Skip to main content
spacbrain

LAFA SEC filings, in plain English

Everything LaFayette Acquisition Corp. has filed with the SEC that we hold — 27 filings, newest first, 26 with a plain-English summary of what changed and why it matters. Every row links to the primary document on EDGAR, so you can check the source rather than trust us.


The feed

live EDGAR capture

New filings appear here within minutes of hitting EDGAR; summaries follow once the pipeline has read them.

  • What changed: Form 10-Q quarterly report for LaFayette Acquisition Corp. for the period ended June 30, 2026, filed August 13, 2026. Trust account value increased from $115,779,876 (Dec 31, 2025) to $117,837,040 (June 30, 2026) due to interest income. Redemption value per public share increased from $10.07 to $10.25. Net income of $1,730,914 for the six months. Cash outside trust decreased from $813,817 to $530,907. Still no target identified; substantial doubt about going concern raised. Why it matters: The trust per share growth indicates interest accretion; the cash burn is modest. The SPAC has until July 27, 2027, to complete a deal. The going concern warning suggests limited cash runway but still ample time. No material new disclosures about a potential target.

    What changed vs 2026-05-14trust $116.8M → $117.8M +1%
    trust account, going-concern doubt, mandate language +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $116.8M$117.8M

    SpacBrain reads this as $1,034,576 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause “663,607 904,252 Long-term prepaid insurance 5,954 60,685 Marketable securities held in Trust Account 117,837,040 115,779,876 Total Assets $ 118,506,601 $ 116,744,813 Liabilities, Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption, and”…

    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. These conditions raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. Management plans to consummate an initial Business Combination prior to the end”…

    Redeemable shares
    11.5M · unchanged

    The clause “0,000,000 shares authorized; 4,213,333 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 11,500,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at June 30, 2026 and December 31, 2025 421 421 Additional paid-in capital — — Accumulated deficit (”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: Quarterly report (Form 10-Q) for the period ended March 31, 2026 — a routine compliance filing for a blank-check company still in the searching stage. Trust value increased to $10.16 per share (up from $10.07 at year-end 2025) due to $1,022,588 of interest earned. Cash on hand fell to $609,647 from $813,817, and working capital is $655,175. Management disclosed substantial doubt about going concern if a business combination is not completed by July 27, 2027 (21 months from the October 27, 2025 IPO). No definitive agreement has been announced; the Company is still identifying targets. No new sponsor loans or dilution events occurred. The CFO and CEO certifications were filed as exhibits. Why it matters: Investors tracking redemption deadlines should note the per-share trust value has grown to $10.16, the deadline remains fixed at July 27, 2027 with no extension mechanism, and the sponsor has waived redemption rights but has not committed additional capital beyond the existing $1.5 million working-capital facility. The going-concern warning signals that without a deal by the deadline, liquidation is the likely outcome, making the trust value per share the key reference for any redemption decision.

    What changed vs 2025-12-04going concern APPEARED
    going-concern doubt, trust account, redeemable shares +21 moved · 4 with no prior record of ours
    Going-concern doubt
    not statedstated

    SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.

    The clause …“all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. These conditions raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. Management plans to consummate an initial Business Combination prior to the end”…

    Trust account
    not previously extracted$116.8M

    The clause “768,620 904,252 Long-term prepaid insurance 27,252 60,685 Marketable securities held in Trust Account 116,802,464 115,779,876 Total Assets $ 117,598,336 $ 116,744,813 Liabilities, Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption, and”…

    Redeemable shares
    not previously extracted11.5M

    The clause “0,000,000 shares authorized; 4,213,333 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 11,500,000 shares subject to possible redemption) at March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025 421 421 Additional paid-in capital — — Accumulated deficit (”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    $150Knot matched in this filing

