Skip to main content
spacbrain

ETAC SEC filings, in plain English

Everything E.Merge Technology Acquisition Corp. has filed with the SEC that we hold — 40 filings, newest first, 5 with a plain-English summary of what changed and why it matters. Every row links to the primary document on EDGAR, so you can check the source rather than trust us.


The feed

live EDGAR capture

New filings appear here within minutes of hitting EDGAR; summaries follow once the pipeline has read them.

  • What changed vs 2022-05-13trust $600.0M → $601.9M +0%deadline 2022-08-04 → 2022-11-04shares 60.0M → 32.8M -45%
    trust account, combination deadline, redeemable shares +33 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.0M$601.9M

    SpacBrain reads this as $1,897,272 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause “8 of cash from operating activities. As of June 30, 2022, we had investments of $601,933,594 held in the Trust Account. We intend to use substantially all of the funds held in the Trust Account, including any amounts representing interest”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-042022-11-04

    SpacBrain reads this as 92 days later than the previous record.

    The clause …“loan us funds as may be required. The Company intends to complete an initial Business Combination by November 4, 2022. However, in the absence of a completed business combination, we may require additional capital. If we are unable to”…

    Redeemable shares
    60.0M32.8M

    SpacBrain reads this as 27,222,020 shares are no longer redeemable.

    The clause …“and outstanding (excluding 27,222,020 and 0 mandatorily redeemable shares and 32,777,980 and 60,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) as of June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, respectively 120 120 Class B common stock, $”…

    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about our ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities should we”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    $270K · unchanged

    The clause …“December 31, 2020 and (ii) the completion of the Initial Public Offering. The outstanding balance under the Promissory Note of $ 270,000 was repaid upon the consummation of the Initial Public Offering on August 4, 2020. Advance from”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: E.Merge Technology Acquisition Corp. called a special meeting for June 28, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Eastern to extend the deadline to complete a business combination, redeem the public shares and dissolve from August 4, 2022, two years after its IPO, to November 4, 2022 or an earlier date the board determines. Sponsor E.Merge Technology Sponsor LLC owns 15,000,000 Class B founder shares. If the extension passes the sponsor or its designees will contribute as a loan $0.035 for each unredeemed public share. Redemption requires tender to the transfer agent by June 24, 2022. Why it matters: A $0.035 per-share contribution for a three-month extension is roughly a third of a percent of a $10 share, so waiting adds almost nothing to the redemption floor. The sponsor's 15,000,000 founder shares recover nothing in a liquidation, which explains why it will fund even a token amount rather than let the vehicle wind up. Public holders retain the redemption right at pro rata trust value regardless of how they vote, and the June 24 tender deadline is the hard cut-off for exercising it.

  • What changed vs 2021-11-05trust $600.1M → $600.0M -0%
    trust account, sponsor loans outstanding, combination deadline +31 moved · 5 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.1M$600.0M

    SpacBrain reads this as $67,074 left the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“132,044 84,887 Total Current Assets 278,169 312,923 Cash and investments held in Trust Account 600,036,322 600,134,437 TOTAL ASSETS $ 600,314,491 $ 600,447,360 LIABILITIES, CLASS A COMMON STOCK SUBJECT TO REDEMPTION AND”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    not previously extracted$270K

    The clause …“December 31, 2020 and (ii) the completion of the Initial Public Offering. The outstanding balance under the Promissory Note of $ 270,000 was repaid upon the consummation of the Initial Public Offering on August 4, 2020. Advance from”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-04 · unchanged

    The clause …“under any working capital loan. The Company intends to complete an initial business combination by August 4, 2022. However, in the absence of a completed business combination, we may require additional capital. If we are unable to”…

    Going-concern doubt
    stated · unchanged

    The clause …“a Business Combination not occur, and potential subsequent dissolution raises substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…

    Redeemable shares
    60.0M · unchanged

    The clause “0,000,000 shares authorized; 1,200,000 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 60,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) as of March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021 120 120 Class B common stock, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-03-31trust $600.1M → $600.1M +0%going concern APPEAREDshares 57.4M → 60.0M +5%
    trust account, going-concern doubt, redeemable shares +33 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.1M$600.1M

    SpacBrain reads this as $15,128 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“84,887 243,120 Total Current Assets 312,923 1,192,972 Cash and investments held in Trust Account 600,134,437 600,119,309 TOTAL ASSETS $ 600,447,360 $ 601,312,281 LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT Current liabilities Accounts”…

    Going-concern doubt
    not statedstated

    SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.

