Skip to main content
spacbrain

KLAQ SEC filings, in plain English

Everything KL Acquisition Corp has filed with the SEC that we hold — 40 filings, newest first, 2 with a plain-English summary of what changed and why it matters. Every row links to the primary document on EDGAR, so you can check the source rather than trust us.


The feed

live EDGAR capture

New filings appear here within minutes of hitting EDGAR; summaries follow once the pipeline has read them.

  • What changed: KL Acquisition Corp called a special meeting for December 16, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Eastern to amend its charter, changing the original termination date from January 12, 2023 to a date determined by the board in its sole discretion but no later than December 30, 2022, so it can cease operations and redeem all outstanding public shares promptly thereafter. Redemption pays the trust amount including interest, net of taxes payable and up to $100,000 of interest for dissolution expenses, subject to Delaware requirements to provide for creditor claims. Why it matters: This is an early wind-up, not an extension: holders get their capital back roughly two to four weeks ahead of the contractual deadline and, critically, before the 1% excise tax on stock repurchases takes effect on January 1, 2023. Because the redemption covers all public shares rather than only those electing, no tender action is required to participate. The board retains discretion over the exact date within December, so holders should watch for the public announcement that fixes it.

  • What changed vs 2022-08-12trust $288.0M → $289.3M +0%
    trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $288.0M$289.3M

    SpacBrain reads this as $1,297,971 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause “Total current assets ​ ​ 118,952 ​ ​ 849,993 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Cash and investments held in Trust Account ​ ​ 289,284,930 ​ ​ 287,569,685 Other non-current assets ​ ​ — ​ ​ 4,932 Total assets ​ $ 289,403,882 ​ $ 288,424,610 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​”…

    Combination deadline
    2023-01-12 · unchanged

    The clause …“about an Entity’s Ability to Continue as a Going Concern,” the Company has until January 12, 2023 to consummate a Business Combination. It is uncertain that the Company will be able to consummate a Business Combination by this”…

    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“not approved by the stockholders, and potential subsequent dissolution raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…

    Redeemable shares
    28.8M · unchanged

    The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of September 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 28,750,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2022-05-23trust $287.6M → $288.0M +0%
    trust account, combination deadline, going-concern doubt +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $287.6M$288.0M

    SpacBrain reads this as $388,316 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause “300,000 Total current assets ​ ​ 266,233 ​ ​ 849,993 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Investments held in Trust Account ​ ​ 287,986,959 ​ ​ 287,569,685 Other non-current assets ​ ​ — ​ ​ 4,932 Total assets ​ $ 288,253,192 ​ $ 288,424,610 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​”…

    Combination deadline
    2023-01-12 · unchanged

    The clause …“to raise additional funds to alleviate liquidity needs as well as complete a Business Combination by January 12, 2023, then the Company will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. Management has determined that the”…

    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“a Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for a reasonable period of time, which is considered to be one year from the”…

    Redeemable shares
    28.8M · unchanged

    The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 28,750,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-11-22trust $287.6M → $287.6M +0%going concern APPEARED
    trust account, going-concern doubt, combination deadline +12 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $287.6M$287.6M

    SpacBrain reads this as $35,034 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause “300,000 Total current assets ​ ​ 468,977 ​ ​ 849,993 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Investments held in Trust Account ​ ​ 287,598,643 ​ ​ 287,569,685 Other non-current assets ​ ​ — ​ ​ 4,932 Total assets ​ $ 288,067,620 ​ $ 288,424,610 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​”…

    Going-concern doubt
    not statedstated

    SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.

    The clause …“a Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern for a reasonable period of time, which is considered to be one year from the”…

    Combination deadline
    not previously extracted2023-01-12

    The clause …“be available to us on commercially acceptable terms, if at all. The Company has until January 12, 2023 to consummate a Business Combination. It is uncertain that the Company will be able to consummate a Business Combination by this”…

    Redeemable shares
    28.8M · unchanged

    The clause …“future events. Accordingly, as of March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 28,750,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-03-31going concern APPEARED
    going-concern doubt, trust account, redeemable shares +31 moved · 5 with no prior record of ours
    Going-concern doubt
    not statedstated

    SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.