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: Schedule 13G filing appended with Exhibit 99, which consists entirely of duplicate Power of Attorney documents executed by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. and Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC to authorize designated employees to file Exchange Act reports on the firm's behalf. This document makes no alteration to LaFayette Acquisition Corp.'s redemption calendar, trust value mechanics, extension window, business combination trajectory, or sponsor conduct. The filing text records only an administrative update: two identical Powers of Attorney were executed on July 16, 2025, by Carey Ziegler (Managing Director), expressly superseding prior instruments dated July 29, 2024, and October 1, 2024. The instruments appoint nineteen named individuals—Sadhiya Raffique, Santosh Vinayagamoorthy, D Guru Prasad, Tobi Amusan, Akash Keshari, Papa Lette, Andrzej Szyszka, Rahail Patel, Taiki Misu, Regina Chan, Mariana Audeves Martinez, Asheesh Bajaj, Abhilasha Bareja, Veronica Mupazviriwo, Sam Prashanth, Ameen Soetan, Abhishek Vishwanathan, Elizabeth Novak, and Matthew Pomfret—as Attorneys-in-Fact empowered to execute filings required under Rule 13f-1 or Regulation 13D-G. The authorization remains in full force until July 16, 2026, subject to earlier written revocation by The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. or automatic cessation upon an individual's departure from Goldman Sachs or termination of the associated function. Aside from updating internal reporting delegates, the document contains no substantive assertions regarding customers, revenue, market size, acquisition strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or LaFayette's operating personnel or capital structure. Why it matters: For investors tracking LAFA, this filing provides zero actionable intelligence on redemption timing, trust payout calculations, extension votes, deal negotiation status, or sponsor behavior. It is a routine custodial compliance artifact confirming only that a passive institutional holder maintains standard SEC reporting infrastructure. Because the text discloses neither target interest, financing commitments, voting thresholds, nor corporate actions, it cannot be used to model redemption expectations, assess trust preservation, or evaluate execution risk. The listing of internal staff names reflects Goldman Sachs's administrative housekeeping protocol, not an investment signal or capital market development.

  • What changed: Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. SPAC LaFayette Acquisition Corp. completed its IPO on October 27, 2025, raising $115 million in trust (11.5M units at $10.00). Trust account held $115,779,876 at year-end, equating to $10.07 per public share. The company reported net income of $554,273 from interest. No business combination has been announced. The company has until July 2027 to complete a deal. Working capital is $804,402. The sponsor (LaFayette Sponsor LLC) and EBC purchased 380,000 private units for $3.8 million. The 10-K also adopted a clawback policy and insider trading policy. There is a going concern disclosure due to limited capital resources. Why it matters: Confirms trust value per share ($10.07), deadline (21 months from Oct 2025), and that the SPAC is still searching. No extension or deal progress yet. The trust per share is slightly above $10.00 due to interest. Investors should monitor for any business combination announcement or extension vote.

  • What changed: Form 10-Q quarterly report for LaFayette Acquisition Corp. (LAFA) for the period ended September 30, 2025, filed after the SPAC's IPO. The quarterly report is filed pre-IPO; it describes the status before the October 27, 2025 IPO (115,000,000 units at $10.00, including full over-allotment), the private placement (380,000 units at $10.00), and the establishment of a $115,000,000 trust account. The company noted a working capital deficit of $330,257 as of September 30, 2025, but after the IPO it had $1,038,713 in cash and $982,500 in working capital. Redemptions are allowed at $10.00 per share plus interest. There is no target identified. Founder shares (500,000 subject to forfeiture) were vested upon full over-allotment exercise on October 27, 2025. Why it matters: This is the first quarterly report since the SPAC's formation and IPO, providing baseline financials and mechanics. The trust value per share is $10.00. The deadline to complete a business combination is 21 months from the IPO (July 2027). No material changes to risk factors were disclosed. The document contains no claims about a target, revenues, market size, or customers.

  • What changed: A Form 3, formally categorized as a routine compliance exhibit and initial statement of beneficial ownership filed to disclose direct equity acquisition by directors and officers. The filing states that reporting person STEDMAN TRENT WILLIAM, identified as a director, holds 30,000 shares on a direct basis. The document contains no language addressing LaFayette Acquisition Corp.’s merger agreement timeline, redemption deadline mechanics, trust account distribution rules, extension voting procedures, or sponsor conduct. Why it matters: This is a standard regulatory update that confirms baseline insider positioning without altering any known redemption calendar, trust-per-share accounting, or business combination progress metrics. It contains no substantive claims about customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel; consequently, there are no executive assertions or sponsor communications to attribute that would influence holder liquidity expectations, voting leverage, or deal evaluation. Investors tracking the SEARCHING status should view this as a static compliance filing that carries no forward-looking implications for deadline adjustments or trust revaluation.

  • What changed: Form 8-K Current Report and accompanying press release announcing the separate trading commencement of ordinary shares and rights following unit separation. Mechanically, the filing states that holders of LaFayette Acquisition Corp. units (LAFAU) may elect to separately trade the ordinary shares (LAFA) and rights (LAFAR) commencing November 26, 2025. Separation requires brokers to contact Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company. Each right corresponds to the acquisition of one-tenth (1/10) of one ordinary share. The related registration statement became effective on October 22, 2025. Why it matters: This updates the public capital structure ahead of any merger, altering trading liquidity and pricing dynamics for retail and institutional holders without modifying redemption deadlines, trust account balances, extension provisions, or deal timelines. While Chief Executive Officer Christophe Charlier confirmed the administrative milestone, he simultaneously cautioned in the press release that forward-looking statements carry numerous conditions beyond the Company’s control, including no assurance that LaFayette will ultimately complete an initial business combination. The filing also documents the registrant’s Cayman Islands incorporation, French executive office at 4 Rue Murillo, and continuing compliance posture as an emerging growth company.