    The clause …“accounting firm’s report contains an explanatory paragraph that expresses substantial doubt about our ability to continue as a going concern, since we will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating if we are unable”…

    Redeemable shares
    57.4M60.0M

    SpacBrain reads this as 2,649,033 more shares carry a redemption right.

    The clause “0,000 shares issued and outstanding as of December 31, 2021 and 2020 (excluding 60,000,000 shares subject to possible redemption) 120 120 Class B common stock, $ 0.0001 par value; 20,000,000 shares authorized; 15,000,000 shares issued and”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-04 · unchanged

    The clause …“the Business Combination. Going Concern The Company intends to complete a Business Combination by August 4, 2022. However, in the absence of a completed Business Combination, the Company may require additional capital. If the”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    $270K · unchanged

    The clause …“December 31, 2020 and (ii) the completion of our initial public offering. The outstanding balance under the promissory notes of $270,000 was repaid upon the consummation of our initial public offering on August 4, 2020. In addition, in”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-08-13trust $600.1M → $600.1M +0%going concern APPEAREDshares 55.3M → 60.0M +8%
    trust account, going-concern doubt, redeemable shares +23 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.1M$600.1M

    SpacBrain reads this as $25,475 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“143,967 243,120 Total Current Assets 589,286 1,192,972 Cash and investments held in Trust Account 600,103,396 600,119,309 TOTAL ASSETS $ 600,692,682 $ 601,312,281 LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT Current liabilities Accounts”…

    Going-concern doubt
    not statedstated

    SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.

    The clause …“condition and date for mandatory liquidation and subsequent dissolution raise substantial doubt about the Company’s ability to continue as a going concern. No adjustments have been made to the carrying amounts of assets or liabilities”…

    Redeemable shares
    55.3M60.0M

    SpacBrain reads this as 4,663,959 more shares carry a redemption right.

    The clause …“1,200,000 shares of Class A common stock issued and outstanding, excluding 60,000,000 shares of Class A common stock subject to possible redemption which are presented as temporary equity. Class B Common Stock — In June 2020, the”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-04 · unchanged

    The clause …“needs, obtain approval for an extension of the deadline or complete a Business Combination by August 4, 2022, then the Company will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. The liquidity condition and date for”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2021-07-14trust $600.2M → $600.1M -0%shares 55.4M → 55.3M -0%
    trust account, redeemable shares, combination deadline +12 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.2M$600.1M

    SpacBrain reads this as $93,231 left the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“209,297 243,120 Total Current Assets 870,545 1,192,972 Cash and investments held in Trust Account 600,077,921 600,119,309 TOTAL ASSETS $ 600,948,466 $ 601,312,281 LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY Current liabilities Accounts”…

    Redeemable shares
    55.4M55.3M

    SpacBrain reads this as 62,050 shares are no longer redeemable.

    The clause …“authorized; 5,863,959 and 6,931,033 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 55,336,041 and 54,268,967 shares subject to possible redemption) as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively 586 693 Class B common stock, $”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-04 · unchanged

    The clause …“their Public Shares in conjunction with any such amendment. The Company will have until August 4, 2022 to complete a Business Combination (the “Combination Period”). If the Company has not completed a Business Combination within the”…

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed vs 2020-11-13trust $600.0M → $600.2M +0%shares 57.4M → 55.4M -3%
    trust account, redeemable shares, combination deadline +22 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
    Trust account
    $600.0M$600.2M

    SpacBrain reads this as $128,505 was added to the trust between the two filings.

    The clause …“257,500 243,120 Total Current Assets 976,618 1,192,972 Cash and investments held in Trust Account 600,171,152 600,119,309 TOTAL ASSETS $ 601,147,770 $ 601,312,281 LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY Current liabilities Accounts”…

    Redeemable shares
    57.4M55.4M

    SpacBrain reads this as 1,969,059 shares are no longer redeemable.

