BLSA SEC filings, in plain English
Everything BCLS Acquisition Corp. has filed with the SEC that we hold — 40 filings, newest first, 2 with a plain-English summary of what changed and why it matters. Every row links to the primary document on EDGAR, so you can check the source rather than trust us.
The feed
live EDGAR captureNew filings appear here within minutes of hitting EDGAR; summaries follow once the pipeline has read them.
- What changed vs 2022-05-12trust $143.8M → $143.9M +0%
trust account, going-concern doubt, mandate language +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $143.8M$143.9M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem… · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 14.4M · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $99,453 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 94,125 195,788 Total current assets 733,811 835,474 Investments held in Trust Account 143,861,974 143,760,397 Total assets $ 144,595,785 $ 144,595,871 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
The clause …“any Working Capital Loan. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB’s Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
The clause …“uncertain future events. Accordingly, at June 30, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 14,375,000 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption are presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity section of the”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-11-12trust $143.8M → $143.8M +0%
trust account, redeemable shares, going-concern doubt +11 moved · 3 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $143.8M$143.8M
- Redeemable shares
- not previously extracted14.4M
- Going-concern doubt
- stated · unchanged
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem… · unchanged
SpacBrain reads this as $5,151 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 176,038 195,788 Total current assets 815,724 835,474 Investments held in Trust Account 143,762,521 143,760,397 Total assets $ 144,578,245 $ 144,595,871 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
The clause …“future events. Accordingly, at March 31, 2022 and December 31, 2021, 14,375,000 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption are presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity section of the”…
The clause …“any Working Capital Loan. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB’s Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-03-19trust $143.8M → $143.8M +0%going concern APPEAREDshares 13.5M → 14.4M +6%
trust account, going-concern doubt, mandate language +24 moved · 1 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $143.8M$143.8M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem…we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem…
- Redeemable shares
- 13.5M14.4M
- Combination deadline
- not previously extracted2022-10-26
SpacBrain reads this as $9,493 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 195,788 451,425 Total current assets 835,474 1,420,225 Investments held in Trust Account 143,760,397 143,750,904 Total assets $ 144,595,871 $ 145,171,129 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“capital loans outstanding. In connection with management’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
SpacBrain reads this as 875,545 more shares carry a redemption right.
The clause …“of uncertain future events. Accordingly, at December 31, 2021 and 2020, 14,375,000 Class A ordinary shares subject to possible redemption are presented as temporary equity, outside of the shareholders’ equity section of the”…
The clause …“unable to raise additional funds to alleviate liquidity needs and complete a business combination by October 26, 2022, then the Company will cease all operations except for the purpose of liquidating. The date for mandatory liquidation”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-08-12trust $143.8M → $143.8M +0%going concern APPEARED
trust account, going-concern doubt, mandate language +12 moved · 2 with no prior record of ours
- Trust account
- $143.8M$143.8M
- Going-concern doubt
- not statedstated
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem… · unchanged
- Redeemable shares
- 13.5Mnot matched in this filing
SpacBrain reads this as $2,171 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 264,664 451,425 Total current assets 1,009,613 1,420,225 Investments held in Trust Account 143,757,370 143,750,904 Total assets $ 144,766,983 $ 145,171,129 Liabilities, Class A Ordinary Shares Subject to Possible Redemption and”…
SpacBrain reads this as the substantial-doubt sentence is in this filing and not in the previous one.
The clause …“any Working Capital Loan. In connection with the Company’s assessment of going concern considerations in accordance with FASB Accounting Standards Update (“ASU”) 2014-15, “Disclosures of Uncertainties about an Entity’s Ability to”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
- What changed vs 2021-05-14trust $143.8M → $143.8M +0%shares 13.5M → 13.5M -0%
trust account, mandate language, redeemable shares3 moved
- Trust account
- $143.8M$143.8M
- Mandate language
- we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem…we intend to focus on industries that complement our managem…
- Redeemable shares
- 13.5M13.5M
SpacBrain reads this as $2,171 was added to the trust between the two filings.
The clause …“expenses 346,120 451,425 Total current assets 1,128,954 1,420,225 Investments held in Trust Account 143,755,199 143,750,904 Total assets $ 144,884,153 $ 145,171,129 Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity Current liabilities: Accounts”…
SpacBrain reads this as 16,429 shares are no longer redeemable.
The clause “6,811 5,176,569 Commitments and Contingencies (Note 5) Class A ordinary shares; 13,458,734 and 13,499,455 shares subject to possible redemption at $ 10.00 per share as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively 134,587,340”…
Read from stored SEC filing text by a regex — no model is involved — and each side links to the filing it came from. “Not previously extracted” is a statement about our record, not about the company: the clause may be present in wording we do not match.
What changed: Q1 2021 10-Q for BCLS Acquisition Corp., the Bain Capital Life Sciences vehicle at 200 Clarendon Street, Boston. At 31 March 2021 investments held in trust were $143,753,028, up from $143,750,904 at 31 December 2020 on $2,124 of income, with $841,791 of operating cash. Shares subject to possible redemption FELL from 13,499,455 to 13,475,163, and the carrying amount from $134,994,550 to $134,751,630, while non-redeemable Class A rose from 1,363,045 to 1,387,337. Deferred underwriting is $5,031,250 and the net loss for the quarter was $242,921. Why it matters: This filing shows the pre-2021 carrying-amount mechanic moving in real time: shareholders' equity is pinned at $5,000,010 in both periods, so the quarter's $242,921 loss is absorbed by reclassifying 24,292 shares out of temporary equity and into permanent equity. The redeemable share count is an accounting residual, not a measure of how many shares can redeem - all 14,375,000 public shares retain that right. Total Class A of 14,862,500 reconciles to the cover, and the deferred fee is $0.35 on the public shares.
What changed: FY2020 10-K, the first for a company incorporated August 26, 2020. Trust held $143,750,904 at December 31, 2020, having earned $904 since the October 2020 IPO. 13,499,455 Class A ordinary shares are carried as redeemable at $10.00 ($134,994,550), leaving 1,363,045 Class A and 3,593,750 Class B in permanent equity. Cash outside trust $968,800 and working capital about $1.3m; total liabilities $5,176,569, of which $5,031,250 is deferred underwriting. Net loss about $166,753. The roughly $46,000 sponsor note was repaid. Why it matters: BCLS raised through private placement SHARES rather than warrants, so the cover's 14,862,500 Class A count includes 487,500 placement shares on top of the 14,375,000 public shares - a share count that will not reconcile to a public-share model. The trust earned $904 in two months on $143.75m, so the $968,800 outside it is the entire runway. Class A closed at $11.14 on December 31, 2020, a premium to the $10.00 redemption value. Figures are as of December 31, 2020.
In plain English
Redemption deadlinethe last day to hand shares back for cash
Set by the filing that calls the meeting. Tender after it and the company is under no obligation to pay you the trust value.
Cash in trust / trust per sharethe cash the company is holding for each public share
Filed quarterly in the 10-Q's XBRL. It earns interest between filings, so the figure on a given day is slightly higher than the last filed one — where we show that we label it an estimate.
Accession numberthe SEC's unique id for one filing
Every figure on this page carries the accession of the filing that states it, so you can open the primary document rather than trust us.