  • What changed: This document is an 8-K Current Report and accompanying Exhibit 99.1 Audited Balance Sheet reporting the consummation of LaFayette Acquisition Corp.’s initial public offering and private placement. According to the filing, the company placed $115,000,000 into the trust account following the sale of 11,500,000 public units and 380,000 private placement units at $10.00 per unit. The company established a 21-month combination period from the October 27, 2025 closing; if the period expires without an extension, the company will redeem 100% of the 11,500,000 public shares for pro rata trust proceeds initially anticipated at $10.00 per share plus interest, less taxes and up to $100,000 in dissolution costs. Per Note 1, the Sponsor (LaFayette Sponsor LLC) and EarlyBirdCapital, Inc. waived redemption and liquidation rights for founder, EBC founder, and private shares. The Sponsor agreed to indemnify the trust to prevent depletion below the lesser of $10.00 per public share or the actual trust balance. An administration fee of $10,000 per month commences for office and support services. Up to $1,500,000 in working capital loans may be converted into private placement units at $10.00 per unit. The full exercise of the 1,500,000-unit over-allotment option eliminated the forfeiture condition for 500,000 founder shares. Why it matters: Because the registration statement was declared effective on October 22, 2025 and the IPO closed on October 27, 2025, the filing locks the redemption deadline and trust corpus, establishing a $10.00 per share baseline that directly governs public shareholder exit economics. The sponsor indemnification and waiver commitments reduce downside risk for redeeming investors, while the $10,000 per month administrative fee creates a documented cash outflow against trust interest earnings. As management stated, the company has broad discretion to pursue targets in any industry or geographic region and has generated zero operating revenues to date; consequently, investors must await future filings for a specific business combination proposal, which would trigger the 80% fair market value threshold relative to trust assets and activate formal proxy or tender offer redemption windows. Additional substance includes the CFO’s compensation agreement of up to $4,000 per month plus a success fee of 30,000 founder shares upon business combination, the assignment of 90,000 founder shares to three independent directors at $1.744 per share, the classification of Public Rights at a fair value of $0.186 per right, and the audit opinion provided by WithumSmith+Brown, PC.

  • What changed: Routine compliance exhibit: a Joint Filing Agreement executed pursuant to Rule 13d-1(k) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, attached as Exhibit 99.1 to a Schedule 13D. This document IS a Joint Filing Agreement among Lafayette Sponsor LLC and its managing member, Christophe Charlier, confirming their administrative alignment to submit future beneficial ownership statements jointly regarding LaFayette Acquisition Corp.’s ordinary shares ($0.0001 par value). Bearing on the requested mechanics, the filing reports no alterations to redemption deadlines, trust distributions, extension votes, deal progression, or sponsor conduct. It merely establishes that each party accepts responsibility for the timeliness and accuracy of its own disclosures, with no cross-liability for other parties’ information unless inaccuracies are known. The underlying Schedule 13D principal page listing block sizes, acquisition dates, or transaction purposes is absent. Why it matters: As an administrative filing tool, this exhibit does not impact investor redemption windows, trust account solvency, or SPAC timeline pressures. Because it contains no substantive operational or financial disclosures, there are no claims to attribute regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel. For trackers of redemption calendars and sponsor behavior, this filing is procedurally significant but operationally inert; it confirms joint reporting status without advancing the target search or triggering capital movements.

  • What changed: SEC Form 4 – insider ownership report. As stated in the filed Form 4, Director, Chief Executive Officer, and 10% owner Christophe Charlier reported acquiring 244,286 shares through an open-market purchase on 2025-10-27, raising his reported holding to 2,805,952 shares. The document contains no language altering the trust account composition, redemption windows, extension schedules, target acquisition timeline, customer disclosures, revenue metrics, market size estimates, technology descriptions, partnership arrangements, or litigation posture. The filing relies solely on the reporting person’s declaration of a 10% ownership stake following the transaction. Why it matters: The filing records sponsor conduct by documenting executive capital entering exchange-traded equity rather than the private trust. Because the purchase was executed on the open market, it does not impact the per-share trust balance, shorten or extend the statutory redemption deadline, trigger additional shareholder approval thresholds, or alter the mechanics of any pending business combination. Investors monitoring pre-deal sponsorship alignment should track whether subsequent insider accumulations correlate with announced due diligence phases or indicate an extended search period before a target is formally presented to the public float.

