extractor reading the cover would take 707,400 as the Class A total. The deferred fee of $8,050,000 is $0.35 on all 23,000,000 units, so it already reflects the over-allotment.
What changed: IPO pricing prospectus (424B4) for Oyster Enterprises Acquisition Corp.: $200,000,000 of 20,000,000 units at $10.00, each unit one share of Class A common stock and one-half of one redeemable warrant exercisable for one share at $11.50; only whole warrants are exercisable. The initial stockholders hold 5,750,000 Class B shares, up to 750,000 forfeitable on the overallotment, converting to Class A at the business combination. Imperial Capital is the underwriter. Nasdaq symbols OSTRU / OSTR / OSTRW. The terms of the S-1 filed 2020-12-30 carried through to pricing. Why it matters: Two features are stated and not standard. Private placement warrants bought by the UNDERWRITERS are deemed underwriters' compensation under FINRA Rule 5110, so part of the sponsor-side warrant block is regulated as fees. And the extension route is explicit: a charter amendment extending the 24-month period requires approval by holders of 65% of outstanding common stock. Redemption values, both at a business combination and on failure to close, are stated net of 'permitted withdrawals' — interest taken from the trust to pay taxes — and less up to $100,000 of interest for dissolution expenses.
In plain English
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.