    The clause …“accounting firm’s report contains an explanatory paragraph that expresses substantial doubt about our ability to continue as a going concern, since we will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating if we are unable”…

    Trust account
    not previously extracted$287.6M

    The clause “IPO ​ ​ — ​ ​ 408,197 Total current assets ​ ​ 849,993 ​ ​ 408,197 Investments held in Trust Account ​ ​ 287,569,685 ​ ​ — Other non-current assets ​ ​ 4,932 ​ ​ — Total assets ​ $ 288,424,610 ​ $ 408,197 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Liabilities,”…

    Redeemable shares
    not previously extracted28.8M

    The clause …“subject to occurrence of uncertain future events. As of December 31, 2021, 28,750,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…

    Combination deadline
    2023-01-12 · unchanged

    The clause …“except for the purpose of liquidating if we are unable to complete an initial business combination by January 12, 2023; ● we may not be successful in retaining or recruiting required officers, key employees or directors following our”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    $251K · unchanged

    The clause …“the expenses of our initial public offering. As of January 12, 2021, we had borrowed $251,340 under such promissory note. These loans were non-interest bearing, unsecured and were due at the earlier of March 31, 2021 or the closing of”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-08-20trust $287.6M → $287.6M +0%shares 25.9M → 28.8M +11%
    trust account, redeemable shares2 moved
    Trust account
    $287.6M$287.6M

    SpacBrain reads this as $3,701 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“with IPO ​ ​ — ​ ​ 408,197 Total current assets ​ ​ 986,202 ​ ​ 408,197 Cash Held in Trust account ​ ​ 287,563,609 ​ ​ — Other non-current assets ​ ​ 80,548 ​ ​ — Total assets ​ $ 288,630,359 ​ $ 408,197 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Liabilities and”…

    Redeemable shares
    25.9M28.8M

    SpacBrain reads this as 2,800,604 more shares carry a redemption right.

    The clause …“occurrence of uncertain future events. Accordingly, as of September 30, 2021, 28,750,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption were presented at redemption value as temporary equity, outside of the stockholders’”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-05-24trust $287.5M → $287.6M +0%shares 26.4M → 25.9M -2%
    trust account, redeemable shares2 moved
    Trust account
    $287.5M$287.6M

    SpacBrain reads this as $10,783 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“IPO ​ ​ — ​ ​ 408,197 Total current assets ​ ​ 1,067,681 ​ ​ 408,197 Cash Held in Trust account ​ ​ 287,559,908 ​ ​ — Other non-current assets ​ ​ 156,164 ​ ​ — Total assets ​ $ 288,783,753 ​ $ 408,197 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ Liabilities and”…

    Redeemable shares
    26.4M25.9M

    SpacBrain reads this as 466,727 shares are no longer redeemable.

    The clause “$ 0.0001 par value; 200,000,000 shares authorized; 2,800,604 shares (excluding 25,949,396 shares subject to possible redemption) and 0 shares issued and outstanding at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively ​ 279 ​ — Class B”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: FY2020 10-K for KL Acquisition Corp, a Delaware blank-check jointly founded with KL Sponsor LLC, an affiliate of alternative asset manager Kennedy Lewis, to buy a healthcare or life-sciences business - medical devices, diagnostics, tools and instrumentation. Pre-IPO stub: no cash at 31 December 2020 and a net loss of $71,932 in formation costs and franchise tax since 26 August 2020 inception. The IPO closed after year end and placed $287,500,000 in trust at $10.00 a unit ($281,750,000 of IPO proceeds plus $5,750,000 of private placement warrants). Deadline 12 January 2023. Why it matters: Nothing in this document contradicts anything else in it, and the post-year-end structure reconciles cleanly: 28,750,000 Class A and 7,187,500 Class B outstanding on 30 March 2021 is the standard quarter-of-float founder block on a $287.5m trust at $10.00 a unit. Class A and warrants began trading separately on Nasdaq as KLAQ and KLAQW on 1 March 2021. The trust figure describes the post-IPO position, not the 31 December 2020 balance sheet, and was recorded only in that form.

The complete KLAQ filing history on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab


In plain English

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.