  • What changed: Current Report on Form 8-K reporting the closing of the initial public offering of LaFayette Acquisition Corp., including deposit of proceeds into trust, entry into standard SPAC agreements, appointment of directors, and amendment of charter. The Company consummated its IPO of 11,500,000 units at $10.00 per unit, generating $115,000,000 in gross proceeds, which were placed in a trust account. The over-allotment option was exercised in full. Concurrent private placement of 380,000 units at $10.00 per unit to sponsor and underwriter raised $3,800,000. All related agreements were executed, including underwriting, trust, rights, private placement, registration rights, administrative services, letter agreement, indemnification, and share escrow. Three independent directors were appointed. Amended and restated memorandum and articles of association were filed. The trust account will be held for the benefit of public shareholders until the earliest of business combination, redemption for failure to complete a business combination within 18 months (per 8-K) or 21 months (per charter), or amendment of charter provisions. Why it matters: Establishes the per-share trust value at $10.00, sets the redemption deadline (18 months from October 27, 2025 per 8-K, though charter specifies 21 months), provides sponsor and insider lock-up and voting agreements, and outlines the terms for any future business combination. This filing is the foundational document for the SPAC's lifecycle; it confirms the SPAC is now funded and searching for a target.

  • What changed: A Form 4 — Insider Ownership Report, which is a routine SEC compliance exhibit filed to disclose buy, sell, or hold transactions by officers, directors, and beneficial owners of ten percent or more. According to the Form 4 filing, LaFayette Sponsor LLC (identified as a 10% owner) completed an open-market purchase of 244,286 shares on 2025-10-27, bringing its reported aggregate position to 2,805,952 shares. The document makes no reference to trust account balances, outgoing redemption notices, extension shareholder meetings, target selection updates, or executive resignations. All numerical disclosures and the characterization of the trade as an open-market purchase derive solely from the compliance submission provided by the reporting person. Why it matters: For investors tracking SPAC capital structure, a 10% owner acquiring public shares through secondary markets does not deduct from the per-share trust value, change redemption eligibility thresholds, or trigger automatic extension provisions. The filing contains no statements about customer pipelines, revenue metrics, market sizing, strategic direction, proprietary technology, commercial partnerships, or litigation exposure. Its practical significance lies in updated insider voting weight ahead of a potential business combination window rather than immediate structural changes to the trust or deadline calendar. Reported facts are attributed exclusively to the Form 4 filing and LaFayette Sponsor LLC as the named reporting party.

  • What changed: This is a final prospectus (424B4) for the initial public offering (IPO) of LaFayette Acquisition Corp. ('LAFA'), a blank check company / special purpose acquisition company (SPAC) that has not yet identified an acquisition target. It discloses the terms of the offering, the trust mechanics, the background of the management team, the sponsor's economics, and the risk factors. The document is the final prospectus for the IPO, which becomes effective upon filing. There is no prior public status for this entity; the document establishes the initial capital structure. The trust is set at $10.25 per share as disclosed in the corpus metadata, while the trust account per-share amount at closing is $10.00, plus interest. The deadline to complete a business combination is 21 months from closing. The document sets the redemption mechanics, the sponsor's and underwriter's economics (including a deferred underwriting fee of $3.5M and sponsor purchase of units at $10.00 in a private placement). Why it matters: This filing is the foundational governing document for LAFA. It establishes the legal framework for redemptions, the timeline for deal completion (21 months), the sponsor's incentives (founder shares at ~$0.001 vs. public at $10.00), and the $10.25 per-share trust floor plus interest. Critical for investors tracking the shareholder vote threshold, the limitation on 15% holders' redemption rights, and the sponsor's indemnity (which the document states is likely unenforceable as sponsor only owns company securities).

  • What changed: SEC Form 3 — Initial Statement of Beneficial Ownership Filed by Insiders. The filing reports that Charlier Christophe, attributed in the document as a director, Chief Executive Officer, and 10% owner, holds 2,561,666 shares indirectly. Regarding SPAC mechanics, the document contains no information altering redemption deadlines, trust account balances or per-share distributions, extension vote dates, proposed merger agreements, or sponsor forfeiture/compensation provisions. It functions as a static ownership registry rather than a transactional or corporate-action submission. Why it matters: Because the Form 3 captures initial insider equity positions rather than ongoing trades or structural amendments, it does not move redemption windows, impact trust-value calculations, signal deal-stage progression, or change sponsor conduct expectations during the SEARCHING phase. No substantive claims regarding customer concentrations, revenue projections, market size assessments, operational strategies, technology pipelines, partnership agreements, pending litigation, or executive personnel shifts appear in the text. The submission provides only a baseline measure of promoter alignment and indirect share concentration, establishing a fixed reference point for future lock-up or dilution tracking while confirming that routine compliance reporting has superseded mechanical or strategic updates this week.