    The clause …“authorized; 5,801,909 and 6,931,033 shares issued and outstanding (excluding 55,398,091 and 54,268,967 shares subject to possible redemption) as of March 31, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively 580 693 Class B common stock,”…

    Combination deadline
    2022-08-04 · unchanged

    The clause …“their Public Shares in conjunction with any such amendment. The Company will have until August 4, 2022 to complete a Business Combination (the “Combination Period”). If the Company has not completed a Business Combination within the”…

    Sponsor loans outstanding
    $270Knot matched in this filing

    Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.

  • What changed: First 10-Q of a company incorporated May 22, 2020: investments held in Trust Account are $600,042,647 at September 30, 2020, comprising $1,124 of cash and U.S. Treasury holdings carried at $300,037,201 of amortised cost plus $300,004,322 of Treasury securities; no interest has been withdrawn since inception. 57,367,150 Class A shares are subject to possible redemption at $10.00 = $573,671,500, with 3,832,850 Class A outside. Deferred underwriting is $22,560,000. The quarter is a $312,954 net loss: $353,645 of costs against just $42,647 of trust interest. Why it matters: $42,647 of interest on a $600 million trust in a full quarter is a 0.03% annualised yield - the trust cannot fund the shell, and the $353,645 of quarterly costs come from the $1.0 million held outside it. The trust breakdown is also worth reading carefully: the note gives one figure as amortised cost and another as fair value for Treasury holdings, which a naive extractor could add together and double the trust. Nothing was written to a trust, floor or price field.

  • What changed: Item 8.01: E.Merge Technology announced on September 14, 2020 that from September 18, 2020 holders of the units issued in its IPO may elect to trade the component Class A common stock and warrants separately. Each unit is one Class A share and one-third of a warrant exercisable at $11.50; no fractional warrants are issued on separation and only whole warrants trade. Units not separated continue on the Nasdaq Capital Market as 'ETACU', with the shares and warrants expected to trade as 'ETAC' and 'ETACW'. Brokers must contact Continental Stock Transfer to separate units. Why it matters: Establishes the three tickers under which E.Merge securities quote and the date the share and warrant lines begin. Because the unit carries one-third of a warrant and no fractional warrants are issued, a unit position that is not a multiple of three does not convert cleanly. The filing describes the share and warrant listings as expected, so the ticker assignment is stated as anticipated rather than effected.

  • What changed: Item 8.01: E.Merge Technology reports its August 4, 2020 IPO of 52,200,000 units at $10.00 for $522,000,000 gross, each unit one Class A share and one-third of a warrant at $11.50, plus a concurrent private sale of 1,200,000 units to E.Merge Technology Sponsor LLC for $12,000,000; $522,000,000 went into trust with Continental Stock Transfer. It adds that on September 4, 2020 the underwriters' over-allotment closed for 7,800,000 further units at $10.00, raising $78,000,000, after which an aggregate of $600,000,000 has been placed in the trust account. Why it matters: Gives the completed trust figure the IPO report could not: $600,000,000 across 60,000,000 public units. The filing states the initial $522,000,000 comprised $510,000,000 of IPO proceeds including $18,270,000 of underwriters' deferred discount plus the $12,000,000 of private placement money, so part of the headline balance is a fee payable at a business combination. The over-allotment was 7,800,000 of the 7,830,000 units available.

  • What changed: Item 8.01: E.Merge Technology Acquisition Corp. filed the audited balance sheet as of August 4, 2020 (Exhibit 99.1) and stated the trust composition for its IPO of 52,200,000 units at $10.00: $522,000,000 placed in a US trust account with Continental Stock Transfer & Trust Company as trustee, comprising $510,000,000 of IPO proceeds — an amount that includes $18,270,000 of the underwriters' deferred discount — and $12,000,000 from the sponsor's purchase of 1,200,000 private placement units. Why it matters: The composition is the detail worth having: the $18,270,000 deferred underwriting discount sits inside the $522,000,000 trust rather than outside it, so the headline trust figure is not all available to the company at closing. The sponsor's $12,000,000 of private placement units is what tops the trust up to $10.00 per public share. The balance sheet itself is in the exhibit and was not read for this summary, so only the figures stated in the report's own text are asserted here.

The complete ETAC filing history on EDGARopens on sec.gov in a new tab


In plain English

Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash

Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.

Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share

Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.

Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing

Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.