  • What changed: This document is a Form 8-A for registration of certain classes of securities pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, filed to list additional equity and derivative instruments on The Nasdaq Stock Market LLC. The filing reports no amendments to redemption calendars, trust account distribution mechanics, extension vote timelines, target search progress, or sponsor conduct rules. The registrant states that it is registering three security classes—Units (each consisting of one Ordinary Share and a Right to acquire one-tenth (1/10) of one Ordinary Share), Ordinary Shares, and Rights—by incorporating their descriptive text from the Company’s Registration Statement on Form S-1 (File No. 333-290054), originally filed September 5, 2025. The documented trust/share value remains $10.25. Why it matters: For investors tracking SPAC mechanics, this registration permanently defines the bundled instrument structure trading on Nasdaq during the SEARCHING phase, attaching fractional acquisition rights to each equity unit rather than distributing bare shares. Because the Company has not announced a business combination, the filing does not activate or alter redemption thresholds or extension triggers; it solely establishes the exact contractual instruments public shareholders will hold while awaiting a sponsor-devised transaction. The Company’s Chief Executive Officer, Christophe Charlier, executed the registration statement on October 23, 2025. No claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, or active litigation are contained in the filing.

  • What changed: Routine SEC Form 3 compliance exhibit filing an initial Section 16(a) insider ownership report. The filing reports that Chief Financial Officer Jennifer Rosario Calabrese executed zero non-derivative transactions and holds zero reported holdings as of the filing date. Accordingly, there are no adjustments to the redemption calendar, trust value, extension window, business combination pipeline, or sponsor and executive trading conduct. No claims regarding customers, revenue, market size, strategy, technology, partnerships, litigation, or personnel are contained in the document. Why it matters: For investors monitoring redemption deadlines, trust integrity, extension mechanics, deal progress, and sponsor conduct, this document establishes a clean Section 16(a) baseline during the SEARCHING phase. The absence of insider equity movement preserves capital allocation neutrality and provides no governance alerts, allowing shareholders to continue tracking the sponsor’s target acquisition efforts without secondary disclosure noise or alignment shift indicators.

  • What changed: Form 3 — insider ownership report filed with the SEC disclosing initial beneficial ownership by a director. The filing reports that director Eszter Farkas holds 30,000 shares directly. It contains no data regarding redemption deadlines, trust account mechanics, extension votes, target identification, or sponsor conduct. Why it matters: Investors tracking SPAC mechanics receive confirmation of routine board equity positioning with zero impact on the SEARCHING status, trust valuation schedule, or business combination timeline. The document offers no forward-looking signals regarding deal progress, partnership announcements, or liquidity events.

  • What changed: SEC Form 3 — initial statement of beneficial ownership of securities. Per the initial ownership statement filed by the reporting person, LaFayette Sponsor LLC holds 2,561,666 shares of LaFayette Acquisition Corp. directly, with the document identifying the sponsor as a 10% owner. The filing makes no reference to redemption deadlines, trust account valuations, extension proposals, target pipeline progress, or modifications to sponsor conduct. The only substantive update is the regulatory recording of the sponsor’s direct founding equity at 2,561,666 shares. No new contractual terms, financial projections, or operational commitments are contained in the submission. Why it matters: For investors tracking deSPAC mechanics, this routine compliance exhibit confirms the sponsor’s baseline equity stake without advancing the transaction calendar or altering trust redemption parameters. The reported 2,561,666 share holding establishes the economic interest claimed by LaFayette Sponsor LLC but carries no indicative weight on target identification, acquisition financing, or shareholder voting windows. Monitoring parties should expect subsequent Forms 4, 8-Ks, or proxy materials to signal any shifts in deal velocity, trust preservation efforts, or extension timelines, as this filing contains no forward-looking commercial or structural developments.

  • What changed: Amendment No. 2 to Registration Statement on Form S-1 (S-1/A) for an initial public offering of units by a blank check company, containing a preliminary prospectus dated October 3, 2025. This amendment updates the registration statement with an October 3, 2025 date, includes an updated prospectus reflecting the final terms of the offering (10,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit), sets a 21-month deadline from closing to complete a business combination, and includes updated financial statements as of June 30, 2025 (unaudited) and December 31, 2024 (audited). No business combination target has been identified, and no substantive discussions have occurred. Why it matters: Establishes the final IPO terms for LaFayette Acquisition Corp., including a $100 million trust account ($10.00 per public share), redemption rights for public shareholders upon a business combination or 21-month deadline, sponsor compensation (founder shares at $0.001 per share and private unit purchases), and dilution tables with up to $10.72 per share dilution at maximum redemptions. No deal progress or extension mechanisms beyond the 21-month window are present. The filing also discloses a working capital deficit of $77,751 as of June 30, 2025, and a going concern uncertainty.

  • What changed: SEC Correspondence (CORRESP) in which LaFayette Acquisition Corp. responds to Division of Corporation Finance staff comments on Amendment No. 1 to its Registration Statement on Form S-1. Per the Company's written responses, the Registrant filed amended exhibits and updated prospectus text to address Staff observations. The Company revised the form of letter agreement to delete a provision that would have released 50% of Founder Shares from lockup if the ordinary share closing price reached $12.00 for 10 trading days within any 20-trading day period. The Company filed a revised Amended and Restated Memorandum and Articles of Association that removes the classified board of directors structure and confirms that directors' terms expire on the earlier of 21 months and the business combination closing. The Company also reconciled forum selection language in the rights agreement, updated the underwriting agreement (Exhibit 1.1) to consistently reference independent investment banking firms for fairness opinions on affiliated transactions, identified the individuals who will serve on the audit and compensation committees, confirmed that Foxtrot Acquisition Corp. is the registrant's former name, and disclosed that Calabrese Consulting holds an engagement letter for customary financial statement preparation fees. Why it matters: The Company's removal of the $12.00 early lockup release prevents founder shareholders from cashing out during favorable market conditions, which preserves sponsor alignment and typically dampens aggressive redemption demand preceding a vote. By eliminating the classified board and locking in the 21-month director term expiration, the Company clarifies the governance endpoint relative to the standard SPAC operational window, helping investors identify when oversight formally ends before any automatic redemption or extension deadline activates. The Company's reconciliation of independence standards for fairness opinions establishes the procedural gate for sponsored or joint venture targets, directly governing whether such deals can clear internal review and advance to a shareholder ballot. The Corporate renaming clarification and committee membership lists improve administrative transparency per the Company's disclosures but do not reset trust account distribution mechanics, alter the pending status of the business combination search, or commit management to a target sector, enterprise value, or merger timeline.

  • What changed: SEC Division of Corporation Finance comment letter regarding Amendment No. 1 to the Form S-1 registration statement for LaFayette Acquisition Corp., dated September 29, 2025 and addressed to Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Christophe Charlier. Per the SEC staff’s commentary, the division raised eight comments requiring revisions to align prospectus disclosures with filed exhibits. According to the staff: (1) customary fees paid to Calabrese Consulting for financial statement preparation are governed by a written agreement that must be filed or justified under Item 601(b)(10) of Regulation S-K; (2) Exhibit 10.2 provides that 50% of Founder Shares release from lockup if the closing price equals or exceeds $12.00 per share for any 10 trading days within any 20-trading day period during the lock-up, a provision the staff noted was absent from the prospectus; (3) the rights agreement forum selection clause (Exhibit 4.4) must specify County of New York and explicitly state it does not apply to suits enforcing Exchange Act liabilities, which remain exclusively in federal district courts; (4) Section 3.32.3 of the underwriting agreement (Exhibit 1.1) requires a fairness opinion covering unaffiliated shareholders when pursuing affiliated combinations or joint ventures, and the staff disputed any interpretation that an opinion is absolutely prohibited from being waived for non-affiliated deals; (5) directors’ terms expire at the earlier of 21 months or business combination closing, though Exhibit 3.2 structures a classified board; (6) the staff requested explicit naming of audit and compensation committee members; and (7) Exhibits 3.1 and 10.1 identify the company as “Foxtrot Acquisition Corp.,” prompting the staff to ask whether this is the registrant’s former name. Why it matters: This filing does not adjust redemption calendars, trust account balances, or extension provisions, but it surfaces mechanical safeguards and governance timelines relevant to investor exit options and capital deployment. Attributed to the SEC staff’s September 29, 2025 correspondence and the registrant’s exhibits, the document confirms a $12.00 per share trigger releasing 50% of Founder Shares over a 10-of-20 trading day window, a maximum 21-month director tenure preceding a combination closure, and a contractual mandate for independent fairness opinions when transactions involve the sponsor, initial shareholders, officers, or directors. Additional substance flagged by the staff includes undisclosed consulting arrangements with Calabrese Consulting, classified board classification under Exhibit 3.2, undefined committee rosters, and a historical entity name (“Foxtrot Acquisition Corp.”) appearing in foundational exhibits. These items signal pre-effectiveness disclosure calibration rather than active target selection or financing milestones.

  • What changed: Amendment No. 1 to LaFayette Acquisition Corp.'s Form S-1 registration statement, filed 2025-09-18/19, containing a preliminary prospectus for a $100,000,000 IPO of 10,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit (plus 1,500,000 over-allotment units). Each unit consists of one ordinary share and one right to receive one-tenth of an ordinary share upon a business combination; the filing also includes the form of underwriting agreement and other SPAC governance/trust exhibits. The filing is the amended S-1 with a revised preliminary prospectus dated September 18, 2025 and updated audited/unaudited financial statements through June 30, 2025. It does not disclose any target business or substantive deal discussions; it remains a searching-stage blank-check IPO registration with no new business-combination terms. Why it matters: It establishes the redemption/trust mechanics investors track: $100 million (or $115 million if over-allotment exercised) to be deposited in trust, initially $10.00 per public share per the prospectus (not $10.25; no $10.25 figure appears in the filing), plus interest less permitted withdrawals. Public shareholders get redemption rights at trust value as of two business days before closing of a business combination, subject to a 15% redemption cap if done by shareholder vote; if no deal within 21 months from IPO closing, the company must redeem 100% of public shares within 10 business days, with up to $100,000 of interest reserved for liquidation expenses. Sponsor and EBC buy 350,000 private units at $10.00 for $3.5 million (plus 30,000 on over-allotment), founder shares cost ~$0.001, and deferred underwriting commissions sit in trust and are waived to public holders in liquidation. It also flags sponsor/management conflicts, including CEO Charlier's role at Tavia Acquisition Corp., and FINRA Rule 5121 compliance due to EBC's founder-share ownership.

  • What changed: Registration statement on Form S-1 for an initial public offering of LaFayette Acquisition Corp., a blank check company formed to effect a merger, share exchange, asset acquisition, share purchase, reorganization or similar business combination with one or more businesses. Initial filing. No prior registration statement. This document sets forth the terms of the proposed IPO of 10,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, each unit consisting of one ordinary share and one right. The trust will hold $100,000,000 ($10.00 per public share). The SPAC has 21 months from closing to consummate a business combination. The sponsor and EBC Holdings hold founder shares acquired at $0.001 per share, resulting in immediate and substantial dilution for public investors. The document details management team, acquisition criteria, conflicts of interest, redemption rights, and use of proceeds. Why it matters: This filing is the primary disclosure document for the SPAC IPO. It informs investors about the trust size, redemption mechanics, dilution from founder shares, sponsor compensation, conflicts of interest (including the CEO's role at another SPAC, Tavia Acquisition Corp.), and the 21-month deadline. It also provides detailed risk factors, use of proceeds, and capitalization table. Investors evaluate this to decide whether to participate in the IPO.

  • What changed: SEC correspondence (CORRESP) submitting LaFayette Acquisition Corp.'s line-by-line responses to 17 Division of Corporation Finance comments on a Draft Registration Statement on Form S-1. LaFayette Acquisition Corp. revised its Form S-1 disclosures across governance, capital structure, and risk sections to satisfy SEC staff queries. Per the Company's filings, the following mechanical and structural amendments were made: the qualified independent underwriter was identified; the Company clarified it will leverage its management team's "respective platforms" to evaluate target risk/return profiles; sponsor roles and responsibilities were mapped under Regulation S-K; disclosure was aligned that only the Chief Executive Officer holds a direct or indirect material interest in the sponsor; founder share and private unit transfer windows were harmonized (stating transfers occur "in connection with" rather than "at or prior to" consummation); a risk factor was added warning that the sponsor may resign before a target is identified; independent third-party fairness opinions are now required for affiliated transaction approvals; the Company removed the $3,500,000 private placement proceeds from the $100,986,575 As-Adjusted total assets calculation; confirmation was provided that excise taxes stemming from redemptions will not automatically draw from the trust account unless specified in revised language; the sponsor's lack of substantial ties to non-U.S. persons was documented; rights conversion math (issuance of 1/10th of a share per right) was confirmed as included in the dilution denominator; Chairman and CEO Mr. Charlier's fiduciary and contractual obligations to Tavia Acquisition Corp., La Fran aise de l’Energie, and Pure Grass Films were expanded; natural persons controlling EBC Holdings, Inc. voting power were identified; the form of the $150,000 non-interest bearing promissory note was appended as an exhibit; and U.S. agent for service and authorized signatory details were added. The Company's prior sponsor, Lerer Hippeau Acquisition Corp., was noted as having dissolved in 2023. No changes to the redemption deadline, trust balance, or extension mechanics were reported. Why it matters: This filing marks active SEC pre-effectiveness review, advancing the deal toward pricing and proxy circulation. For investors tracking sponsor conduct, the responses institutionalize explicit resignation risk, mandate independent fairness opinions for related-party deals, and map executive cross-entitlements across three external entities, directly shaping governance risk assessments before a shareholder vote. Capital mechanics are now more auditable: excluding the $3,500,000 private placement proceeds from adjusted asset totals, cementing the 1/10th rights-conversion dilution assumption, and formally documenting the $150,000 sponsor/EBC loan establishes a clearer pro forma capitalization baseline. Tax funding clarity (trust account versus non-trust sources) informs post-redemption cash availability for the target. While the trust remains fixed at $10.25 per share and the status remains SEARCHING, closing this comment cycle reduces timing uncertainty and supplies the compliance scaffolding required before a definitive business combination agreement would typically proceed to market.

  • What changed: SEC Division of Corporation Finance comment letter requesting amendments to LaFayette Acquisition Corp.’s Draft Registration Statement on Form S-1. This SEC comment letter outlines seventeen requested revisions to the draft S-1. Bearing on redemption, trust, extension, and sponsor mechanics, SEC staff observed the drafting states excise taxes triggered by redemptions could reduce cash contributed to a target and asked whether those taxes would be paid from the trust account (Comment 10); staff also questioned whether the drafting’s $100,986,575 as-adjusted total assets figure includes the $3,500,000 raised from private placement units (Comment 9). On sponsor conduct, SEC staff demanded that the drafting disclose the sponsor’s material directing and managing roles, identify non-managing members holding sponsor interests and describe the exact nature and amount of those interests, align founder share and private unit transfer price caps to the "originally purchased" price, add risk factors regarding the sponsor’s right to forfeit or exit before identifying a target, state whether the sponsor holds substantial non-U.S. ties, reveal the natural persons controlling EBC Holdings shares, and file the $150,000 non-interest bearing promissory note loan provided by the sponsor and EBC Holdings (Comments 4–7, 11, 14–15). Bearing on deal progress, strategy, and personnel, SEC staff cited the drafting’s admission that Lerer Hippeau Acquisition Corp. determined to dissolve in 2023 after failing to consummate a combination (Comment 2); requested clarification on how management’s "respective platforms" evaluate target risk and return profiles (Comment 3); queried whether the drafting’s dilution calculations include the denominator for issuing 1/10th of a share per right upon a combination (Comment 12); and required full disclosure of Chairman and CEO Christophe Charlier’s fiduciary and contractual obligations to Tavia Acquisition Corp., La Fran aise de l Energie, and Pure Grass Films, alongside clarification on securing independent fairness opinions for affiliated transactions (Comments 8, 13). Why it matters: Because SEC staff are specifically probing whether redemption-related excise taxes will drain the trust account, investors can anticipate tighter mechanical constraints on net distributable trust value and potential regulatory friction during a future tender offer. The agency’s focus on the sponsor’s unilateral forfeiture powers, transfer pricing caps, and opaque affiliations signals that control stability may depend heavily on whether management cements independent oversight or triggers additional disclosure burdens before a target emerges. The drafting’s reference to a $150,000 unsecured sponsor credit facility and an unresolved $3,500,000 private placement inclusion against a $100,986,575 asset baseline indicates the company remains reliant on insider funding rather than external anchor capital during its SEARCHING stage, which may extend the operational runway needed to satisfy the merger deadline. Moreover, because Chairman and CEO Christophe Charlier simultaneously owes duties to Tavia Acquisition Corp., La Fran aise de l Energie, and Pure Grass Films per the drafting, investors face heightened competition for executive bandwidth and capital allocation, while the referenced 2023 liquidation of a predecessor entity underscores that past merger timelines may not guarantee successful consummation within current regulatory windows.

  • What changed: Draft Registration Statement on Form S-1 (confidentially submitted) for an initial public offering of 10,000,000 units at $10.00 per unit, each unit consisting of one ordinary share and one right (entitling holder to one-tenth of one ordinary share upon business combination). The offering has a trust account of $100,000,000 ($10.00 per public share initially anticipated) and a 21-month deadline to complete a business combination. The document includes the prospectus, risk factors, management biographies, and financial statements. LaFayette Acquisition Corp. filed its first registration statement for its SPAC IPO, disclosing the offering terms, trust structure, sponsor and management team, conflicts of interest, redemption rights, and conditions for completing a business combination. No target has been selected. The sponsor (LaFayette Sponsor LLC) holds 2,651,666 founder shares; EBC Holdings holds 1,181,667 founder shares. A private placement of 350,000 private units at $10.00/unit will close simultaneously with the IPO. Management includes Christophe Charlier (Chairman/CEO), Jennifer Calabrese (CFO), and independent director nominees Gregory Parsons and Trent Stedman. The underwriter is EarlyBirdCapital, Inc. with a 45-day over-allotment option of up to 1,500,000 units. Trust per share is $10.00 (not $10.25 as noted in the user's header; the document explicitly states $10.00 per public share). Why it matters: This is the first public disclosure of the SPAC's IPO terms, providing investors with all material details needed to evaluate the offering: trust value, redemption mechanics, sponsor economics, management experience, and the 21-month search window. It establishes the baseline for future filings related to extensions, target announcements, and deal progress. The trust per share is $10.00, not $10.25 as previously noted, which matters for redemption calculations.

The complete LAFA filing history on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab


In plain English

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.